Visa · Custodial · Full KYC · Virtual and Physical
Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): Fees, Limits and Cashback
Fold Card (Prepaid Visa) is a custodial Visa card from Fold, Inc. that charges 1% to convert crypto when you spend. The FX markup is not published, and it pays no cashback. There is no annual fee. It is offered only in United States.
Fold Card pros and cons
Pros
- No annual or monthly fee on the base tier
- Works with Apple Pay and Google Pay
- Free virtual card
- Safety score 79/100 (Good)
Cons
- 1% crypto conversion fee
- FX markup not published
- No cashback on spending
- Only offered in United States
Fold Card fees and limits
| Virtual card | Free |
|---|---|
| Physical card | Free |
| Annual fee | Free |
| Monthly fee | None |
| Crypto conversion fee | 1% |
| FX markup | Not disclosed |
| Fee on purchases in USD | None |
| ATM withdrawals | $3.50 |
| Daily spending limit | $15,000 |
| Monthly spending limit | $50,000 |
| Daily ATM limit | $1,000 |
| Card currency | USD |
Other Fold Card fees
- Inactivity: $0 (fee schedule; one short-form table on the same page shows $5 a month after 12 months without a transaction)
- Card replacement: $5 for lost or stolen cards on the free plan, $0 with Fold+; expired cards are replaced free
Source: Fold Card fee terms.
"Not disclosed" means Fold Card does not publish the figure. Fees are read from the issuer's own pages, linked under Sources.
Fold Card cashback and rewards
| Tier | Rate | Paid in | Monthly spend cap | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 0% | BTC | None published | None |
| Fold+ | Variable | BTC | None published | $10 a month subscription |
Card purchases earn bitcoin only with a Fold+ membership ($10 a month or $100 a year, 90-day free trial). Rates are merchant and category "Boosts" shown in the app; no base rate is published. Both plans earn bitcoin on gift cards (Amazon 2% free, 2.5% Fold+) and on ACH bill pay (up to 0.5% free, up to 1.5% Fold+). The rewards account is capped at $10,000. The Fold Bitcoin Credit Card (Celtic Bank, Visa, powered by Stripe) earns 1.5% back in bitcoin with no cap, up to 4% with bonuses on the first $2,000 a month. It is still in early access - about 2,000 cardholders and a waitlist of more than 80,000 in August 2026 - with a variable APR of prime plus 13.49% to 22.49% (20.49% to 29.49% at a 7% prime), no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee.
What Fold Card costs over a year
Net value per year after cashback, conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees, with US dollars as the home currency, 20% of spending abroad and one $200 ATM withdrawal a month.
| Monthly spending | Net per year | Tier used |
|---|---|---|
| $500 | ≤ -$126 | Free plan |
| $2,000 | ≤ -$306 | Free plan |
| $5,000 | ≤ -$666 | Free plan |
Run it with your own numbers in the card cost calculator.
Fold Card Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM withdrawals
Fold Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. ATM withdrawals: $3.50, up to $1,000 a day. It runs on Visa, so it works wherever that network is accepted, online and in shops.
Where Fold Card is available
Fold Card is offered only in United States. Open to US citizens and lawful permanent residents 18 or older who live in the 50 states or DC and have a Social Security number. ITINs are not accepted.
The crypto card finder lists every card we track by country.
Topping up Fold Card
Fold Card tops up with BTC. Converting crypto costs 1%. The card is custodial, so the provider holds your card balance.
How to get the Fold Card
- Check that you live in a country where Fold Card is offered (see the list above).
- Download the Fold app and complete identity verification with a government ID and a selfie check.
- Top up with BTC.
- Issue the virtual card for free and add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay.
- Order the physical card for free if you need ATM withdrawals or chip and PIN payments.
What Fold Card asks for when you sign up
- Email: required
- Phone number: required
- Social Security number: required
PO boxes are not accepted as an address. Manual verification typically takes 3 business days.
Source: Fold Card verification requirements.
Fold Card sign-up and referral offers
- Welcome offer: $10 in bitcoin on the first Fold Debit Card purchase of at least $25 when you join through a referral link
- Referral offer: $5 in bitcoin when a referred friend spends $25, plus Spin Squad bonuses of 1-50 sats
Offers change often. Source: Fold Card offer terms.
Fold Card app ratings
- App Store: 4.2 out of 5 from 2,269 ratings
- Google Play: 3.4 out of 5 from 1,963 ratings
Checked September 28, 2026.
Who the Fold Card suits
- Residents of United States only, where it is offered.
Fold Card overall rating
Fold Card rates 34/100 in our crypto card ranking.
| Factor | Detail | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Reach | United States only | 2.8 / 40 |
| Yearly cost | -$306 a year at $2,000 a month | 7.4 / 30 |
| Safety | 79/100 | 23.7 / 30 |
Is Fold Card safe?
Fold Card scores 79/100 (Good) in our safety check. Issuer: Fold, Inc. (United States). Licensing: Issued by Sutton Bank, Member FDIC, pursuant to a license from Visa U.S.A. Inc.; bitcoin custody and exchange services are provided by BitGo. BIN sponsor: Sutton Bank.
Fold says in its 10-K that the services it offers directly are not subject to regulatory supervision. It relies on Sutton Bank for the card and on BitGo for bitcoin custody. No state money transmitter licence or FinCEN MSB registration for Fold itself was found. Fold Holdings is listed on Nasdaq (FLD). No regulator enforcement action against Fold was found. In August 2026 Fold named Lead Bank as a new core banking partner for accounts, deposits and bitcoin trading; the prepaid card is still issued by Sutton Bank.
Compare Fold Card with other cards
Fold Card also appears in
Frequently asked questions
What are the Fold Card fees?
Is Fold Card available in the US?
Does Fold Card have cashback?
What is the Fold Card ATM withdrawal fee?
Does Fold Card work with Apple Pay and Google Pay?
Is Fold Card safe?
Sources
- Fold Card fees · checked September 28, 2026
- Fold Card availability · checked September 28, 2026
- Fold Card cashback · checked September 28, 2026
- Fold Card terms and licensing · checked September 28, 2026