Fold Card vs Gemini Card

The cheaper card changes with your spending. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • At $500 a month, Fold Card comes out $6 a year ahead. At $2,000 a month, Gemini Card comes out $354 a year ahead. At $5,000 a month, Gemini Card comes out $1,074 a year ahead.
  • Fold Card is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Gemini Card is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Fold Card scores 79/100 (Good) and Gemini Card scores 64/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Gemini Card rates 38/100 against 34/100 for Fold Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Fold Card · Free plan≤ -$306
  • Gemini Card · Base rate≤ +$48

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureFold CardGemini Card
Countries offeredUnited States onlyUnited States only
Card networkVisaMastercard
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsBTC
Top-up or conversion fee1%Not disclosed
FX markupNot disclosed0%
ATM fee$3.503% + $10
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical FreeVirtual Free · Physical Free
CashbackNone1% (better)
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score79/100 (better)64/100
Overall rating34/10038/100 (better)
Get the cardGet Fold CardGet Gemini Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendFold CardGemini Card
$500≤ -$126
Free plan
≤ -$132
Base rate
$2,000≤ -$306
Free plan
≤ +$48
Base rate
$5,000≤ -$666
Free plan
≤ +$408
Base rate

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineFold Card
Free plan
Gemini Card
Base rate
Top-up and conversion fees-$264Not disclosed
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markupNot disclosed$0
ATM fees-$42-$192
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback$0+$240
Net per year-$306+$48

Fees

Fold Card charges 1% to convert or top up and Not disclosed on spending in a foreign currency. Gemini Card charges Not disclosed and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Fold Card $3.50; Gemini Card 3% + $10.

A virtual card costs nothing with Fold Card and nothing with Gemini Card. A physical card costs nothing and nothing. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Fold Card cashback: None. Gemini Card cashback: 1%.

Fold Card tiers: Free plan: 0%; Fold+: rate not published.

Gemini Card tiers: Base rate: 1%.

Fold Card: Card purchases earn bitcoin only with a Fold+ membership ($10 a month or $100 a year, 90-day free trial). Rates are merchant and category "Boosts" shown in the app; no base rate is published. Both plans earn bitcoin on gift cards (Amazon 2% free, 2.5% Fold+) and on ACH bill pay (up to 0.5% free, up to 1.5% Fold+). The rewards account is capped at $10,000. The Fold Bitcoin Credit Card (Celtic Bank, Visa, powered by Stripe) earns 1.5% back in bitcoin with no cap, up to 4% with bonuses on the first $2,000 a month. It is still in early access - about 2,000 cardholders and a waitlist of more than 80,000 in August 2026 - with a variable APR of prime plus 13.49% to 22.49% (20.49% to 29.49% at a 7% prime), no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee.

Gemini Card: 1% back on all other purchases. Higher rates apply by category - 4% on gas, EV charging, transit, taxis and rideshare (on up to $300 of spend a month, then 1%), 3% on dining and 2% on groceries (Costco, Sam's Club and Walmart are excluded). Rewards arrive instantly in bitcoin by default, or in one of 50+ other cryptos on Gemini. Some merchants pay 10% back through Gemini's merchant offers. The card carries variable APRs - purchases 16.74% to 34.74%, cash advances 29.74%, penalty APR 33.74%, based on a 7.00% prime rate on 25 September 2026.

Availability and KYC

Fold Card is offered in one country, including United States. Open to US citizens and lawful permanent residents 18 or older who live in the 50 states or DC and have a Social Security number. ITINs are not accepted.

Gemini Card is offered in one country, including United States. Gemini says residents of all 50 US states can apply. You must live in the US when you apply and for as long as the account stays open. Credit approval and a hard credit inquiry are required.

Fold Card needs full KYC and Gemini Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Fold Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000, a monthly limit of $50,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

Gemini Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Fold Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Gemini Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Gemini Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Fold Card scores 79/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Sutton Bank. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Fold says in its 10-K that the services it offers directly are not subject to regulatory supervision. It relies on Sutton Bank for the card and on BitGo for bitcoin custody. No state money transmitter licence or FinCEN MSB registration for Fold itself was found. Fold Holdings is listed on Nasdaq (FLD). No regulator enforcement action against Fold was found. In August 2026 Fold named Lead Bank as a new core banking partner for accounts, deposits and bitcoin trading; the prepaid card is still issued by Sutton Bank.

Gemini Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through WebBank. 2024-02-28: NYDFS fined Gemini Trust Company $37 million over the Gemini Earn program and unsafe practices. Gemini also committed $40 million toward Earn customers' recovery in the Genesis bankruptcy. 2024-06-14: The New York Attorney General settled with Gemini over Gemini Earn. Gemini returned about $50 million in digital assets to more than 230,000 Earn investors. 2025-01-13: A federal court entered a CFTC consent order against Gemini Trust over misleading 2017 statements to the CFTC about a bitcoin futures contract. Gemini paid a $5 million civil penalty. 2026-01-23: The SEC dismissed with prejudice its January 2023 case against Gemini over Gemini Earn. It cited the 100% in-kind return of Earn investors' crypto. The card is issued by WebBank and serviced by Gemini Constellation, LLC. Rewards sit in a custodial Gemini account held by Gemini Trust Company (New York and Idaho customers) or Gemini Moonbase, LLC, which is licensed as a money transmitter and registered with FinCEN as a money services business. No proof-of-reserves report was found. In 2026 Gemini closed its UK, EEA and Australian accounts; the US card is not affected.

Full reports: Fold Card safety check and Gemini Card safety check.

About each card

Fold Card (Prepaid Visa) is a custodial Visa card from Fold, Inc.. It tops up with BTC.

Gemini Credit Card is a custodial Mastercard from Gemini.

Which card fits you

Fold Card fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Gemini Card fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 1%).

Read more: Fold Card fees and details · Gemini Card fees and details

Fold Card vs Gemini Card: questions

Which is cheaper, Fold Card or Gemini Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Gemini Card leaves $354 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Fold Card and Gemini Card in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Fold Card or Gemini Card safer?
Fold Card scores higher on our safety check (79/100 against 64/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Fold Card or Gemini Card?
Fold Card pays none and Gemini Card pays 1%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  2. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  3. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  4. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): safety · checked September 28, 2026
  5. Gemini Credit Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Gemini Credit Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Gemini Credit Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Gemini Credit Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026