Avici vs Fold Card

Avici costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Avici leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $86.40 a year more at $500 a month, $230.40 a year more at $2,000 a month, $518.40 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Avici is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Fold Card is custodial.
  • On our safety check, Avici scores 67/100 (Good) and Fold Card scores 79/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Avici rates 53/100 against 34/100 for Fold Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 49 countries and territories against 1 for Fold Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Yearly cost at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month). A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees.

  • Avici · Platinum$75.60
  • Fold Card · Free plan≥ $306

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureAviciFold Card
Countries offered49 countries (better)United States only
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodySelf-custodyCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDCBTC
Top-up or conversion fee0% (better)1%
FX markup1%Not disclosed
ATM fee0.65% + $1$3.50
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual $15 · Physical $50Virtual Free · Physical Free
CashbackNoneNone
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score67/10079/100 (better)
Overall rating53/100 (better)34/100
Get the cardGet AviciGet Fold Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendAviciFold Card
$500$39.60
Platinum
≥ $126
Free plan
$2,000$75.60
Platinum
≥ $306
Free plan
$5,000$147.60
Platinum
≥ $666
Free plan

Yearly cost: conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees minus cashback. A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineAvici
Platinum
Fold Card
Free plan
Top-up and conversion fees$0$264
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$48Not disclosed
ATM fees$27.60$42
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback-$0-$0
Yearly cost$75.60$306

Fees

Avici charges 0% to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Fold Card charges 1% and Not disclosed.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Avici's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $10.

ATM withdrawals: Avici 0.65% + $1; Fold Card $3.50.

A virtual card costs $15 with Avici and nothing with Fold Card. A physical card costs $50 and nothing. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Avici cashback: None. Fold Card cashback: None.

Avici tiers: Platinum: 0%; Signature ($20 a year after year one): 0%.

Fold Card tiers: Free plan: 0%; Fold+: rate not published.

Avici: No card cashback is published. Signature adds Visa Signature benefits (lounge access via Visa Airport Companion, rental car cover, purchase protection, travel insurance) but no free lounge visits yet. New users get a $5 welcome bonus ($8 through a referral). Referrers earn 2% of a friend's card spend for the friend's first 90 days.

Fold Card: Card purchases earn bitcoin only with a Fold+ membership ($10 a month or $100 a year, 90-day free trial). Rates are merchant and category "Boosts" shown in the app; no base rate is published. Both plans earn bitcoin on gift cards (Amazon 2% free, 2.5% Fold+) and on ACH bill pay (up to 0.5% free, up to 1.5% Fold+). The rewards account is capped at $10,000. The Fold Bitcoin Credit Card (Celtic Bank, Visa, powered by Stripe) earns 1.5% back in bitcoin with no cap, up to 4% with bonuses on the first $2,000 a month. It is still in early access - about 2,000 cardholders and a waitlist of more than 80,000 in August 2026 - with a variable APR of prime plus 13.49% to 22.49% (20.49% to 29.49% at a 7% prime), no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee.

Availability and KYC

Avici is offered in 49 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand and United Arab Emirates. Avici lists these regions for the card. In the US it is open in 31 states only (AL, AK, AR, CA, CO, CT, FL, HI, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, ME, MA, MI, MN, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NY, NC, OK, PA, SC, TX, UT, VA, WV, WY). The list has "Dominica Republica" and "Dominicana", read here as the Dominican Republic. Residents of Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam are barred, and Avici says unlisted places may also be restricted. The card cannot be used in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine or Venezuela. The card terms page also says "Non-US citizens only", which conflicts with the US state list.

Fold Card is offered in one country, including United States. Open to US citizens and lawful permanent residents 18 or older who live in the 50 states or DC and have a Social Security number. ITINs are not accepted.

Avici needs full KYC and Fold Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Avici does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Fold Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000, a monthly limit of $50,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

Avici works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Fold Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Avici issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Avici scores 67/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Issuer Third National (Nimbus LLC dba Third National) is a licensed money transmitter in Puerto Rico, NMLS #2612780, licence TM-0207). The card is issued through Third National. 2026-08-28: An attacker exploited an outdated Rain card-collateral contract and drained about $500,859 from the card balances of 1,685 Avici users (about $1.1 million across several programs). Self-custodial wallets were not affected. Avici and Rain committed to refund every user in full and Rain upgraded the affected deployments. Avici filed an FBI IC3 report. Avici Inc is a Delaware company with a named San Francisco address and published terms, privacy policy and docs, and the app has been on the iOS App Store since 2023 (app id 6465962039). The card holds no user funds in Avici's own accounts, but card balances sit in a Rain contract that was exploited in August 2026. Card spend is settled with Visa roughly weekly by liquidating the spent USDC.

Fold Card scores 79/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Sutton Bank. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Fold says in its 10-K that the services it offers directly are not subject to regulatory supervision. It relies on Sutton Bank for the card and on BitGo for bitcoin custody. No state money transmitter licence or FinCEN MSB registration for Fold itself was found. Fold Holdings is listed on Nasdaq (FLD). No regulator enforcement action against Fold was found. In August 2026 Fold named Lead Bank as a new core banking partner for accounts, deposits and bitcoin trading; the prepaid card is still issued by Sutton Bank.

Full reports: Avici safety check and Fold Card safety check.

About each card

Avici Card is a self-custody Visa card from Avici Inc. It tops up with USDC.

Fold Card (Prepaid Visa) is a custodial Visa card from Fold, Inc.. It tops up with BTC.

Which card fits you

Avici fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.

Fold Card fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Avici fees and details · Fold Card fees and details

Avici vs Fold Card: questions

Which is cheaper, Avici or Fold Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Avici leaves $230.40 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Avici and Fold Card in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Avici or Fold Card safer?
Fold Card scores higher on our safety check (79/100 against 67/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Avici or Fold Card?
Avici pays none and Fold Card pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Avici Card: fees · checked September 29, 2026
  2. Avici Card: availability · checked September 29, 2026
  3. Avici Card: cashback · checked September 29, 2026
  4. Avici Card: safety · checked September 29, 2026
  5. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): safety · checked September 28, 2026