Exa Card vs Fold Card

Exa Card costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Exa Card leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $80.40 a year more at $500 a month, $206.40 a year more at $2,000 a month, $458.40 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Exa Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Fold Card is custodial.
  • On our safety check, Exa Card scores 75/100 (Good) and Fold Card scores 79/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Exa Card rates 54/100 against 34/100 for Fold Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 46 countries and territories against 1 for Fold Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Exa Card · Standard-$99.60
  • Fold Card · Free plan≤ -$306

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureExa CardFold Card
Countries offered46 countries (better)United States only
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodySelf-custodyCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, ETH, WBTC, wstETH, OPBTC
Top-up or conversion fee0% (better)1%
FX markup1.5%Not disclosed
ATM feeNo ATM access (virtual card only)$3.50
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Free
CashbackNoneNone
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score75/10079/100 (better)
Overall rating54/100 (better)34/100
Get the cardGet Exa CardGet Fold Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendExa CardFold Card
$500-$45.60
Standard
≤ -$126
Free plan
$2,000-$99.60
Standard
≤ -$306
Free plan
$5,000-$207.60
Standard
≤ -$666
Free plan

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineExa Card
Standard
Fold Card
Free plan
Top-up and conversion fees$0-$264
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$72Not disclosed
ATM fees-$27.60-$42
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback$0$0
Net per year-$99.60-$306

Fees

Exa Card charges 0% to convert or top up and 1.5% on spending in a foreign currency. Fold Card charges 1% and Not disclosed.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Exa Card's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $10.

ATM withdrawals: Exa Card no atm access (virtual card only); Fold Card $3.50.

A virtual card costs nothing with Exa Card and nothing with Fold Card. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and nothing. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Exa Card cashback: None. Fold Card cashback: None.

Exa Card tiers: Standard: 0%.

Fold Card tiers: Free plan: 0%; Fold+: rate not published.

Exa Card: The Exa Card has no cashback program. Visa Signature benefits apply instead (purchase protection, car rental cover, Visa Airport Companion with pay-per-use lounges, concierge). Idle balances earn a variable yield in Exactly Protocol. Pay Later splits purchases into up to 8 fixed-rate installments paid in USDC, and the interest rate is set at purchase.

Fold Card: Card purchases earn bitcoin only with a Fold+ membership ($10 a month or $100 a year, 90-day free trial). Rates are merchant and category "Boosts" shown in the app; no base rate is published. Both plans earn bitcoin on gift cards (Amazon 2% free, 2.5% Fold+) and on ACH bill pay (up to 0.5% free, up to 1.5% Fold+). The rewards account is capped at $10,000. The Fold Bitcoin Credit Card (Celtic Bank, Visa, powered by Stripe) earns 1.5% back in bitcoin with no cap, up to 4% with bonuses on the first $2,000 a month. It is still in early access - about 2,000 cardholders and a waitlist of more than 80,000 in August 2026 - with a variable APR of prime plus 13.49% to 22.49% (20.49% to 29.49% at a 7% prime), no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee.

Availability and KYC

Exa Card is offered in 46 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, United Arab Emirates and United States. US residents only in 31 listed states (not, for example, Georgia, Ohio, Washington or Oregon). No EU, EEA or UK countries are eligible. Nigeria is left out because the eligibility page says it "requires conditional approval" while the prohibited-countries list (15 January 2026) bans it. Exa's own help center also claims the card is "available in 180+ countries", which the published list does not support. In the US the card is also offered through Uphold.

Fold Card is offered in one country, including United States. Open to US citizens and lawful permanent residents 18 or older who live in the 50 states or DC and have a Social Security number. ITINs are not accepted.

Exa Card needs full KYC and Fold Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Exa Card publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

Fold Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000, a monthly limit of $50,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

Exa Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Fold Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Exa Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Exa Card scores 75/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Card issued by Nimbus LLC dba Third National, licensed as a Money Transmitter by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions of Puerto Rico (licence TM-0207, NMLS 2612780). Exa Labs S.A.S. is the program manager and says it "does not issue or manage payment instruments"; its help center gives Rain's legal address as the card's billing address.). The card is issued through Nimbus LLC dba Third National. 2023-08-18: Exactly Protocol, which runs the card's credit and yield, was exploited through its DebtManager contract on Optimism. 117 accounts lost a combined $7,612,038 and the protocol was paused. Exa Labs S.A.S. is a Uruguayan company. The card is legally a credit card with no set credit line, and the issuer's terms say it has no relationship with Exactly Protocol. Your wallet is a passkey-secured smart contract account on OP Mainnet with no seed phrase. In Pay Later mode each purchase is a loan against your deposited crypto, which can be liquidated if its value falls. The 2023 exploit hit the protocol's leverage feature, not the card, which launched later. No regulator warning or enforcement action against Exa Labs or Exactly Protocol was found.

Fold Card scores 79/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Sutton Bank. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Fold says in its 10-K that the services it offers directly are not subject to regulatory supervision. It relies on Sutton Bank for the card and on BitGo for bitcoin custody. No state money transmitter licence or FinCEN MSB registration for Fold itself was found. Fold Holdings is listed on Nasdaq (FLD). No regulator enforcement action against Fold was found. In August 2026 Fold named Lead Bank as a new core banking partner for accounts, deposits and bitcoin trading; the prepaid card is still issued by Sutton Bank.

Full reports: Exa Card safety check and Fold Card safety check.

About each card

Exa Card (Exactly) is a self-custody Visa card from Exa Labs S.A.S. (Exa Card program). It tops up with USDC, ETH, WBTC, wstETH and OP.

Fold Card (Prepaid Visa) is a custodial Visa card from Fold, Inc.. It tops up with BTC.

Which card fits you

Exa Card fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.

Fold Card fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Exa Card fees and details · Fold Card fees and details

Exa Card vs Fold Card: questions

Which is cheaper, Exa Card or Fold Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Exa Card leaves $206.40 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Exa Card and Fold Card in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Exa Card or Fold Card safer?
Fold Card scores higher on our safety check (79/100 against 75/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Exa Card or Fold Card?
Exa Card pays none and Fold Card pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Exa Card (Exactly): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  2. Exa Card (Exactly): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  3. Exa Card (Exactly): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  4. Exa Card (Exactly): safety · checked September 28, 2026
  5. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): safety · checked September 28, 2026