Yearly cost at three spending levels
| Monthly spend | Krak | Fold Card |
|---|---|---|
| $500 | ≤ -$12 Starter | ≤ -$126 Free plan |
| $2,000 | ≤ -$48 Starter | ≤ -$306 Free plan |
| $5,000 | ≤ -$120 Starter | ≤ -$666 Free plan |
Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.
Where the money goes at $2,000 a month
| Line | Krak Starter | Fold Card Free plan |
|---|---|---|
| Top-up and conversion fees | Not disclosed | -$264 |
| Spending fees | $0 | $0 |
| Foreign exchange markup | -$48 | Not disclosed |
| ATM fees | Not disclosed | -$42 |
| Annual, monthly and subscription fees | $0 | $0 |
| Cashback | $0 | $0 |
| Net per year | -$48 | -$306 |
Fees
Krak charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Fold Card charges 1% and Not disclosed.
ATM withdrawals: Krak no card fee; Fold Card $3.50.
A virtual card costs nothing with Krak and nothing with Fold Card. A physical card costs nothing and nothing. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.
Cashback and rewards
Krak cashback: 0% to 2%. Fold Card cashback: None.
Krak tiers: Starter: 0%; Lite: 0.5%; Pro: 1%; Elite: 1.5%; Max: 2%.
Fold Card tiers: Free plan: 0%; Fold+: rate not published.
Krak: The cashback rate depends on your 30-day average assets held with Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro.
Fold Card: Card purchases earn bitcoin only with a Fold+ membership ($10 a month or $100 a year, 90-day free trial). Rates are merchant and category "Boosts" shown in the app; no base rate is published. Both plans earn bitcoin on gift cards (Amazon 2% free, 2.5% Fold+) and on ACH bill pay (up to 0.5% free, up to 1.5% Fold+). The rewards account is capped at $10,000. The Fold Bitcoin Credit Card (Celtic Bank, Visa, powered by Stripe) earns 1.5% back in bitcoin with no cap, up to 4% with bonuses on the first $2,000 a month. It is still in early access - about 2,000 cardholders and a waitlist of more than 80,000 in August 2026 - with a variable APR of prime plus 13.49% to 22.49% (20.49% to 29.49% at a 7% prime), no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee.
Availability and KYC
Krak is offered in one country, including United States. Available in all US states except New York, Maine, Massachusetts and Indiana. Krak publishes separate EEA and UK cards with different fees.
Fold Card is offered in one country, including United States. Open to US citizens and lawful permanent residents 18 or older who live in the 50 states or DC and have a Social Security number. ITINs are not accepted.
Krak needs full KYC and Fold Card needs full KYC.
The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.
Limits, wallets and card types
Krak does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.
Fold Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000, a monthly limit of $50,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.
Krak works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Fold Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Krak issues a virtual card you can use straight away.
Custody and safety
Krak scores 66/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Lead Bank. 2024-12-12: An Australian court ordered Bit Trade Pty Ltd, Kraken's Australian operator, to pay AUD 8 million after an ASIC action over a margin product offered without a target market determination. Krak says account balances are not a deposit account and are not FDIC- or SIPC-insured. Kraken, Krak's parent, publishes a proof of reserves; the latest is dated 30 June 2026.
Fold Card scores 79/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Sutton Bank. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Fold says in its 10-K that the services it offers directly are not subject to regulatory supervision. It relies on Sutton Bank for the card and on BitGo for bitcoin custody. No state money transmitter licence or FinCEN MSB registration for Fold itself was found. Fold Holdings is listed on Nasdaq (FLD). No regulator enforcement action against Fold was found. In August 2026 Fold named Lead Bank as a new core banking partner for accounts, deposits and bitcoin trading; the prepaid card is still issued by Sutton Bank.
Full reports: Krak safety check and Fold Card safety check.
About each card
Krak Card (US) is a custodial Visa card from Krak (Payward Interactive, Inc.). It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and ETH.
Fold Card (Prepaid Visa) is a custodial Visa card from Fold, Inc.. It tops up with BTC.
Which card fits you
Krak fits if
- You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
- You live in United States, the only market it serves.
- You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 2%).
Fold Card fits if
- Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
- You live in United States, the only market it serves.
- You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.
Read more: Krak fees and details · Fold Card fees and details