Fold Card vs Tria

Tria costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Tria leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $83 a year more at $500 a month, $263 a year more at $2,000 a month, $623 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Fold Card is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Tria is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Fold Card scores 79/100 (Good) and Tria scores 60/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Tria rates 72/100 against 34/100 for Fold Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 224 countries and territories against 1 for Fold Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Fold Card · Free plan≤ -$306
  • Tria · Virtual-$43

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureFold CardTria
Countries offeredUnited States only224 countries and territories (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsBTCUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee1%0% (better)
FX markupNot disclosed0%
ATM fee$3.501% + $1
Annual fee (base tier)Free (better)$25
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical FreeVirtual Free · Physical Free
CashbackNone1.5% to 6% (better)
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score79/100 (better)60/100
Overall rating34/10072/100 (better)
Get the cardGet Fold CardGet Tria

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendFold CardTria
$500≤ -$126
Free plan
-$43
Virtual
$2,000≤ -$306
Free plan
-$43
Virtual
$5,000≤ -$666
Free plan
-$43
Virtual

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineFold Card
Free plan
Tria
Virtual
Top-up and conversion fees-$264$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markupNot disclosed$0
ATM fees-$42-$36
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0-$25
Cashback$0+$18
Net per year-$306-$43

Fees

Fold Card charges 1% to convert or top up and Not disclosed on spending in a foreign currency. Tria charges 0% and 0%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Tria's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $10.

ATM withdrawals: Fold Card $3.50; Tria 1% + $1.

A virtual card costs nothing with Fold Card and nothing with Tria. A physical card costs nothing and nothing.

Cashback and rewards

Fold Card cashback: None. Tria cashback: 1.5% to 6%.

Fold Card tiers: Free plan: 0%; Fold+: rate not published.

Tria tiers: Virtual: 1.5% on the first $100 a month; Signature plastic ($109 a year): 4.5% on the first $1,000 a month; Premium metal ($250 a year): 6% on the first $2,000 a month.

Fold Card: Card purchases earn bitcoin only with a Fold+ membership ($10 a month or $100 a year, 90-day free trial). Rates are merchant and category "Boosts" shown in the app; no base rate is published. Both plans earn bitcoin on gift cards (Amazon 2% free, 2.5% Fold+) and on ACH bill pay (up to 0.5% free, up to 1.5% Fold+). The rewards account is capped at $10,000. The Fold Bitcoin Credit Card (Celtic Bank, Visa, powered by Stripe) earns 1.5% back in bitcoin with no cap, up to 4% with bonuses on the first $2,000 a month. It is still in early access - about 2,000 cardholders and a waitlist of more than 80,000 in August 2026 - with a variable APR of prime plus 13.49% to 22.49% (20.49% to 29.49% at a 7% prime), no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee.

Tria: Paid in USDT on Arbitrum in periodic batches, with a waiting period of up to 90 days. Above the monthly spend cap the rate drops to 0.5% on the virtual tier and 1% on plastic and metal, which this model does not capture. An active staking badge adds a boost within the cap. Cash withdrawals, transfers, wallet funding, gambling and vouchers earn nothing. The plastic and metal subscriptions below are the extra cost over the $25 virtual membership ($109 and $250 a year in total). Season 3 rates apply from 1 June 2026.

Availability and KYC

Fold Card is offered in one country, including United States. Open to US citizens and lawful permanent residents 18 or older who live in the 50 states or DC and have a Social Security number. ITINs are not accepted.

Tria is offered in 224 countries and territories and excludes 25.

Fold Card needs full KYC and Tria needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Fold Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000, a monthly limit of $50,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

Tria publishes a daily spending limit of $1,000,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.

Fold Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Tria works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Tria issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Fold Card scores 79/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Sutton Bank. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Fold says in its 10-K that the services it offers directly are not subject to regulatory supervision. It relies on Sutton Bank for the card and on BitGo for bitcoin custody. No state money transmitter licence or FinCEN MSB registration for Fold itself was found. Fold Holdings is listed on Nasdaq (FLD). No regulator enforcement action against Fold was found. In August 2026 Fold named Lead Bank as a new core banking partner for accounts, deposits and bitcoin trading; the prepaid card is still issued by Sutton Bank.

Tria scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Tria's cards work as collateral-backed credit cards at 0% APR. Spending is secured by crypto in the user's own wallet, and a "Liquidation Event" sells collateral if charges go unpaid for one calendar day or the collateral value falls below the balance. International cards are issued by Nimbus, LLC, a Delaware company whose terms link to a privacy notice on legal.raincards.xyz. US cards are issued by "Third National". In Nigeria the card is marketed by BANEX Microfinance Bank, licensed by the Central Bank of Nigeria. Tria (Threely Dimensions, Inc.) says it "is not a bank, money services business, card issuer". No proof of reserves applies because Tria holds no customer assets. We found no official enforcement actions or incident reports.

Full reports: Fold Card safety check and Tria safety check.

About each card

Fold Card (Prepaid Visa) is a custodial Visa card from Fold, Inc.. It tops up with BTC.

Tria Card (Global) is a self-custody Visa card from Nimbus, LLC (international cards); Third National (US cards). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH.

Which card fits you

Fold Card fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Tria fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You live outside the US and the handful of countries it excludes.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 6%).

Read more: Fold Card fees and details · Tria fees and details

Fold Card vs Tria: questions

Which is cheaper, Fold Card or Tria?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Tria leaves $263 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Fold Card and Tria in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Fold Card or Tria safer?
Fold Card scores higher on our safety check (79/100 against 60/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Fold Card or Tria?
Fold Card pays none and Tria pays 1.5% to 6%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  2. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  3. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  4. Fold Card (Prepaid Visa): safety · checked September 28, 2026
  5. Tria Card (Global): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Tria Card (Global): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Tria Card (Global): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Tria Card (Global): safety · checked September 28, 2026