Yearly cost at three spending levels
| Monthly spend | Coinbase Card | Fold Card |
|---|---|---|
| $500 | ≤ $0 Crypto rewards | ≤ -$126 Free plan |
| $2,000 | ≤ $0 Crypto rewards | ≤ -$306 Free plan |
| $5,000 | ≤ $0 Crypto rewards | ≤ -$666 Free plan |
Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.
Where the money goes at $2,000 a month
| Line | Coinbase Card Crypto rewards | Fold Card Free plan |
|---|---|---|
| Top-up and conversion fees | $0 | -$264 |
| Spending fees | $0 | $0 |
| Foreign exchange markup | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| ATM fees | $0 | -$42 |
| Annual, monthly and subscription fees | $0 | $0 |
| Cashback | Not disclosed | $0 |
| Net per year | $0 | -$306 |
Fees
Coinbase Card charges 0% to convert or top up and Not disclosed on spending in a foreign currency. Fold Card charges 1% and Not disclosed.
The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Coinbase Card's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $10.
ATM withdrawals: Coinbase Card no card fee; Fold Card $3.50.
A virtual card costs an undisclosed fee with Coinbase Card and nothing with Fold Card. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and nothing. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.
Cashback and rewards
Coinbase Card cashback: Variable, not published. Fold Card cashback: None.
Coinbase Card tiers: Crypto rewards: rate not published.
Fold Card tiers: Free plan: 0%; Fold+: rate not published.
Coinbase Card: Rewards are paid in a crypto you choose from a rotating list. Coinbase describes the rate as variable and shows it only in the app.
Fold Card: Card purchases earn bitcoin only with a Fold+ membership ($10 a month or $100 a year, 90-day free trial). Rates are merchant and category "Boosts" shown in the app; no base rate is published. Both plans earn bitcoin on gift cards (Amazon 2% free, 2.5% Fold+) and on ACH bill pay (up to 0.5% free, up to 1.5% Fold+). The rewards account is capped at $10,000. The Fold Bitcoin Credit Card (Celtic Bank, Visa, powered by Stripe) earns 1.5% back in bitcoin with no cap, up to 4% with bonuses on the first $2,000 a month. It is still in early access - about 2,000 cardholders and a waitlist of more than 80,000 in August 2026 - with a variable APR of prime plus 13.49% to 22.49% (20.49% to 29.49% at a 7% prime), no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee.
Availability and KYC
Coinbase Card is offered in one country, including United States. Available in every US state except Hawaii.
Fold Card is offered in one country, including United States. Open to US citizens and lawful permanent residents 18 or older who live in the 50 states or DC and have a Social Security number. ITINs are not accepted.
Coinbase Card needs full KYC and Fold Card needs full KYC.
The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.
Limits, wallets and card types
Coinbase Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.
Fold Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000, a monthly limit of $50,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.
Coinbase Card does not list Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and Fold Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Neither card issue a virtual card you can use straight away.
Custody and safety
Coinbase Card scores 75/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Pathward, N.A.. 2025-05-15: Overseas support staff bribed by criminals copied customer data for under 1% of monthly transacting users. Coinbase said no passwords, private keys or funds were exposed. The user agreement says customer digital assets are held for customers, are not property of Coinbase and are not subject to claims of Coinbase's creditors.
Fold Card scores 79/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Sutton Bank. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Fold says in its 10-K that the services it offers directly are not subject to regulatory supervision. It relies on Sutton Bank for the card and on BitGo for bitcoin custody. No state money transmitter licence or FinCEN MSB registration for Fold itself was found. Fold Holdings is listed on Nasdaq (FLD). No regulator enforcement action against Fold was found. In August 2026 Fold named Lead Bank as a new core banking partner for accounts, deposits and bitcoin trading; the prepaid card is still issued by Sutton Bank.
Full reports: Coinbase Card safety check and Fold Card safety check.
About each card
Coinbase Card is a custodial Visa card from Coinbase. It tops up with USDC.
Fold Card (Prepaid Visa) is a custodial Visa card from Fold, Inc.. It tops up with BTC.
Which card fits you
Coinbase Card fits if
- Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
- You live in United States, the only market it serves.
Fold Card fits if
- You live in United States, the only market it serves.
- You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.
Read more: Coinbase Card fees and details · Fold Card fees and details