Visa · Custodial · Full KYC · Virtual and Physical
Uphold Debit Card: Fees, Limits and Cashback
Uphold Debit Card is a custodial Visa card from Uphold that does not publish its conversion fee. The FX markup on foreign-currency spending is 1.5%, and cashback is paid at a variable rate shown in the app. There is no annual fee. It is offered only in United States.
Uphold pros and cons
Pros
- No annual or monthly fee on the base tier
- Works with Apple Pay and Google Pay
- Free virtual card
- Safety score 64/100 (Good)
Cons
- Conversion fee not published
- 1.5% FX markup on foreign-currency spending
- Cashback rate not published
- Only offered in United States
Uphold fees and limits
| Virtual card | Free |
|---|---|
| Physical card | $4.99 |
| Annual fee | Free |
| Monthly fee | None |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not disclosed |
| FX markup | 1.5% |
| Fee on purchases in USD | None |
| ATM withdrawals | $2.95 |
| Daily spending limit | Not disclosed |
| Monthly spending limit | Not disclosed |
| Daily ATM limit | Not disclosed |
| Card currency | USD |
"Not disclosed" means Uphold does not publish the figure. Fees are read from the issuer's own pages, linked under Sources.
Uphold cashback and rewards
| Tier | Rate | Paid in | Monthly spend cap | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essential | Variable | XRP | None published | None |
| Elite ($99.99 a year) | Variable | XRP | None published | Elite card, $99.99 a year |
For the first 3 months after activation, the Essential card pays 2% in XRP (up to $120) and the Elite card pays 4% on crypto and metals and 3% on fiat and stablecoins (up to $300). Uphold does not publish the rate after that period. The Elite card also removes the FX and ATM fees.
What Uphold costs over a year
Net value per year after cashback, conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees, with US dollars as the home currency, 20% of spending abroad and one $200 ATM withdrawal a month.
| Monthly spending | Net per year | Tier used |
|---|---|---|
| $500 | ≤ -$18 | Essential |
| $2,000 | ≤ -$72 | Essential |
| $5,000 | ≤ -$180 | Essential |
Run it with your own numbers in the card cost calculator.
Uphold Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM withdrawals
Uphold works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. ATM withdrawals: $2.95. It runs on Visa, so it works wherever that network is accepted, online and in shops.
Where Uphold is available
Uphold is offered only in United States. Available to US residents in US states and Washington D.C. Not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories.
The crypto card finder lists every card we track by country.
Topping up Uphold
Uphold tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and XRP. The conversion fee is not published. The card is custodial, so the provider holds your card balance.
How to get the Uphold card
- Check that you live in a country where Uphold is offered (see the list above).
- Download the Uphold app and complete identity verification with a government ID and a selfie check.
- Top up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and XRP.
- Issue the virtual card for free and add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay.
- Order the physical card for $4.99 if you need ATM withdrawals or chip and PIN payments.
Who the Uphold card suits
- Residents of United States only, where it is offered.
Uphold overall rating
Uphold rates 35/100 in our crypto card ranking.
| Factor | Detail | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Reach | United States only | 2.8 / 40 |
| Yearly cost | -$72 a year at $2,000 a month | 13.2 / 30 |
| Safety | 64/100 | 19.2 / 30 |
Is Uphold safe?
Uphold scores 64/100 (Good) in our safety check. Issuer: Uphold (United States). Licensing: Uphold HQ Inc. is a licensed money transmitter (NMLS ID 1269875).
Uphold publishes its assets and liabilities in real time on its transparency page. Funds in the USD account are held at Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, with pass-through insurance up to $250,000 when certain conditions are met; crypto balances are not covered.
Compare Uphold with other cards
Frequently asked questions
What are the Uphold card fees?
Is Uphold available in the US?
Does Uphold have cashback?
What is the Uphold ATM withdrawal fee?
Does Uphold work with Apple Pay and Google Pay?
Is Uphold safe?
Sources
- Uphold fees · checked September 24, 2026