Uphold vs Gemini Card

The cheaper card changes with your spending. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • At $500 a month, Uphold comes out $114 a year ahead. At $2,000 a month, Gemini Card comes out $120 a year ahead. At $5,000 a month, Gemini Card comes out $588 a year ahead.
  • Uphold is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Gemini Card is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Uphold scores 64/100 (Good) and Gemini Card scores 64/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Gemini Card rates 38/100 against 35/100 for Uphold.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Uphold · Essential≤ -$72
  • Gemini Card · Base rate≤ +$48

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureUpholdGemini Card
Countries offeredUnited States onlyUnited States only
Card networkVisaMastercard
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSD, USDC, USDT, BTC, XRP
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosedNot disclosed
FX markup1.5%0% (better)
ATM fee$2.953% + $10
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical $4.99Virtual Free · Physical Free
CashbackVariable, not published1%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score64/10064/100
Overall rating35/10038/100 (better)
Get the cardGet UpholdGet Gemini Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendUpholdGemini Card
$500≤ -$18
Essential
≤ -$132
Base rate
$2,000≤ -$72
Essential
≤ +$48
Base rate
$5,000≤ -$180
Essential
≤ +$408
Base rate

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineUphold
Essential
Gemini Card
Base rate
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$72$0
ATM feesNot disclosed-$192
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
CashbackNot disclosed+$240
Net per year-$72+$48

Fees

Uphold charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1.5% on spending in a foreign currency. Gemini Card charges Not disclosed and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Uphold $2.95; Gemini Card 3% + $10.

A virtual card costs nothing with Uphold and nothing with Gemini Card. A physical card costs $4.99 and nothing. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Uphold cashback: Variable, not published. Gemini Card cashback: 1%.

Uphold tiers: Essential: rate not published; Elite ($99.99 a year): rate not published.

Gemini Card tiers: Base rate: 1%.

Uphold: For the first 3 months after activation, the Essential card pays 2% in XRP (up to $120) and the Elite card pays 4% on crypto and metals and 3% on fiat and stablecoins (up to $300). Uphold does not publish the rate after that period. The Elite card also removes the FX and ATM fees.

Gemini Card: 1% back on all other purchases. Higher rates apply by category - 4% on gas, EV charging, transit, taxis and rideshare (on up to $300 of spend a month, then 1%), 3% on dining and 2% on groceries (Costco, Sam's Club and Walmart are excluded). Rewards arrive instantly in bitcoin by default, or in one of 50+ other cryptos on Gemini. Some merchants pay 10% back through Gemini's merchant offers. The card carries variable APRs - purchases 16.74% to 34.74%, cash advances 29.74%, penalty APR 33.74%, based on a 7.00% prime rate on 25 September 2026.

Availability and KYC

Uphold is offered in one country, including United States. Available to US residents in US states and Washington D.C. Not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories.

Gemini Card is offered in one country, including United States. Gemini says residents of all 50 US states can apply. You must live in the US when you apply and for as long as the account stays open. Credit approval and a hard credit inquiry are required.

Uphold needs full KYC and Gemini Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Uphold does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Gemini Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Uphold works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Gemini Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Gemini Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Uphold scores 64/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Uphold HQ Inc. is a licensed money transmitter (NMLS ID 1269875)). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Uphold publishes its assets and liabilities in real time on its transparency page. Funds in the USD account are held at Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, with pass-through insurance up to $250,000 when certain conditions are met; crypto balances are not covered.

Gemini Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through WebBank. 2024-02-28: NYDFS fined Gemini Trust Company $37 million over the Gemini Earn program and unsafe practices. Gemini also committed $40 million toward Earn customers' recovery in the Genesis bankruptcy. 2024-06-14: The New York Attorney General settled with Gemini over Gemini Earn. Gemini returned about $50 million in digital assets to more than 230,000 Earn investors. 2025-01-13: A federal court entered a CFTC consent order against Gemini Trust over misleading 2017 statements to the CFTC about a bitcoin futures contract. Gemini paid a $5 million civil penalty. 2026-01-23: The SEC dismissed with prejudice its January 2023 case against Gemini over Gemini Earn. It cited the 100% in-kind return of Earn investors' crypto. The card is issued by WebBank and serviced by Gemini Constellation, LLC. Rewards sit in a custodial Gemini account held by Gemini Trust Company (New York and Idaho customers) or Gemini Moonbase, LLC, which is licensed as a money transmitter and registered with FinCEN as a money services business. No proof-of-reserves report was found. In 2026 Gemini closed its UK, EEA and Australian accounts; the US card is not affected.

Full reports: Uphold safety check and Gemini Card safety check.

About each card

Uphold Debit Card is a custodial Visa card from Uphold. It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and XRP.

Gemini Credit Card is a custodial Mastercard from Gemini.

Which card fits you

Uphold fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.

Gemini Card fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 1%).

Read more: Uphold fees and details · Gemini Card fees and details

Uphold vs Gemini Card: questions

Which is cheaper, Uphold or Gemini Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Gemini Card leaves $120 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Uphold and Gemini Card in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Uphold or Gemini Card safer?
Uphold scores higher on our safety check (64/100 against 64/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Uphold or Gemini Card?
Uphold pays variable, not published and Gemini Card pays 1%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Uphold Debit Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Uphold Debit Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Uphold Debit Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Uphold Debit Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Gemini Credit Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Gemini Credit Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Gemini Credit Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Gemini Credit Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026