Uphold vs Avici

The cheaper card changes with your spending. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • At $500 a month, Uphold comes out $21.60 a year ahead. At $2,000 a month, Uphold comes out $3.60 a year ahead. At $5,000 a month, Avici comes out $32.40 a year ahead.
  • Uphold is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Avici is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Uphold scores 64/100 (Good) and Avici scores 67/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Avici rates 53/100 against 35/100 for Uphold, helped by its reach: it is offered in 49 countries and territories against 1 for Uphold.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Yearly cost at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month). A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees.

  • Uphold · Essential≥ $72
  • Avici · Platinum$75.60

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureUpholdAvici
Countries offeredUnited States only49 countries (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSD, USDC, USDT, BTC, XRPUSDC
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup1.5%1% (better)
ATM fee$2.950.65% + $1
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical $4.99Virtual $15 · Physical $50
CashbackVariable, not publishedNone
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score64/10067/100 (better)
Overall rating35/10053/100 (better)
Get the cardGet UpholdGet Avici

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendUpholdAvici
$500≥ $18
Essential
$39.60
Platinum
$2,000≥ $72
Essential
$75.60
Platinum
$5,000≥ $180
Essential
$147.60
Platinum

Yearly cost: conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees minus cashback. A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineUphold
Essential
Avici
Platinum
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$72$48
ATM feesNot disclosed$27.60
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
CashbackNot disclosed-$0
Yearly cost$72$75.60

Fees

Uphold charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1.5% on spending in a foreign currency. Avici charges 0% and 1%.

ATM withdrawals: Uphold $2.95; Avici 0.65% + $1.

A virtual card costs nothing with Uphold and $15 with Avici. A physical card costs $4.99 and $50. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Uphold cashback: Variable, not published. Avici cashback: None.

Uphold tiers: Essential: rate not published; Elite ($99.99 a year): rate not published.

Avici tiers: Platinum: 0%; Signature ($20 a year after year one): 0%.

Uphold: For the first 3 months after activation, the Essential card pays 2% in XRP (up to $120) and the Elite card pays 4% on crypto and metals and 3% on fiat and stablecoins (up to $300). Uphold does not publish the rate after that period. The Elite card also removes the FX and ATM fees.

Avici: No card cashback is published. Signature adds Visa Signature benefits (lounge access via Visa Airport Companion, rental car cover, purchase protection, travel insurance) but no free lounge visits yet. New users get a $5 welcome bonus ($8 through a referral). Referrers earn 2% of a friend's card spend for the friend's first 90 days.

Availability and KYC

Uphold is offered in one country, including United States. Available to US residents in US states and Washington D.C. Not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories.

Avici is offered in 49 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand and United Arab Emirates. Avici lists these regions for the card. In the US it is open in 31 states only (AL, AK, AR, CA, CO, CT, FL, HI, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, ME, MA, MI, MN, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NY, NC, OK, PA, SC, TX, UT, VA, WV, WY). The list has "Dominica Republica" and "Dominicana", read here as the Dominican Republic. Residents of Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam are barred, and Avici says unlisted places may also be restricted. The card cannot be used in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine or Venezuela. The card terms page also says "Non-US citizens only", which conflicts with the US state list.

Uphold needs full KYC and Avici needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Uphold does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Avici does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Uphold works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Avici works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Avici issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Uphold scores 64/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Uphold HQ Inc. is a licensed money transmitter (NMLS ID 1269875)). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Uphold publishes its assets and liabilities in real time on its transparency page. Funds in the USD account are held at Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, with pass-through insurance up to $250,000 when certain conditions are met; crypto balances are not covered.

Avici scores 67/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Issuer Third National (Nimbus LLC dba Third National) is a licensed money transmitter in Puerto Rico, NMLS #2612780, licence TM-0207). The card is issued through Third National. 2026-08-28: An attacker exploited an outdated Rain card-collateral contract and drained about $500,859 from the card balances of 1,685 Avici users (about $1.1 million across several programs). Self-custodial wallets were not affected. Avici and Rain committed to refund every user in full and Rain upgraded the affected deployments. Avici filed an FBI IC3 report. Avici Inc is a Delaware company with a named San Francisco address and published terms, privacy policy and docs, and the app has been on the iOS App Store since 2023 (app id 6465962039). The card holds no user funds in Avici's own accounts, but card balances sit in a Rain contract that was exploited in August 2026. Card spend is settled with Visa roughly weekly by liquidating the spent USDC.

Full reports: Uphold safety check and Avici safety check.

About each card

Uphold Debit Card is a custodial Visa card from Uphold. It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and XRP.

Avici Card is a self-custody Visa card from Avici Inc. It tops up with USDC.

Which card fits you

Uphold fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.

Avici fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Uphold fees and details · Avici fees and details

Uphold vs Avici: questions

Which is cheaper, Uphold or Avici?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Uphold leaves $3.60 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Uphold and Avici in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Uphold or Avici safer?
Avici scores higher on our safety check (67/100 against 64/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Uphold or Avici?
Uphold pays variable, not published and Avici pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Uphold Debit Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Uphold Debit Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Uphold Debit Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Uphold Debit Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Avici Card: fees · checked September 29, 2026
  6. Avici Card: availability · checked September 29, 2026
  7. Avici Card: cashback · checked September 29, 2026
  8. Avici Card: safety · checked September 29, 2026