Uphold vs Exa Card

Uphold costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Uphold leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $27.60 a year more at $500 a month, $27.60 a year more at $2,000 a month, $27.60 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Uphold is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Exa Card is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Uphold scores 64/100 (Good) and Exa Card scores 75/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Exa Card rates 54/100 against 35/100 for Uphold, helped by its reach: it is offered in 46 countries and territories against 1 for Uphold.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Uphold · Essential≤ -$72
  • Exa Card · Standard-$99.60

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureUpholdExa Card
Countries offeredUnited States only46 countries (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSD, USDC, USDT, BTC, XRPUSDC, ETH, WBTC, wstETH, OP
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup1.5%1.5%
ATM fee$2.95No ATM access (virtual card only)
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical $4.99Virtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
CashbackVariable, not publishedNone
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score64/10075/100 (better)
Overall rating35/10054/100 (better)
Get the cardGet UpholdGet Exa Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendUpholdExa Card
$500≤ -$18
Essential
-$45.60
Standard
$2,000≤ -$72
Essential
-$99.60
Standard
$5,000≤ -$180
Essential
-$207.60
Standard

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineUphold
Essential
Exa Card
Standard
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$72-$72
ATM feesNot disclosed-$27.60
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
CashbackNot disclosed$0
Net per year-$72-$99.60

Fees

Uphold charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1.5% on spending in a foreign currency. Exa Card charges 0% and 1.5%.

ATM withdrawals: Uphold $2.95; Exa Card no atm access (virtual card only).

A virtual card costs nothing with Uphold and nothing with Exa Card. A physical card costs $4.99 and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Uphold cashback: Variable, not published. Exa Card cashback: None.

Uphold tiers: Essential: rate not published; Elite ($99.99 a year): rate not published.

Exa Card tiers: Standard: 0%.

Uphold: For the first 3 months after activation, the Essential card pays 2% in XRP (up to $120) and the Elite card pays 4% on crypto and metals and 3% on fiat and stablecoins (up to $300). Uphold does not publish the rate after that period. The Elite card also removes the FX and ATM fees.

Exa Card: The Exa Card has no cashback program. Visa Signature benefits apply instead (purchase protection, car rental cover, Visa Airport Companion with pay-per-use lounges, concierge). Idle balances earn a variable yield in Exactly Protocol. Pay Later splits purchases into up to 8 fixed-rate installments paid in USDC, and the interest rate is set at purchase.

Availability and KYC

Uphold is offered in one country, including United States. Available to US residents in US states and Washington D.C. Not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories.

Exa Card is offered in 46 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, United Arab Emirates and United States. US residents only in 31 listed states (not, for example, Georgia, Ohio, Washington or Oregon). No EU, EEA or UK countries are eligible. Nigeria is left out because the eligibility page says it "requires conditional approval" while the prohibited-countries list (15 January 2026) bans it. Exa's own help center also claims the card is "available in 180+ countries", which the published list does not support. In the US the card is also offered through Uphold.

Uphold needs full KYC and Exa Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Uphold does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Exa Card publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

Uphold works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Exa Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Exa Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Uphold scores 64/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Uphold HQ Inc. is a licensed money transmitter (NMLS ID 1269875)). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Uphold publishes its assets and liabilities in real time on its transparency page. Funds in the USD account are held at Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, with pass-through insurance up to $250,000 when certain conditions are met; crypto balances are not covered.

Exa Card scores 75/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Card issued by Nimbus LLC dba Third National, licensed as a Money Transmitter by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions of Puerto Rico (licence TM-0207, NMLS 2612780). Exa Labs S.A.S. is the program manager and says it "does not issue or manage payment instruments"; its help center gives Rain's legal address as the card's billing address.). The card is issued through Nimbus LLC dba Third National. 2023-08-18: Exactly Protocol, which runs the card's credit and yield, was exploited through its DebtManager contract on Optimism. 117 accounts lost a combined $7,612,038 and the protocol was paused. Exa Labs S.A.S. is a Uruguayan company. The card is legally a credit card with no set credit line, and the issuer's terms say it has no relationship with Exactly Protocol. Your wallet is a passkey-secured smart contract account on OP Mainnet with no seed phrase. In Pay Later mode each purchase is a loan against your deposited crypto, which can be liquidated if its value falls. The 2023 exploit hit the protocol's leverage feature, not the card, which launched later. No regulator warning or enforcement action against Exa Labs or Exactly Protocol was found.

Full reports: Uphold safety check and Exa Card safety check.

About each card

Uphold Debit Card is a custodial Visa card from Uphold. It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and XRP.

Exa Card (Exactly) is a self-custody Visa card from Exa Labs S.A.S. (Exa Card program). It tops up with USDC, ETH, WBTC, wstETH and OP.

Which card fits you

Uphold fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.

Exa Card fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Uphold fees and details · Exa Card fees and details

Uphold vs Exa Card: questions

Which is cheaper, Uphold or Exa Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Uphold leaves $27.60 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Uphold and Exa Card in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Uphold or Exa Card safer?
Exa Card scores higher on our safety check (75/100 against 64/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Uphold or Exa Card?
Uphold pays variable, not published and Exa Card pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Uphold Debit Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Uphold Debit Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Uphold Debit Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Uphold Debit Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Exa Card (Exactly): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Exa Card (Exactly): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Exa Card (Exactly): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Exa Card (Exactly): safety · checked September 28, 2026