Uphold vs ether.fi Cash

ether.fi Cash costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • ether.fi Cash leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $180 a year more at $500 a month, $720 a year more at $2,000 a month, $720 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Uphold is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. ether.fi Cash is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Uphold scores 64/100 (Good) and ether.fi Cash scores 60/100 (Good).
  • Overall, ether.fi Cash rates 75/100 against 35/100 for Uphold, helped by its reach: it is offered in 91 countries and territories against 1 for Uphold.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Uphold · Essential≤ -$72
  • ether.fi Cash · Core≤ +$648

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureUpholdether.fi Cash
Countries offeredUnited States only91 countries (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSD, USDC, USDT, BTC, XRPUSDC, ETH
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosedNot disclosed
FX markup1.5%1.5%
ATM fee$2.95Not disclosed
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical $4.99Virtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
CashbackVariable, not published3% to 4%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score64/100 (better)60/100
Overall rating35/10075/100 (better)
Get the cardGet UpholdGet ether.fi Cash

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendUpholdether.fi Cash
$500≤ -$18
Essential
≤ +$162
Core
$2,000≤ -$72
Essential
≤ +$648
Core
$5,000≤ -$180
Essential
≤ +$540
Core

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineUphold
Essential
ether.fi Cash
Core
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Spending fees$0Not disclosed
Foreign exchange markup-$72-$72
ATM feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
CashbackNot disclosed+$720
Net per year-$72+$648

Fees

Uphold charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1.5% on spending in a foreign currency. ether.fi Cash charges Not disclosed and 1.5%.

ATM withdrawals: Uphold $2.95; ether.fi Cash not disclosed.

A virtual card costs nothing with Uphold and nothing with ether.fi Cash. A physical card costs $4.99 and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Uphold cashback: Variable, not published. ether.fi Cash cashback: 3% to 4%.

Uphold tiers: Essential: rate not published; Elite ($99.99 a year): rate not published.

ether.fi Cash tiers: Core: 3% on the first $2,000 a month; Luxe: 3% on the first $10,000 a month; Pinnacle: 3% on the first $50,000 a month; VIP: 4% on the first $50,000 a month.

Uphold: For the first 3 months after activation, the Essential card pays 2% in XRP (up to $120) and the Elite card pays 4% on crypto and metals and 3% on fiat and stablecoins (up to $300). Uphold does not publish the rate after that period. The Elite card also removes the FX and ATM fees.

ether.fi Cash: Membership levels also add category cashback (10% to 30% on AI, streaming and food, capped monthly), travel discounts and account balance protection against smart contract exploits of $10,000 to $500,000, which is not deposit insurance.

Availability and KYC

Uphold is offered in one country, including United States. Available to US residents in US states and Washington D.C. Not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories.

ether.fi Cash is offered in 91 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia and Mexico. ether.fi lists these jurisdictions. In the US the card is available in 31 states and Washington D.C. only. Belgium and Ireland are eligible, but physical cards are not delivered there. In some countries (including Argentina, Indonesia, Mexico, Nigeria and the Philippines) the first virtual card costs $10.

Uphold needs full KYC and ether.fi Cash needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Uphold does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

ether.fi Cash publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $5,000 a day.

Uphold works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and ether.fi Cash works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Neither card issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Uphold scores 64/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Uphold HQ Inc. is a licensed money transmitter (NMLS ID 1269875)). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Uphold publishes its assets and liabilities in real time on its transparency page. Funds in the USD account are held at Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, with pass-through insurance up to $250,000 when certain conditions are met; crypto balances are not covered.

ether.fi Cash scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. ether.fi describes Cash as a non-custodial account. The ATM fee on Core is not published as a fixed figure.

Full reports: Uphold safety check and ether.fi Cash safety check.

About each card

Uphold Debit Card is a custodial Visa card from Uphold. It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and XRP.

ether.fi Cash Card is a self-custody Visa card from ether.fi. It tops up with USDC and ETH.

Which card fits you

Uphold fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

ether.fi Cash fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 4%).

Read more: Uphold fees and details · ether.fi Cash fees and details

Uphold vs ether.fi Cash: questions

Which is cheaper, Uphold or ether.fi Cash?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, ether.fi Cash leaves $720 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Uphold and ether.fi Cash in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Uphold or ether.fi Cash safer?
Uphold scores higher on our safety check (64/100 against 60/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Uphold or ether.fi Cash?
Uphold pays variable, not published and ether.fi Cash pays 3% to 4%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Uphold Debit Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Uphold Debit Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Uphold Debit Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Uphold Debit Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. ether.fi Cash Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. ether.fi Cash Card: availability · checked September 25, 2026
  7. ether.fi Cash Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. ether.fi Cash Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026