Coinbase Card vs Uphold

Coinbase Card costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Coinbase Card leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $18 a year more at $500 a month, $72 a year more at $2,000 a month, $180 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Coinbase Card is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Uphold is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Coinbase Card scores 75/100 (Good) and Uphold scores 64/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Coinbase Card rates 40/100 against 35/100 for Uphold.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Coinbase Card · Crypto rewards≤ $0
  • Uphold · Essential≤ -$72

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureCoinbase CardUphold
Countries offeredUnited States onlyUnited States only
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDCUSD, USDC, USDT, BTC, XRP
Top-up or conversion fee0%Not disclosed
FX markupNot disclosed1.5%
ATM feeNo card fee$2.95
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Not disclosed · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical $4.99
CashbackVariable, not publishedVariable, not published
Apple Pay / Google PayNot listedApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score75/100 (better)64/100
Overall rating40/100 (better)35/100
Get the cardGet Coinbase CardGet Uphold

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendCoinbase CardUphold
$500≤ $0
Crypto rewards
≤ -$18
Essential
$2,000≤ $0
Crypto rewards
≤ -$72
Essential
$5,000≤ $0
Crypto rewards
≤ -$180
Essential

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineCoinbase Card
Crypto rewards
Uphold
Essential
Top-up and conversion fees$0Not disclosed
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markupNot disclosed-$72
ATM fees$0Not disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
CashbackNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net per year$0-$72

Fees

Coinbase Card charges 0% to convert or top up and Not disclosed on spending in a foreign currency. Uphold charges Not disclosed and 1.5%.

ATM withdrawals: Coinbase Card no card fee; Uphold $2.95.

A virtual card costs an undisclosed fee with Coinbase Card and nothing with Uphold. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and $4.99. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Coinbase Card cashback: Variable, not published. Uphold cashback: Variable, not published.

Coinbase Card tiers: Crypto rewards: rate not published.

Uphold tiers: Essential: rate not published; Elite ($99.99 a year): rate not published.

Coinbase Card: Rewards are paid in a crypto you choose from a rotating list. Coinbase describes the rate as variable and shows it only in the app.

Uphold: For the first 3 months after activation, the Essential card pays 2% in XRP (up to $120) and the Elite card pays 4% on crypto and metals and 3% on fiat and stablecoins (up to $300). Uphold does not publish the rate after that period. The Elite card also removes the FX and ATM fees.

Availability and KYC

Coinbase Card is offered in one country, including United States. Available in every US state except Hawaii.

Uphold is offered in one country, including United States. Available to US residents in US states and Washington D.C. Not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories.

Coinbase Card needs full KYC and Uphold needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Coinbase Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Uphold does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Coinbase Card does not list Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and Uphold works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Neither card issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Coinbase Card scores 75/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Pathward, N.A.. 2025-05-15: Overseas support staff bribed by criminals copied customer data for under 1% of monthly transacting users. Coinbase said no passwords, private keys or funds were exposed. The user agreement says customer digital assets are held for customers, are not property of Coinbase and are not subject to claims of Coinbase's creditors.

Uphold scores 64/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Uphold HQ Inc. is a licensed money transmitter (NMLS ID 1269875)). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Uphold publishes its assets and liabilities in real time on its transparency page. Funds in the USD account are held at Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, with pass-through insurance up to $250,000 when certain conditions are met; crypto balances are not covered.

Full reports: Coinbase Card safety check and Uphold safety check.

About each card

Coinbase Card is a custodial Visa card from Coinbase. It tops up with USDC.

Uphold Debit Card is a custodial Visa card from Uphold. It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and XRP.

Which card fits you

Coinbase Card fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Uphold fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.

Read more: Coinbase Card fees and details · Uphold fees and details

Coinbase Card vs Uphold: questions

Which is cheaper, Coinbase Card or Uphold?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Coinbase Card leaves $72 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Coinbase Card and Uphold in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Coinbase Card or Uphold safer?
Coinbase Card scores higher on our safety check (75/100 against 64/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Coinbase Card or Uphold?
Coinbase Card pays variable, not published and Uphold pays variable, not published. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Coinbase Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Coinbase Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Coinbase Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Coinbase Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Uphold Debit Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. Uphold Debit Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. Uphold Debit Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. Uphold Debit Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026