Krak vs Uphold

Krak costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Krak leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $6 a year more at $500 a month, $24 a year more at $2,000 a month, $60 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Krak is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Uphold is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Krak scores 71/100 (Good) and Uphold scores 64/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Krak rates 38/100 against 35/100 for Uphold.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Krak · Starter≤ -$48
  • Uphold · Essential≤ -$72

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureKrakUphold
Countries offeredUnited States onlyUnited States only
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSD, USDC, USDT, BTC, ETHUSD, USDC, USDT, BTC, XRP
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosedNot disclosed
FX markup1% (better)1.5%
ATM feeNo card fee$2.95
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical FreeVirtual Free · Physical $4.99
Cashback0% to 2%Variable, not published
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score71/100 (better)64/100
Overall rating38/100 (better)35/100
Get the cardGet KrakGet Uphold

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendKrakUphold
$500≤ -$12
Starter
≤ -$18
Essential
$2,000≤ -$48
Starter
≤ -$72
Essential
$5,000≤ -$120
Starter
≤ -$180
Essential

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineKrak
Starter
Uphold
Essential
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$48-$72
ATM feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback$0Not disclosed
Net per year-$48-$72

Fees

Krak charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Uphold charges Not disclosed and 1.5%.

ATM withdrawals: Krak no card fee; Uphold $2.95.

A virtual card costs nothing with Krak and nothing with Uphold. A physical card costs nothing and $4.99. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Krak cashback: 0% to 2%. Uphold cashback: Variable, not published.

Krak tiers: Starter: 0%; Lite: 0.5%; Pro: 1%; Elite: 1.5%; Max: 2%.

Uphold tiers: Essential: rate not published; Elite ($99.99 a year): rate not published.

Krak: The cashback rate depends on your 30-day average assets held with Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro.

Uphold: For the first 3 months after activation, the Essential card pays 2% in XRP (up to $120) and the Elite card pays 4% on crypto and metals and 3% on fiat and stablecoins (up to $300). Uphold does not publish the rate after that period. The Elite card also removes the FX and ATM fees.

Availability and KYC

Krak is offered in one country, including United States. Available in all US states except New York, Maine, Massachusetts and Indiana. Krak publishes separate EEA and UK cards with different fees.

Uphold is offered in one country, including United States. Available to US residents in US states and Washington D.C. Not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories.

Krak needs full KYC and Uphold needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Krak does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Uphold does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Krak works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Uphold works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Krak issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Krak scores 71/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Lead Bank. 2024-12-12: An Australian court ordered Bit Trade Pty Ltd, Kraken's Australian operator, to pay AUD 8 million after an ASIC action over a margin product offered without a target market determination. Krak says account balances are not a deposit account and are not FDIC- or SIPC-insured. Kraken, Krak's parent, publishes a proof of reserves; the latest is dated 30 June 2026.

Uphold scores 64/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Uphold HQ Inc. is a licensed money transmitter (NMLS ID 1269875)). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Uphold publishes its assets and liabilities in real time on its transparency page. Funds in the USD account are held at Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, with pass-through insurance up to $250,000 when certain conditions are met; crypto balances are not covered.

Full reports: Krak safety check and Uphold safety check.

About each card

Krak Card (US) is a custodial Visa card from Krak (Payward Interactive, Inc.). It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and ETH.

Uphold Debit Card is a custodial Visa card from Uphold. It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and XRP.

Which card fits you

Krak fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 2%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Uphold fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.

Read more: Krak fees and details · Uphold fees and details

Krak vs Uphold: questions

Which is cheaper, Krak or Uphold?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Krak leaves $24 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Krak and Uphold in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Krak or Uphold safer?
Krak scores higher on our safety check (71/100 against 64/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Krak or Uphold?
Krak pays 0% to 2% and Uphold pays variable, not published. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Krak Card (US): fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Krak Card (US): availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Krak Card (US): cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Krak Card (US): safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Uphold Debit Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. Uphold Debit Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. Uphold Debit Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. Uphold Debit Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026