Uphold vs CL Card

Uphold costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Uphold leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $124.15 a year more at $500 a month, $250.15 a year more at $2,000 a month, $502.15 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Uphold is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. CL Card is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Uphold scores 64/100 (Good) and CL Card scores 64/100 (Good).
  • Overall, CL Card rates 43/100 against 35/100 for Uphold, helped by its reach: it is offered in 37 countries and territories against 1 for Uphold.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Uphold · Essential≤ -$72
  • CL Card · Standard-$322.15

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureUpholdCL Card
Countries offeredUnited States only37 countries (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSD, USDC, USDT, BTC, XRPBTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP, SOL
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed2%
FX markup1.5%0% (better)
ATM fee$2.95€2.50
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical $4.99Virtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
CashbackVariable, not published1% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score64/10064/100
Overall rating35/10043/100 (better)
Get the cardGet UpholdGet CL Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendUpholdCL Card
$500≤ -$18
Essential
-$142.15
Standard
$2,000≤ -$72
Essential
-$322.15
Standard
$5,000≤ -$180
Essential
-$682.15
Standard

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineUphold
Essential
CL Card
Standard
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed-$528
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$72$0
ATM feesNot disclosed-$34.15
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
CashbackNot disclosed+$240
Net per year-$72-$322.15

Fees

Uphold charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1.5% on spending in a foreign currency. CL Card charges 2% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Uphold $2.95; CL Card €2.50.

A virtual card costs nothing with Uphold and nothing with CL Card. A physical card costs $4.99 and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Uphold cashback: Variable, not published. CL Card cashback: 1% to 2%.

Uphold tiers: Essential: rate not published; Elite ($99.99 a year): rate not published.

CL Card tiers: Standard: 1%; BXX rewards: 2%.

Uphold: For the first 3 months after activation, the Essential card pays 2% in XRP (up to $120) and the Elite card pays 4% on crypto and metals and 3% on fiat and stablecoins (up to $300). Uphold does not publish the rate after that period. The Elite card also removes the FX and ATM fees.

CL Card: Ledger's page says "1% cashback in BTC, USDC, or USDT" (BTC or USDC in the US, BTC or USDT elsewhere), claimed from the Loyalty program page. CL's own FAQ also offers 2% if you take the reward in Baanx's BXX token. Spending funded by the Cryptodraft credit line earns nothing. No spend or reward cap is published.

Availability and KYC

Uphold is offered in one country, including United States. Available to US residents in US states and Washington D.C. Not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories.

CL Card is offered in 37 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and Canada. Ledger says "The CL Card is currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil." This file uses the EU fee schedule. You do not need a Ledger device to get the card.

Uphold needs full KYC and CL Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Uphold does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

CL Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Uphold works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and CL Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. CL Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Uphold scores 64/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Uphold HQ Inc. is a licensed money transmitter (NMLS ID 1269875)). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Uphold publishes its assets and liabilities in real time on its transparency page. Funds in the USD account are held at Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, with pass-through insurance up to $250,000 when certain conditions are met; crypto balances are not covered.

CL Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through UAB Monavate. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Only money loaded to the card as e-money is safeguarded under e-money rules. Crypto deposited to the CL platform becomes Baanx's property, and Baanx's terms warn that "in the event that any of Us becomes insolvent ... You may not be able to have the full value of Your deposits restored". Baanx describes its crypto services as "not regulated financial services". We could not find a published proof-of-reserves report. We found no official enforcement actions against the card providers. Ledger's own past security incidents are not listed, because Ledger does not provide or hold funds for the card.

Full reports: Uphold safety check and CL Card safety check.

About each card

Uphold Debit Card is a custodial Visa card from Uphold. It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and XRP.

Ledger CL Card (Europe) is a custodial Visa card from Baanx (CL Card), card account by UAB Monavate. It tops up with BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP and SOL and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

Uphold fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.

CL Card fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 2%).

Read more: Uphold fees and details · CL Card fees and details

Uphold vs CL Card: questions

Which is cheaper, Uphold or CL Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Uphold leaves $250.15 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Uphold and CL Card in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Uphold or CL Card safer?
Uphold scores higher on our safety check (64/100 against 64/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Uphold or CL Card?
Uphold pays variable, not published and CL Card pays 1% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Uphold Debit Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Uphold Debit Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Uphold Debit Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Uphold Debit Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Ledger CL Card (Europe): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Ledger CL Card (Europe): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Ledger CL Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Ledger CL Card (Europe): safety · checked September 28, 2026