Yearly cost at three spending levels
| Monthly spend | ether.fi Cash | Gemini Card |
|---|---|---|
| $500 | ≤ +$162 Core | ≤ -$132 Base rate |
| $2,000 | ≤ +$648 Core | ≤ +$48 Base rate |
| $5,000 | ≤ +$540 Core | ≤ +$408 Base rate |
Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.
Where the money goes at $2,000 a month
| Line | ether.fi Cash Core | Gemini Card Base rate |
|---|---|---|
| Top-up and conversion fees | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Spending fees | Not disclosed | $0 |
| Foreign exchange markup | -$72 | $0 |
| ATM fees | Not disclosed | -$192 |
| Annual, monthly and subscription fees | $0 | $0 |
| Cashback | +$720 | +$240 |
| Net per year | +$648 | +$48 |
Fees
ether.fi Cash charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1.5% on spending in a foreign currency. Gemini Card charges Not disclosed and 0%.
ATM withdrawals: ether.fi Cash not disclosed; Gemini Card 3% + $10.
A virtual card costs nothing with ether.fi Cash and nothing with Gemini Card. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and nothing. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.
Cashback and rewards
ether.fi Cash cashback: 3% to 4%. Gemini Card cashback: 1%.
ether.fi Cash tiers: Core: 3% on the first $2,000 a month; Luxe: 3% on the first $10,000 a month; Pinnacle: 3% on the first $50,000 a month; VIP: 4% on the first $50,000 a month.
Gemini Card tiers: Base rate: 1%.
ether.fi Cash: Membership levels also add category cashback (10% to 30% on AI, streaming and food, capped monthly), travel discounts and account balance protection against smart contract exploits of $10,000 to $500,000, which is not deposit insurance.
Gemini Card: 1% back on all other purchases. Higher rates apply by category - 4% on gas, EV charging, transit, taxis and rideshare (on up to $300 of spend a month, then 1%), 3% on dining and 2% on groceries (Costco, Sam's Club and Walmart are excluded). Rewards arrive instantly in bitcoin by default, or in one of 50+ other cryptos on Gemini. Some merchants pay 10% back through Gemini's merchant offers. The card carries variable APRs - purchases 16.74% to 34.74%, cash advances 29.74%, penalty APR 33.74%, based on a 7.00% prime rate on 25 September 2026.
Availability and KYC
ether.fi Cash is offered in 91 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia and Mexico. ether.fi lists these jurisdictions. In the US the card is available in 31 states and Washington D.C. only. Belgium and Ireland are eligible, but physical cards are not delivered there. In some countries (including Argentina, Indonesia, Mexico, Nigeria and the Philippines) the first virtual card costs $10.
Gemini Card is offered in one country, including United States. Gemini says residents of all 50 US states can apply. You must live in the US when you apply and for as long as the account stays open. Credit approval and a hard credit inquiry are required.
ether.fi Cash needs full KYC and Gemini Card needs full KYC.
The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.
Limits, wallets and card types
ether.fi Cash publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $5,000 a day.
Gemini Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.
ether.fi Cash works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Gemini Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Gemini Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.
Custody and safety
ether.fi Cash scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. ether.fi describes Cash as a non-custodial account. The ATM fee on Core is not published as a fixed figure.
Gemini Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through WebBank. 2024-02-28: NYDFS fined Gemini Trust Company $37 million over the Gemini Earn program and unsafe practices. Gemini also committed $40 million toward Earn customers' recovery in the Genesis bankruptcy. 2024-06-14: The New York Attorney General settled with Gemini over Gemini Earn. Gemini returned about $50 million in digital assets to more than 230,000 Earn investors. 2025-01-13: A federal court entered a CFTC consent order against Gemini Trust over misleading 2017 statements to the CFTC about a bitcoin futures contract. Gemini paid a $5 million civil penalty. 2026-01-23: The SEC dismissed with prejudice its January 2023 case against Gemini over Gemini Earn. It cited the 100% in-kind return of Earn investors' crypto. The card is issued by WebBank and serviced by Gemini Constellation, LLC. Rewards sit in a custodial Gemini account held by Gemini Trust Company (New York and Idaho customers) or Gemini Moonbase, LLC, which is licensed as a money transmitter and registered with FinCEN as a money services business. No proof-of-reserves report was found. In 2026 Gemini closed its UK, EEA and Australian accounts; the US card is not affected.
Full reports: ether.fi Cash safety check and Gemini Card safety check.
About each card
ether.fi Cash Card is a self-custody Visa card from ether.fi. It tops up with USDC and ETH.
Gemini Credit Card is a custodial Mastercard from Gemini.
Which card fits you
ether.fi Cash fits if
- You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
- You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 4%).
Gemini Card fits if
- You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
- You live in United States, the only market it serves.
- You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.
Read more: ether.fi Cash fees and details · Gemini Card fees and details