Gemini Card vs Tria

The cheaper card changes with your spending. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • At $500 a month, Tria comes out $89 a year ahead. At $2,000 a month, Gemini Card comes out $91 a year ahead. At $5,000 a month, Gemini Card comes out $451 a year ahead.
  • Gemini Card is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Tria is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Gemini Card scores 64/100 (Good) and Tria scores 60/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Tria rates 72/100 against 38/100 for Gemini Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 224 countries and territories against 1 for Gemini Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Gemini Card · Base rate≤ +$48
  • Tria · Virtual-$43

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureGemini CardTria
Countries offeredUnited States only224 countries and territories (better)
Card networkMastercardVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup0%0%
ATM fee3% + $101% + $1
Annual fee (base tier)Free (better)$25
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical FreeVirtual Free · Physical Free
Cashback1%1.5% to 6% (better)
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score64/100 (better)60/100
Overall rating38/10072/100 (better)
Get the cardGet Gemini CardGet Tria

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendGemini CardTria
$500≤ -$132
Base rate
-$43
Virtual
$2,000≤ +$48
Base rate
-$43
Virtual
$5,000≤ +$408
Base rate
-$43
Virtual

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineGemini Card
Base rate
Tria
Virtual
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$0$0
ATM fees-$192-$36
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0-$25
Cashback+$240+$18
Net per year+$48-$43

Fees

Gemini Card charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 0% on spending in a foreign currency. Tria charges 0% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Gemini Card 3% + $10; Tria 1% + $1.

A virtual card costs nothing with Gemini Card and nothing with Tria. A physical card costs nothing and nothing.

Cashback and rewards

Gemini Card cashback: 1%. Tria cashback: 1.5% to 6%.

Gemini Card tiers: Base rate: 1%.

Tria tiers: Virtual: 1.5% on the first $100 a month; Signature plastic ($109 a year): 4.5% on the first $1,000 a month; Premium metal ($250 a year): 6% on the first $2,000 a month.

Gemini Card: 1% back on all other purchases. Higher rates apply by category - 4% on gas, EV charging, transit, taxis and rideshare (on up to $300 of spend a month, then 1%), 3% on dining and 2% on groceries (Costco, Sam's Club and Walmart are excluded). Rewards arrive instantly in bitcoin by default, or in one of 50+ other cryptos on Gemini. Some merchants pay 10% back through Gemini's merchant offers. The card carries variable APRs - purchases 16.74% to 34.74%, cash advances 29.74%, penalty APR 33.74%, based on a 7.00% prime rate on 25 September 2026.

Tria: Paid in USDT on Arbitrum in periodic batches, with a waiting period of up to 90 days. Above the monthly spend cap the rate drops to 0.5% on the virtual tier and 1% on plastic and metal, which this model does not capture. An active staking badge adds a boost within the cap. Cash withdrawals, transfers, wallet funding, gambling and vouchers earn nothing. The plastic and metal subscriptions below are the extra cost over the $25 virtual membership ($109 and $250 a year in total). Season 3 rates apply from 1 June 2026.

Availability and KYC

Gemini Card is offered in one country, including United States. Gemini says residents of all 50 US states can apply. You must live in the US when you apply and for as long as the account stays open. Credit approval and a hard credit inquiry are required.

Tria is offered in 224 countries and territories and excludes 25.

Gemini Card needs full KYC and Tria needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Gemini Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Tria publishes a daily spending limit of $1,000,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.

Gemini Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Tria works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Gemini Card and Tria issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Gemini Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through WebBank. 2024-02-28: NYDFS fined Gemini Trust Company $37 million over the Gemini Earn program and unsafe practices. Gemini also committed $40 million toward Earn customers' recovery in the Genesis bankruptcy. 2024-06-14: The New York Attorney General settled with Gemini over Gemini Earn. Gemini returned about $50 million in digital assets to more than 230,000 Earn investors. 2025-01-13: A federal court entered a CFTC consent order against Gemini Trust over misleading 2017 statements to the CFTC about a bitcoin futures contract. Gemini paid a $5 million civil penalty. 2026-01-23: The SEC dismissed with prejudice its January 2023 case against Gemini over Gemini Earn. It cited the 100% in-kind return of Earn investors' crypto. The card is issued by WebBank and serviced by Gemini Constellation, LLC. Rewards sit in a custodial Gemini account held by Gemini Trust Company (New York and Idaho customers) or Gemini Moonbase, LLC, which is licensed as a money transmitter and registered with FinCEN as a money services business. No proof-of-reserves report was found. In 2026 Gemini closed its UK, EEA and Australian accounts; the US card is not affected.

Tria scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Tria's cards work as collateral-backed credit cards at 0% APR. Spending is secured by crypto in the user's own wallet, and a "Liquidation Event" sells collateral if charges go unpaid for one calendar day or the collateral value falls below the balance. International cards are issued by Nimbus, LLC, a Delaware company whose terms link to a privacy notice on legal.raincards.xyz. US cards are issued by "Third National". In Nigeria the card is marketed by BANEX Microfinance Bank, licensed by the Central Bank of Nigeria. Tria (Threely Dimensions, Inc.) says it "is not a bank, money services business, card issuer". No proof of reserves applies because Tria holds no customer assets. We found no official enforcement actions or incident reports.

Full reports: Gemini Card safety check and Tria safety check.

About each card

Gemini Credit Card is a custodial Mastercard from Gemini.

Tria Card (Global) is a self-custody Visa card from Nimbus, LLC (international cards); Third National (US cards). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH.

Which card fits you

Gemini Card fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Tria fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You live outside the US and the handful of countries it excludes.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 6%).

Read more: Gemini Card fees and details · Tria fees and details

Gemini Card vs Tria: questions

Which is cheaper, Gemini Card or Tria?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Gemini Card leaves $91 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Gemini Card and Tria in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Gemini Card or Tria safer?
Gemini Card scores higher on our safety check (64/100 against 60/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Gemini Card or Tria?
Gemini Card pays 1% and Tria pays 1.5% to 6%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Gemini Credit Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  2. Gemini Credit Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  3. Gemini Credit Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  4. Gemini Credit Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026
  5. Tria Card (Global): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Tria Card (Global): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Tria Card (Global): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Tria Card (Global): safety · checked September 28, 2026