Yearly cost at three spending levels
| Monthly spend | Krak | Gemini Card |
|---|---|---|
| $500 | ≤ -$12 Starter | ≤ -$132 Base rate |
| $2,000 | ≤ -$48 Starter | ≤ +$48 Base rate |
| $5,000 | ≤ -$120 Starter | ≤ +$408 Base rate |
Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.
Where the money goes at $2,000 a month
| Line | Krak Starter | Gemini Card Base rate |
|---|---|---|
| Top-up and conversion fees | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Spending fees | $0 | $0 |
| Foreign exchange markup | -$48 | $0 |
| ATM fees | Not disclosed | -$192 |
| Annual, monthly and subscription fees | $0 | $0 |
| Cashback | $0 | +$240 |
| Net per year | -$48 | +$48 |
Fees
Krak charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Gemini Card charges Not disclosed and 0%.
ATM withdrawals: Krak no card fee; Gemini Card 3% + $10.
A virtual card costs nothing with Krak and nothing with Gemini Card. A physical card costs nothing and nothing. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.
Cashback and rewards
Krak cashback: 0% to 2%. Gemini Card cashback: 1%.
Krak tiers: Starter: 0%; Lite: 0.5%; Pro: 1%; Elite: 1.5%; Max: 2%.
Gemini Card tiers: Base rate: 1%.
Krak: The cashback rate depends on your 30-day average assets held with Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro.
Gemini Card: 1% back on all other purchases. Higher rates apply by category - 4% on gas, EV charging, transit, taxis and rideshare (on up to $300 of spend a month, then 1%), 3% on dining and 2% on groceries (Costco, Sam's Club and Walmart are excluded). Rewards arrive instantly in bitcoin by default, or in one of 50+ other cryptos on Gemini. Some merchants pay 10% back through Gemini's merchant offers. The card carries variable APRs - purchases 16.74% to 34.74%, cash advances 29.74%, penalty APR 33.74%, based on a 7.00% prime rate on 25 September 2026.
Availability and KYC
Krak is offered in one country, including United States. Available in all US states except New York, Maine, Massachusetts and Indiana. Krak publishes separate EEA and UK cards with different fees.
Gemini Card is offered in one country, including United States. Gemini says residents of all 50 US states can apply. You must live in the US when you apply and for as long as the account stays open. Credit approval and a hard credit inquiry are required.
Krak needs full KYC and Gemini Card needs full KYC.
The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.
Limits, wallets and card types
Krak does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.
Gemini Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.
Krak works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Gemini Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Krak and Gemini Card issue a virtual card you can use straight away.
Custody and safety
Krak scores 66/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Lead Bank. 2024-12-12: An Australian court ordered Bit Trade Pty Ltd, Kraken's Australian operator, to pay AUD 8 million after an ASIC action over a margin product offered without a target market determination. Krak says account balances are not a deposit account and are not FDIC- or SIPC-insured. Kraken, Krak's parent, publishes a proof of reserves; the latest is dated 30 June 2026.
Gemini Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through WebBank. 2024-02-28: NYDFS fined Gemini Trust Company $37 million over the Gemini Earn program and unsafe practices. Gemini also committed $40 million toward Earn customers' recovery in the Genesis bankruptcy. 2024-06-14: The New York Attorney General settled with Gemini over Gemini Earn. Gemini returned about $50 million in digital assets to more than 230,000 Earn investors. 2025-01-13: A federal court entered a CFTC consent order against Gemini Trust over misleading 2017 statements to the CFTC about a bitcoin futures contract. Gemini paid a $5 million civil penalty. 2026-01-23: The SEC dismissed with prejudice its January 2023 case against Gemini over Gemini Earn. It cited the 100% in-kind return of Earn investors' crypto. The card is issued by WebBank and serviced by Gemini Constellation, LLC. Rewards sit in a custodial Gemini account held by Gemini Trust Company (New York and Idaho customers) or Gemini Moonbase, LLC, which is licensed as a money transmitter and registered with FinCEN as a money services business. No proof-of-reserves report was found. In 2026 Gemini closed its UK, EEA and Australian accounts; the US card is not affected.
Full reports: Krak safety check and Gemini Card safety check.
About each card
Krak Card (US) is a custodial Visa card from Krak (Payward Interactive, Inc.). It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and ETH.
Gemini Credit Card is a custodial Mastercard from Gemini.
Which card fits you
Krak fits if
- You live in United States, the only market it serves.
- You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 2%).
- You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.
Gemini Card fits if
- You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
- You live in United States, the only market it serves.
Read more: Krak fees and details · Gemini Card fees and details