MetaMask Card vs Exa Card

MetaMask Card costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • MetaMask Card leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $3.60 a year more at $500 a month, $111.60 a year more at $2,000 a month, $327.60 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • MetaMask Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Exa Card is self-custody as well.
  • On our safety check, MetaMask Card scores 65/100 (Good) and Exa Card scores 75/100 (Good).
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 3: Brazil, Mexico and Argentina.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • MetaMask Card · Virtual (free)+$12
  • Exa Card · Standard-$99.60
Crypto card comparison
FeatureMetaMask CardExa Card
Countries offered45 countries46 countries (better)
Card networkMastercardVisa
CustodySelf-custodySelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPeUSDC, ETH, WBTC, wstETH, OP
Top-up or conversion fee0.5%0% (better)
FX markup1% (better)1.5%
ATM fee2%No ATM access (virtual card only)
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1% to 3% (better)None
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score65/10075/100 (better)
Overall rating54/10054/100
Get the cardGet MetaMask CardGet Exa Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendMetaMask CardExa Card
$500-$42
Virtual (free)
-$45.60
Standard
$2,000+$12
Virtual (free)
-$99.60
Standard
$5,000+$120
Virtual (free)
-$207.60
Standard

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineMetaMask Card
Virtual (free)
Exa Card
Standard
Top-up and conversion fees-$132$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$48-$72
ATM fees-$48-$27.60
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$240$0
Net per year+$12-$99.60

Fees

MetaMask Card charges 0.5% to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Exa Card charges 0% and 1.5%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Exa Card's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $5.

ATM withdrawals: MetaMask Card 2%; Exa Card no atm access (virtual card only).

A virtual card costs nothing with MetaMask Card and nothing with Exa Card. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

MetaMask Card cashback: 1% to 3%. Exa Card cashback: None.

MetaMask Card tiers: Virtual (free): 1%; Metal ($199 a year): 3%.

Exa Card tiers: Standard: 0%.

MetaMask Card: Paid in mUSD. The Metal tier pays 3% on the first $10,000 spent each year and 1% after that, removes the 1% cross-border fee and adds $1,200 a month of free ATM withdrawals. Metal card orders have been paused since 2 June 2026.

Exa Card: The Exa Card has no cashback program. Visa Signature benefits apply instead (purchase protection, car rental cover, Visa Airport Companion with pay-per-use lounges, concierge). Idle balances earn a variable yield in Exactly Protocol. Pay Later splits purchases into up to 8 fixed-rate installments paid in USDC, and the interest rate is set at purchase.

Availability and KYC

MetaMask Card is offered in 45 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands and Portugal. MetaMask lists these countries on its card page. Sign-ups in the US and UK are temporarily closed.

Exa Card is offered in 46 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, United Arab Emirates and United States. US residents only in 31 listed states (not, for example, Georgia, Ohio, Washington or Oregon). No EU, EEA or UK countries are eligible. Nigeria is left out because the eligibility page says it "requires conditional approval" while the prohibited-countries list (15 January 2026) bans it. Exa's own help center also claims the card is "available in 180+ countries", which the published list does not support. In the US the card is also offered through Uphold.

MetaMask Card needs full KYC and Exa Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

MetaMask Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

Exa Card publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

MetaMask Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Exa Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. MetaMask Card and Exa Card issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

MetaMask Card scores 65/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Funds stay in the user's own MetaMask wallet until each payment. US cards are issued by Cross River Bank, Member FDIC; the issuer for the countries listed here is not named on MetaMask's site.

Exa Card scores 75/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Card issued by Nimbus LLC dba Third National, licensed as a Money Transmitter by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions of Puerto Rico (licence TM-0207, NMLS 2612780). Exa Labs S.A.S. is the program manager and says it "does not issue or manage payment instruments"; its help center gives Rain's legal address as the card's billing address.). The card is issued through Nimbus LLC dba Third National. 2023-08-18: Exactly Protocol, which runs the card's credit and yield, was exploited through its DebtManager contract on Optimism. 117 accounts lost a combined $7,612,038 and the protocol was paused. Exa Labs S.A.S. is a Uruguayan company. The card is legally a credit card with no set credit line, and the issuer's terms say it has no relationship with Exactly Protocol. Your wallet is a passkey-secured smart contract account on OP Mainnet with no seed phrase. In Pay Later mode each purchase is a loan against your deposited crypto, which can be liquidated if its value falls. The 2023 exploit hit the protocol's leverage feature, not the card, which launched later. No regulator warning or enforcement action against Exa Labs or Exactly Protocol was found.

Full reports: MetaMask Card safety check and Exa Card safety check.

About each card

MetaMask Card is a self-custody Mastercard from MetaMask (Consensys). It tops up with USDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe and GBPe.

Exa Card (Exactly) is a self-custody Visa card from Exa Labs S.A.S. (Exa Card program). It tops up with USDC, ETH, WBTC, wstETH and OP.

Which card fits you

MetaMask Card fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 3%).

Exa Card fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: MetaMask Card fees and details · Exa Card fees and details · MetaMask Card review

MetaMask Card vs Exa Card: questions

Which is cheaper, MetaMask Card or Exa Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, MetaMask Card leaves $111.60 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use MetaMask Card and Exa Card in the same country?
Yes, in 3 of the 25 countries we track, including Brazil, Mexico and Argentina.
Is MetaMask Card or Exa Card safer?
Exa Card scores higher on our safety check (75/100 against 65/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, MetaMask Card or Exa Card?
MetaMask Card pays 1% to 3% and Exa Card pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. MetaMask Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. MetaMask Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. MetaMask Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. MetaMask Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Exa Card (Exactly): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Exa Card (Exactly): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Exa Card (Exactly): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Exa Card (Exactly): safety · checked September 28, 2026