Exa Card vs CL Card

Exa Card costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Exa Card leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $96.55 a year more at $500 a month, $222.55 a year more at $2,000 a month, $474.55 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Exa Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. CL Card is custodial.
  • On our safety check, Exa Card scores 75/100 (Good) and CL Card scores 64/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Exa Card rates 54/100 against 43/100 for CL Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 46 countries and territories against 37 for CL Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 3: United States, Brazil and Mexico.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Exa Card · Standard-$99.60
  • CL Card · Standard-$322.15
Crypto card comparison
FeatureExa CardCL Card
Countries offered46 countries (better)37 countries
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodySelf-custodyCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, ETH, WBTC, wstETH, OPBTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP, SOL
Top-up or conversion fee0% (better)2%
FX markup1.5%0% (better)
ATM feeNo ATM access (virtual card only)€2.50
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
CashbackNone1% to 2% (better)
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score75/100 (better)64/100
Overall rating54/100 (better)43/100
Get the cardGet Exa CardGet CL Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendExa CardCL Card
$500-$45.60
Standard
-$142.15
Standard
$2,000-$99.60
Standard
-$322.15
Standard
$5,000-$207.60
Standard
-$682.15
Standard

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineExa Card
Standard
CL Card
Standard
Top-up and conversion fees$0-$528
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$72$0
ATM fees-$27.60-$34.15
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback$0+$240
Net per year-$99.60-$322.15

Fees

Exa Card charges 0% to convert or top up and 1.5% on spending in a foreign currency. CL Card charges 2% and 0%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Exa Card's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $20.

ATM withdrawals: Exa Card no atm access (virtual card only); CL Card €2.50.

A virtual card costs nothing with Exa Card and nothing with CL Card. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Exa Card cashback: None. CL Card cashback: 1% to 2%.

Exa Card tiers: Standard: 0%.

CL Card tiers: Standard: 1%; BXX rewards: 2%.

Exa Card: The Exa Card has no cashback program. Visa Signature benefits apply instead (purchase protection, car rental cover, Visa Airport Companion with pay-per-use lounges, concierge). Idle balances earn a variable yield in Exactly Protocol. Pay Later splits purchases into up to 8 fixed-rate installments paid in USDC, and the interest rate is set at purchase.

CL Card: Ledger's page says "1% cashback in BTC, USDC, or USDT" (BTC or USDC in the US, BTC or USDT elsewhere), claimed from the Loyalty program page. CL's own FAQ also offers 2% if you take the reward in Baanx's BXX token. Spending funded by the Cryptodraft credit line earns nothing. No spend or reward cap is published.

Availability and KYC

Exa Card is offered in 46 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, United Arab Emirates and United States. US residents only in 31 listed states (not, for example, Georgia, Ohio, Washington or Oregon). No EU, EEA or UK countries are eligible. Nigeria is left out because the eligibility page says it "requires conditional approval" while the prohibited-countries list (15 January 2026) bans it. Exa's own help center also claims the card is "available in 180+ countries", which the published list does not support. In the US the card is also offered through Uphold.

CL Card is offered in 37 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and Canada. Ledger says "The CL Card is currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil." This file uses the EU fee schedule. You do not need a Ledger device to get the card.

Exa Card needs full KYC and CL Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Exa Card publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

CL Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Exa Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and CL Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Exa Card and CL Card issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Exa Card scores 75/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Card issued by Nimbus LLC dba Third National, licensed as a Money Transmitter by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions of Puerto Rico (licence TM-0207, NMLS 2612780). Exa Labs S.A.S. is the program manager and says it "does not issue or manage payment instruments"; its help center gives Rain's legal address as the card's billing address.). The card is issued through Nimbus LLC dba Third National. 2023-08-18: Exactly Protocol, which runs the card's credit and yield, was exploited through its DebtManager contract on Optimism. 117 accounts lost a combined $7,612,038 and the protocol was paused. Exa Labs S.A.S. is a Uruguayan company. The card is legally a credit card with no set credit line, and the issuer's terms say it has no relationship with Exactly Protocol. Your wallet is a passkey-secured smart contract account on OP Mainnet with no seed phrase. In Pay Later mode each purchase is a loan against your deposited crypto, which can be liquidated if its value falls. The 2023 exploit hit the protocol's leverage feature, not the card, which launched later. No regulator warning or enforcement action against Exa Labs or Exactly Protocol was found.

CL Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through UAB Monavate. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Only money loaded to the card as e-money is safeguarded under e-money rules. Crypto deposited to the CL platform becomes Baanx's property, and Baanx's terms warn that "in the event that any of Us becomes insolvent ... You may not be able to have the full value of Your deposits restored". Baanx describes its crypto services as "not regulated financial services". We could not find a published proof-of-reserves report. We found no official enforcement actions against the card providers. Ledger's own past security incidents are not listed, because Ledger does not provide or hold funds for the card.

Full reports: Exa Card safety check and CL Card safety check.

About each card

Exa Card (Exactly) is a self-custody Visa card from Exa Labs S.A.S. (Exa Card program). It tops up with USDC, ETH, WBTC, wstETH and OP.

Ledger CL Card (Europe) is a custodial Visa card from Baanx (CL Card), card account by UAB Monavate. It tops up with BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP and SOL and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

Exa Card fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

CL Card fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 2%).

Read more: Exa Card fees and details · CL Card fees and details

Exa Card vs CL Card: questions

Which is cheaper, Exa Card or CL Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Exa Card leaves $222.55 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Exa Card and CL Card in the same country?
Yes, in 3 of the 25 countries we track, including United States, Brazil and Mexico.
Is Exa Card or CL Card safer?
Exa Card scores higher on our safety check (75/100 against 64/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Exa Card or CL Card?
Exa Card pays none and CL Card pays 1% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Exa Card (Exactly): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  2. Exa Card (Exactly): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  3. Exa Card (Exactly): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  4. Exa Card (Exactly): safety · checked September 28, 2026
  5. Ledger CL Card (Europe): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Ledger CL Card (Europe): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Ledger CL Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Ledger CL Card (Europe): safety · checked September 28, 2026