KOSH vs Exa Card

KOSH costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • KOSH leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $31.60 a year more at $500 a month, $67.60 a year more at $2,000 a month, $139.60 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • KOSH is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Exa Card is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, KOSH scores 44/100 (Fair) and Exa Card scores 75/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Exa Card rates 54/100 against 27/100 for KOSH, helped by its reach: it is offered in 46 countries and territories against an unpublished number for KOSH.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • KOSH · Everyday≤ -$32
  • Exa Card · Standard-$99.60

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureKOSHExa Card
Countries offeredList not published46 countries
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDTUSDC, ETH, WBTC, wstETH, OP
Top-up or conversion fee0%0%
FX markup0.5% (better)1.5%
ATM fee1% + $1No ATM access (virtual card only)
Annual fee (base tier)$8Free (better)
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical $80Virtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
CashbackNoneNone
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score44/10075/100 (better)
Overall rating27/10054/100 (better)
Get the cardGet KOSHGet Exa Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendKOSHExa Card
$500≤ -$14
Everyday
-$45.60
Standard
$2,000≤ -$32
Everyday
-$99.60
Standard
$5,000≤ -$68
Everyday
-$207.60
Standard

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineKOSH
Everyday
Exa Card
Standard
Top-up and conversion fees$0$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$24-$72
ATM feesNot disclosed-$27.60
Annual, monthly and subscription fees-$8$0
Cashback$0$0
Net per year-$32-$99.60

Fees

KOSH charges 0% to convert or top up and 0.5% on spending in a foreign currency. Exa Card charges 0% and 1.5%.

ATM withdrawals: KOSH 1% + $1; Exa Card no atm access (virtual card only).

A virtual card costs nothing with KOSH and nothing with Exa Card. A physical card costs $80 and an undisclosed fee.

Cashback and rewards

KOSH cashback: None. Exa Card cashback: None.

KOSH tiers: Everyday: 0%.

Exa Card tiers: Standard: 0%.

KOSH: KOSH lists 10% reward points as coming soon. No reward is paid today.

Exa Card: The Exa Card has no cashback program. Visa Signature benefits apply instead (purchase protection, car rental cover, Visa Airport Companion with pay-per-use lounges, concierge). Idle balances earn a variable yield in Exactly Protocol. Pay Later splits purchases into up to 8 fixed-rate installments paid in USDC, and the interest rate is set at purchase.

Availability and KYC

KOSH does not publish a country list. KOSH says it supports onboarding in 90+ countries without publishing the list.

Exa Card is offered in 46 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, United Arab Emirates and United States. US residents only in 31 listed states (not, for example, Georgia, Ohio, Washington or Oregon). No EU, EEA or UK countries are eligible. Nigeria is left out because the eligibility page says it "requires conditional approval" while the prohibited-countries list (15 January 2026) bans it. Exa's own help center also claims the card is "available in 180+ countries", which the published list does not support. In the US the card is also offered through Uphold.

KOSH needs full KYC and Exa Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

KOSH publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.

Exa Card publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

KOSH works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Exa Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Exa Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

KOSH scores 44/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. KOSH (Piers Technology Inc.) says it is a financial technology company, not a bank or a money services business, and that some services are provided by licensed partners it does not name. It says stablecoin holdings sit with regulated custodians.

Exa Card scores 75/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Card issued by Nimbus LLC dba Third National, licensed as a Money Transmitter by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions of Puerto Rico (licence TM-0207, NMLS 2612780). Exa Labs S.A.S. is the program manager and says it "does not issue or manage payment instruments"; its help center gives Rain's legal address as the card's billing address.). The card is issued through Nimbus LLC dba Third National. 2023-08-18: Exactly Protocol, which runs the card's credit and yield, was exploited through its DebtManager contract on Optimism. 117 accounts lost a combined $7,612,038 and the protocol was paused. Exa Labs S.A.S. is a Uruguayan company. The card is legally a credit card with no set credit line, and the issuer's terms say it has no relationship with Exactly Protocol. Your wallet is a passkey-secured smart contract account on OP Mainnet with no seed phrase. In Pay Later mode each purchase is a loan against your deposited crypto, which can be liquidated if its value falls. The 2023 exploit hit the protocol's leverage feature, not the card, which launched later. No regulator warning or enforcement action against Exa Labs or Exactly Protocol was found.

Full reports: KOSH safety check and Exa Card safety check.

About each card

KOSH Card (formerly Copperx) is a custodial Visa card from KOSH (Piers Technology Inc., formerly Copperx). It tops up with USDC and USDT.

Exa Card (Exactly) is a self-custody Visa card from Exa Labs S.A.S. (Exa Card program). It tops up with USDC, ETH, WBTC, wstETH and OP.

Which card fits you

KOSH fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.

Exa Card fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: KOSH fees and details · Exa Card fees and details

KOSH vs Exa Card: questions

Which is cheaper, KOSH or Exa Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, KOSH leaves $67.60 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use KOSH and Exa Card in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. Country list not published for KOSH; 46 countries for Exa Card.
Is KOSH or Exa Card safer?
Exa Card scores higher on our safety check (75/100 against 44/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, KOSH or Exa Card?
KOSH pays none and Exa Card pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. KOSH Card (formerly Copperx): fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. KOSH Card (formerly Copperx): availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. KOSH Card (formerly Copperx): cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. KOSH Card (formerly Copperx): safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Exa Card (Exactly): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Exa Card (Exactly): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Exa Card (Exactly): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Exa Card (Exactly): safety · checked September 28, 2026