Krak vs Exa Card

Krak costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Krak leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $33.60 a year more at $500 a month, $51.60 a year more at $2,000 a month, $87.60 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Krak is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Exa Card is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Krak scores 66/100 (Good) and Exa Card scores 75/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Exa Card rates 54/100 against 36/100 for Krak, helped by its reach: it is offered in 46 countries and territories against 1 for Krak.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Krak · Starter≤ -$48
  • Exa Card · Standard-$99.60

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureKrakExa Card
Countries offeredUnited States only46 countries (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSD, USDC, USDT, BTC, ETHUSDC, ETH, WBTC, wstETH, OP
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup1% (better)1.5%
ATM feeNo card feeNo ATM access (virtual card only)
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical FreeVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback0% to 2%None
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score66/10075/100 (better)
Overall rating36/10054/100 (better)
Get the cardGet KrakGet Exa Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendKrakExa Card
$500≤ -$12
Starter
-$45.60
Standard
$2,000≤ -$48
Starter
-$99.60
Standard
$5,000≤ -$120
Starter
-$207.60
Standard

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineKrak
Starter
Exa Card
Standard
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$48-$72
ATM feesNot disclosed-$27.60
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback$0$0
Net per year-$48-$99.60

Fees

Krak charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Exa Card charges 0% and 1.5%.

ATM withdrawals: Krak no card fee; Exa Card no atm access (virtual card only).

A virtual card costs nothing with Krak and nothing with Exa Card. A physical card costs nothing and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Krak cashback: 0% to 2%. Exa Card cashback: None.

Krak tiers: Starter: 0%; Lite: 0.5%; Pro: 1%; Elite: 1.5%; Max: 2%.

Exa Card tiers: Standard: 0%.

Krak: The cashback rate depends on your 30-day average assets held with Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro.

Exa Card: The Exa Card has no cashback program. Visa Signature benefits apply instead (purchase protection, car rental cover, Visa Airport Companion with pay-per-use lounges, concierge). Idle balances earn a variable yield in Exactly Protocol. Pay Later splits purchases into up to 8 fixed-rate installments paid in USDC, and the interest rate is set at purchase.

Availability and KYC

Krak is offered in one country, including United States. Available in all US states except New York, Maine, Massachusetts and Indiana. Krak publishes separate EEA and UK cards with different fees.

Exa Card is offered in 46 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, United Arab Emirates and United States. US residents only in 31 listed states (not, for example, Georgia, Ohio, Washington or Oregon). No EU, EEA or UK countries are eligible. Nigeria is left out because the eligibility page says it "requires conditional approval" while the prohibited-countries list (15 January 2026) bans it. Exa's own help center also claims the card is "available in 180+ countries", which the published list does not support. In the US the card is also offered through Uphold.

Krak needs full KYC and Exa Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Krak does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Exa Card publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

Krak works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Exa Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Krak and Exa Card issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Krak scores 66/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Lead Bank. 2024-12-12: An Australian court ordered Bit Trade Pty Ltd, Kraken's Australian operator, to pay AUD 8 million after an ASIC action over a margin product offered without a target market determination. Krak says account balances are not a deposit account and are not FDIC- or SIPC-insured. Kraken, Krak's parent, publishes a proof of reserves; the latest is dated 30 June 2026.

Exa Card scores 75/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Card issued by Nimbus LLC dba Third National, licensed as a Money Transmitter by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions of Puerto Rico (licence TM-0207, NMLS 2612780). Exa Labs S.A.S. is the program manager and says it "does not issue or manage payment instruments"; its help center gives Rain's legal address as the card's billing address.). The card is issued through Nimbus LLC dba Third National. 2023-08-18: Exactly Protocol, which runs the card's credit and yield, was exploited through its DebtManager contract on Optimism. 117 accounts lost a combined $7,612,038 and the protocol was paused. Exa Labs S.A.S. is a Uruguayan company. The card is legally a credit card with no set credit line, and the issuer's terms say it has no relationship with Exactly Protocol. Your wallet is a passkey-secured smart contract account on OP Mainnet with no seed phrase. In Pay Later mode each purchase is a loan against your deposited crypto, which can be liquidated if its value falls. The 2023 exploit hit the protocol's leverage feature, not the card, which launched later. No regulator warning or enforcement action against Exa Labs or Exactly Protocol was found.

Full reports: Krak safety check and Exa Card safety check.

About each card

Krak Card (US) is a custodial Visa card from Krak (Payward Interactive, Inc.). It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and ETH.

Exa Card (Exactly) is a self-custody Visa card from Exa Labs S.A.S. (Exa Card program). It tops up with USDC, ETH, WBTC, wstETH and OP.

Which card fits you

Krak fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 2%).

Exa Card fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Krak fees and details · Exa Card fees and details

Krak vs Exa Card: questions

Which is cheaper, Krak or Exa Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Krak leaves $51.60 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Krak and Exa Card in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Krak or Exa Card safer?
Exa Card scores higher on our safety check (75/100 against 66/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Krak or Exa Card?
Krak pays 0% to 2% and Exa Card pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Krak Card (US): fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Krak Card (US): availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Krak Card (US): cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Krak Card (US): safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Exa Card (Exactly): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Exa Card (Exactly): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Exa Card (Exactly): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Exa Card (Exactly): safety · checked September 28, 2026