Krak vs Tria

The cheaper card changes with your spending. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • At $500 a month, Krak comes out $31 a year ahead. At $2,000 a month, Tria comes out $5 a year ahead. At $5,000 a month, Tria comes out $77 a year ahead.
  • Krak is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Tria is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Krak scores 66/100 (Good) and Tria scores 60/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Tria rates 72/100 against 36/100 for Krak, helped by its reach: it is offered in 224 countries and territories against 1 for Krak.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Krak · Starter≤ -$48
  • Tria · Virtual-$43

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureKrakTria
Countries offeredUnited States only224 countries and territories (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSD, USDC, USDT, BTC, ETHUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup1%0% (better)
ATM feeNo card fee1% + $1
Annual fee (base tier)Free (better)$25
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical FreeVirtual Free · Physical Free
Cashback0% to 2%1.5% to 6% (better)
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score66/100 (better)60/100
Overall rating36/10072/100 (better)
Get the cardGet KrakGet Tria

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendKrakTria
$500≤ -$12
Starter
-$43
Virtual
$2,000≤ -$48
Starter
-$43
Virtual
$5,000≤ -$120
Starter
-$43
Virtual

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineKrak
Starter
Tria
Virtual
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$48$0
ATM feesNot disclosed-$36
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0-$25
Cashback$0+$18
Net per year-$48-$43

Fees

Krak charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Tria charges 0% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Krak no card fee; Tria 1% + $1.

A virtual card costs nothing with Krak and nothing with Tria. A physical card costs nothing and nothing.

Cashback and rewards

Krak cashback: 0% to 2%. Tria cashback: 1.5% to 6%.

Krak tiers: Starter: 0%; Lite: 0.5%; Pro: 1%; Elite: 1.5%; Max: 2%.

Tria tiers: Virtual: 1.5% on the first $100 a month; Signature plastic ($109 a year): 4.5% on the first $1,000 a month; Premium metal ($250 a year): 6% on the first $2,000 a month.

Krak: The cashback rate depends on your 30-day average assets held with Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro.

Tria: Paid in USDT on Arbitrum in periodic batches, with a waiting period of up to 90 days. Above the monthly spend cap the rate drops to 0.5% on the virtual tier and 1% on plastic and metal, which this model does not capture. An active staking badge adds a boost within the cap. Cash withdrawals, transfers, wallet funding, gambling and vouchers earn nothing. The plastic and metal subscriptions below are the extra cost over the $25 virtual membership ($109 and $250 a year in total). Season 3 rates apply from 1 June 2026.

Availability and KYC

Krak is offered in one country, including United States. Available in all US states except New York, Maine, Massachusetts and Indiana. Krak publishes separate EEA and UK cards with different fees.

Tria is offered in 224 countries and territories and excludes 25.

Krak needs full KYC and Tria needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Krak does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Tria publishes a daily spending limit of $1,000,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.

Krak works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Tria works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Krak and Tria issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Krak scores 66/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Lead Bank. 2024-12-12: An Australian court ordered Bit Trade Pty Ltd, Kraken's Australian operator, to pay AUD 8 million after an ASIC action over a margin product offered without a target market determination. Krak says account balances are not a deposit account and are not FDIC- or SIPC-insured. Kraken, Krak's parent, publishes a proof of reserves; the latest is dated 30 June 2026.

Tria scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Tria's cards work as collateral-backed credit cards at 0% APR. Spending is secured by crypto in the user's own wallet, and a "Liquidation Event" sells collateral if charges go unpaid for one calendar day or the collateral value falls below the balance. International cards are issued by Nimbus, LLC, a Delaware company whose terms link to a privacy notice on legal.raincards.xyz. US cards are issued by "Third National". In Nigeria the card is marketed by BANEX Microfinance Bank, licensed by the Central Bank of Nigeria. Tria (Threely Dimensions, Inc.) says it "is not a bank, money services business, card issuer". No proof of reserves applies because Tria holds no customer assets. We found no official enforcement actions or incident reports.

Full reports: Krak safety check and Tria safety check.

About each card

Krak Card (US) is a custodial Visa card from Krak (Payward Interactive, Inc.). It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and ETH.

Tria Card (Global) is a self-custody Visa card from Nimbus, LLC (international cards); Third National (US cards). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH.

Which card fits you

Krak fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Tria fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You live outside the US and the handful of countries it excludes.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 6%).

Read more: Krak fees and details · Tria fees and details

Krak vs Tria: questions

Which is cheaper, Krak or Tria?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Tria leaves $5 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Krak and Tria in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Krak or Tria safer?
Krak scores higher on our safety check (66/100 against 60/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Krak or Tria?
Krak pays 0% to 2% and Tria pays 1.5% to 6%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Krak Card (US): fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Krak Card (US): availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Krak Card (US): cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Krak Card (US): safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Tria Card (Global): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Tria Card (Global): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Tria Card (Global): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Tria Card (Global): safety · checked September 28, 2026