Krak vs CL Card

Krak costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Krak leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $130.15 a year more at $500 a month, $274.15 a year more at $2,000 a month, $562.15 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Krak is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. CL Card is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Krak scores 66/100 (Good) and CL Card scores 64/100 (Good).
  • Overall, CL Card rates 43/100 against 36/100 for Krak, helped by its reach: it is offered in 37 countries and territories against 1 for Krak.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Krak · Starter≤ -$48
  • CL Card · Standard-$322.15

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureKrakCL Card
Countries offeredUnited States only37 countries (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSD, USDC, USDT, BTC, ETHBTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP, SOL
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed2%
FX markup1%0% (better)
ATM feeNo card fee€2.50
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical FreeVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback0% to 2%1% to 2% (better)
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score66/100 (better)64/100
Overall rating36/10043/100 (better)
Get the cardGet KrakGet CL Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendKrakCL Card
$500≤ -$12
Starter
-$142.15
Standard
$2,000≤ -$48
Starter
-$322.15
Standard
$5,000≤ -$120
Starter
-$682.15
Standard

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineKrak
Starter
CL Card
Standard
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed-$528
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$48$0
ATM feesNot disclosed-$34.15
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback$0+$240
Net per year-$48-$322.15

Fees

Krak charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. CL Card charges 2% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Krak no card fee; CL Card €2.50.

A virtual card costs nothing with Krak and nothing with CL Card. A physical card costs nothing and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Krak cashback: 0% to 2%. CL Card cashback: 1% to 2%.

Krak tiers: Starter: 0%; Lite: 0.5%; Pro: 1%; Elite: 1.5%; Max: 2%.

CL Card tiers: Standard: 1%; BXX rewards: 2%.

Krak: The cashback rate depends on your 30-day average assets held with Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro.

CL Card: Ledger's page says "1% cashback in BTC, USDC, or USDT" (BTC or USDC in the US, BTC or USDT elsewhere), claimed from the Loyalty program page. CL's own FAQ also offers 2% if you take the reward in Baanx's BXX token. Spending funded by the Cryptodraft credit line earns nothing. No spend or reward cap is published.

Availability and KYC

Krak is offered in one country, including United States. Available in all US states except New York, Maine, Massachusetts and Indiana. Krak publishes separate EEA and UK cards with different fees.

CL Card is offered in 37 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and Canada. Ledger says "The CL Card is currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil." This file uses the EU fee schedule. You do not need a Ledger device to get the card.

Krak needs full KYC and CL Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Krak does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

CL Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Krak works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and CL Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Krak and CL Card issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Krak scores 66/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Lead Bank. 2024-12-12: An Australian court ordered Bit Trade Pty Ltd, Kraken's Australian operator, to pay AUD 8 million after an ASIC action over a margin product offered without a target market determination. Krak says account balances are not a deposit account and are not FDIC- or SIPC-insured. Kraken, Krak's parent, publishes a proof of reserves; the latest is dated 30 June 2026.

CL Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through UAB Monavate. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Only money loaded to the card as e-money is safeguarded under e-money rules. Crypto deposited to the CL platform becomes Baanx's property, and Baanx's terms warn that "in the event that any of Us becomes insolvent ... You may not be able to have the full value of Your deposits restored". Baanx describes its crypto services as "not regulated financial services". We could not find a published proof-of-reserves report. We found no official enforcement actions against the card providers. Ledger's own past security incidents are not listed, because Ledger does not provide or hold funds for the card.

Full reports: Krak safety check and CL Card safety check.

About each card

Krak Card (US) is a custodial Visa card from Krak (Payward Interactive, Inc.). It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and ETH.

Ledger CL Card (Europe) is a custodial Visa card from Baanx (CL Card), card account by UAB Monavate. It tops up with BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP and SOL and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

Krak fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

CL Card fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.

Read more: Krak fees and details · CL Card fees and details

Krak vs CL Card: questions

Which is cheaper, Krak or CL Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Krak leaves $274.15 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Krak and CL Card in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Krak or CL Card safer?
Krak scores higher on our safety check (66/100 against 64/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Krak or CL Card?
Krak pays 0% to 2% and CL Card pays 1% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Krak Card (US): fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Krak Card (US): availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Krak Card (US): cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Krak Card (US): safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Ledger CL Card (Europe): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Ledger CL Card (Europe): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Ledger CL Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Ledger CL Card (Europe): safety · checked September 28, 2026