Coinbase Card vs Krak

Coinbase Card costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Coinbase Card leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $12 a year more at $500 a month, $48 a year more at $2,000 a month, $120 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Coinbase Card is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Krak is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Coinbase Card scores 75/100 (Good) and Krak scores 71/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Coinbase Card rates 40/100 against 38/100 for Krak.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Coinbase Card · Crypto rewards≤ $0
  • Krak · Starter≤ -$48

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureCoinbase CardKrak
Countries offeredUnited States onlyUnited States only
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDCUSD, USDC, USDT, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee0%Not disclosed
FX markupNot disclosed1%
ATM feeNo card feeNo card fee
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Not disclosed · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Free
CashbackVariable, not published0% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayNot listedApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score75/100 (better)71/100
Overall rating40/100 (better)38/100
Get the cardGet Coinbase CardGet Krak

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendCoinbase CardKrak
$500≤ $0
Crypto rewards
≤ -$12
Starter
$2,000≤ $0
Crypto rewards
≤ -$48
Starter
$5,000≤ $0
Crypto rewards
≤ -$120
Starter

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineCoinbase Card
Crypto rewards
Krak
Starter
Top-up and conversion fees$0Not disclosed
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markupNot disclosed-$48
ATM fees$0Not disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
CashbackNot disclosed$0
Net per year$0-$48

Fees

Coinbase Card charges 0% to convert or top up and Not disclosed on spending in a foreign currency. Krak charges Not disclosed and 1%.

ATM withdrawals: Coinbase Card no card fee; Krak no card fee.

A virtual card costs an undisclosed fee with Coinbase Card and nothing with Krak. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and nothing. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Coinbase Card cashback: Variable, not published. Krak cashback: 0% to 2%.

Coinbase Card tiers: Crypto rewards: rate not published.

Krak tiers: Starter: 0%; Lite: 0.5%; Pro: 1%; Elite: 1.5%; Max: 2%.

Coinbase Card: Rewards are paid in a crypto you choose from a rotating list. Coinbase describes the rate as variable and shows it only in the app.

Krak: The cashback rate depends on your 30-day average assets held with Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro.

Availability and KYC

Coinbase Card is offered in one country, including United States. Available in every US state except Hawaii.

Krak is offered in one country, including United States. Available in all US states except New York, Maine, Massachusetts and Indiana. Krak publishes separate EEA and UK cards with different fees.

Coinbase Card needs full KYC and Krak needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Coinbase Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Krak does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Coinbase Card does not list Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and Krak works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Krak issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Coinbase Card scores 75/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Pathward, N.A.. 2025-05-15: Overseas support staff bribed by criminals copied customer data for under 1% of monthly transacting users. Coinbase said no passwords, private keys or funds were exposed. The user agreement says customer digital assets are held for customers, are not property of Coinbase and are not subject to claims of Coinbase's creditors.

Krak scores 71/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Lead Bank. 2024-12-12: An Australian court ordered Bit Trade Pty Ltd, Kraken's Australian operator, to pay AUD 8 million after an ASIC action over a margin product offered without a target market determination. Krak says account balances are not a deposit account and are not FDIC- or SIPC-insured. Kraken, Krak's parent, publishes a proof of reserves; the latest is dated 30 June 2026.

Full reports: Coinbase Card safety check and Krak safety check.

About each card

Coinbase Card is a custodial Visa card from Coinbase. It tops up with USDC.

Krak Card (US) is a custodial Visa card from Krak (Payward Interactive, Inc.). It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and ETH.

Which card fits you

Coinbase Card fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Krak fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 2%).

Read more: Coinbase Card fees and details · Krak fees and details

Coinbase Card vs Krak: questions

Which is cheaper, Coinbase Card or Krak?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Coinbase Card leaves $48 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Coinbase Card and Krak in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Coinbase Card or Krak safer?
Coinbase Card scores higher on our safety check (75/100 against 71/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Coinbase Card or Krak?
Coinbase Card pays variable, not published and Krak pays 0% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Coinbase Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Coinbase Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Coinbase Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Coinbase Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Krak Card (US): fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. Krak Card (US): availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. Krak Card (US): cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. Krak Card (US): safety · checked September 24, 2026