Krak vs Avici

Krak costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Krak leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $27.60 a year more at $500 a month, $27.60 a year more at $2,000 a month, $27.60 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Krak is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Avici is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Krak scores 66/100 (Good) and Avici scores 67/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Avici rates 53/100 against 36/100 for Krak, helped by its reach: it is offered in 49 countries and territories against 1 for Krak.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Yearly cost at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month). A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees.

  • Krak · Starter≥ $48
  • Avici · Platinum$75.60

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureKrakAvici
Countries offeredUnited States only49 countries (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSD, USDC, USDT, BTC, ETHUSDC
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup1%1%
ATM feeNo card fee0.65% + $1
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical FreeVirtual $15 · Physical $50
Cashback0% to 2%None
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score66/10067/100 (better)
Overall rating36/10053/100 (better)
Get the cardGet KrakGet Avici

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendKrakAvici
$500≥ $12
Starter
$39.60
Platinum
$2,000≥ $48
Starter
$75.60
Platinum
$5,000≥ $120
Starter
$147.60
Platinum

Yearly cost: conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees minus cashback. A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineKrak
Starter
Avici
Platinum
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$48$48
ATM feesNot disclosed$27.60
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback-$0-$0
Yearly cost$48$75.60

Fees

Krak charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Avici charges 0% and 1%.

ATM withdrawals: Krak no card fee; Avici 0.65% + $1.

A virtual card costs nothing with Krak and $15 with Avici. A physical card costs nothing and $50. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Krak cashback: 0% to 2%. Avici cashback: None.

Krak tiers: Starter: 0%; Lite: 0.5%; Pro: 1%; Elite: 1.5%; Max: 2%.

Avici tiers: Platinum: 0%; Signature ($20 a year after year one): 0%.

Krak: The cashback rate depends on your 30-day average assets held with Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro.

Avici: No card cashback is published. Signature adds Visa Signature benefits (lounge access via Visa Airport Companion, rental car cover, purchase protection, travel insurance) but no free lounge visits yet. New users get a $5 welcome bonus ($8 through a referral). Referrers earn 2% of a friend's card spend for the friend's first 90 days.

Availability and KYC

Krak is offered in one country, including United States. Available in all US states except New York, Maine, Massachusetts and Indiana. Krak publishes separate EEA and UK cards with different fees.

Avici is offered in 49 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand and United Arab Emirates. Avici lists these regions for the card. In the US it is open in 31 states only (AL, AK, AR, CA, CO, CT, FL, HI, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, ME, MA, MI, MN, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NY, NC, OK, PA, SC, TX, UT, VA, WV, WY). The list has "Dominica Republica" and "Dominicana", read here as the Dominican Republic. Residents of Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam are barred, and Avici says unlisted places may also be restricted. The card cannot be used in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine or Venezuela. The card terms page also says "Non-US citizens only", which conflicts with the US state list.

Krak needs full KYC and Avici needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Krak does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Avici does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Krak works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Avici works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Krak and Avici issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Krak scores 66/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Lead Bank. 2024-12-12: An Australian court ordered Bit Trade Pty Ltd, Kraken's Australian operator, to pay AUD 8 million after an ASIC action over a margin product offered without a target market determination. Krak says account balances are not a deposit account and are not FDIC- or SIPC-insured. Kraken, Krak's parent, publishes a proof of reserves; the latest is dated 30 June 2026.

Avici scores 67/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Issuer Third National (Nimbus LLC dba Third National) is a licensed money transmitter in Puerto Rico, NMLS #2612780, licence TM-0207). The card is issued through Third National. 2026-08-28: An attacker exploited an outdated Rain card-collateral contract and drained about $500,859 from the card balances of 1,685 Avici users (about $1.1 million across several programs). Self-custodial wallets were not affected. Avici and Rain committed to refund every user in full and Rain upgraded the affected deployments. Avici filed an FBI IC3 report. Avici Inc is a Delaware company with a named San Francisco address and published terms, privacy policy and docs, and the app has been on the iOS App Store since 2023 (app id 6465962039). The card holds no user funds in Avici's own accounts, but card balances sit in a Rain contract that was exploited in August 2026. Card spend is settled with Visa roughly weekly by liquidating the spent USDC.

Full reports: Krak safety check and Avici safety check.

About each card

Krak Card (US) is a custodial Visa card from Krak (Payward Interactive, Inc.). It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and ETH.

Avici Card is a self-custody Visa card from Avici Inc. It tops up with USDC.

Which card fits you

Krak fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 2%).

Avici fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Krak fees and details · Avici fees and details

Krak vs Avici: questions

Which is cheaper, Krak or Avici?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Krak leaves $27.60 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Krak and Avici in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Krak or Avici safer?
Avici scores higher on our safety check (67/100 against 66/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Krak or Avici?
Krak pays 0% to 2% and Avici pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Krak Card (US): fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Krak Card (US): availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Krak Card (US): cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Krak Card (US): safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Avici Card: fees · checked September 29, 2026
  6. Avici Card: availability · checked September 29, 2026
  7. Avici Card: cashback · checked September 29, 2026
  8. Avici Card: safety · checked September 29, 2026