Krak vs ether.fi Cash

ether.fi Cash costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • ether.fi Cash leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $174 a year more at $500 a month, $696 a year more at $2,000 a month, $660 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Krak is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. ether.fi Cash is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Krak scores 71/100 (Good) and ether.fi Cash scores 60/100 (Good).
  • Overall, ether.fi Cash rates 75/100 against 38/100 for Krak, helped by its reach: it is offered in 91 countries and territories against 1 for Krak.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Krak · Starter≤ -$48
  • ether.fi Cash · Core≤ +$648

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureKrakether.fi Cash
Countries offeredUnited States only91 countries (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSD, USDC, USDT, BTC, ETHUSDC, ETH
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosedNot disclosed
FX markup1% (better)1.5%
ATM feeNo card feeNot disclosed
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical FreeVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback0% to 2%3% to 4% (better)
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score71/100 (better)60/100
Overall rating38/10075/100 (better)
Get the cardGet KrakGet ether.fi Cash

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendKrakether.fi Cash
$500≤ -$12
Starter
≤ +$162
Core
$2,000≤ -$48
Starter
≤ +$648
Core
$5,000≤ -$120
Starter
≤ +$540
Core

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineKrak
Starter
ether.fi Cash
Core
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Spending fees$0Not disclosed
Foreign exchange markup-$48-$72
ATM feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback$0+$720
Net per year-$48+$648

Fees

Krak charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. ether.fi Cash charges Not disclosed and 1.5%.

ATM withdrawals: Krak no card fee; ether.fi Cash not disclosed.

A virtual card costs nothing with Krak and nothing with ether.fi Cash. A physical card costs nothing and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Krak cashback: 0% to 2%. ether.fi Cash cashback: 3% to 4%.

Krak tiers: Starter: 0%; Lite: 0.5%; Pro: 1%; Elite: 1.5%; Max: 2%.

ether.fi Cash tiers: Core: 3% on the first $2,000 a month; Luxe: 3% on the first $10,000 a month; Pinnacle: 3% on the first $50,000 a month; VIP: 4% on the first $50,000 a month.

Krak: The cashback rate depends on your 30-day average assets held with Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro.

ether.fi Cash: Membership levels also add category cashback (10% to 30% on AI, streaming and food, capped monthly), travel discounts and account balance protection against smart contract exploits of $10,000 to $500,000, which is not deposit insurance.

Availability and KYC

Krak is offered in one country, including United States. Available in all US states except New York, Maine, Massachusetts and Indiana. Krak publishes separate EEA and UK cards with different fees.

ether.fi Cash is offered in 91 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia and Mexico. ether.fi lists these jurisdictions. In the US the card is available in 31 states and Washington D.C. only. Belgium and Ireland are eligible, but physical cards are not delivered there. In some countries (including Argentina, Indonesia, Mexico, Nigeria and the Philippines) the first virtual card costs $10.

Krak needs full KYC and ether.fi Cash needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Krak does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

ether.fi Cash publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $5,000 a day.

Krak works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and ether.fi Cash works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Krak issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Krak scores 71/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Lead Bank. 2024-12-12: An Australian court ordered Bit Trade Pty Ltd, Kraken's Australian operator, to pay AUD 8 million after an ASIC action over a margin product offered without a target market determination. Krak says account balances are not a deposit account and are not FDIC- or SIPC-insured. Kraken, Krak's parent, publishes a proof of reserves; the latest is dated 30 June 2026.

ether.fi Cash scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. ether.fi describes Cash as a non-custodial account. The ATM fee on Core is not published as a fixed figure.

Full reports: Krak safety check and ether.fi Cash safety check.

About each card

Krak Card (US) is a custodial Visa card from Krak (Payward Interactive, Inc.). It tops up with USD, USDC, USDT, BTC and ETH.

ether.fi Cash Card is a self-custody Visa card from ether.fi. It tops up with USDC and ETH.

Which card fits you

Krak fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

ether.fi Cash fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 4%).

Read more: Krak fees and details · ether.fi Cash fees and details

Krak vs ether.fi Cash: questions

Which is cheaper, Krak or ether.fi Cash?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, ether.fi Cash leaves $696 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Krak and ether.fi Cash in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Krak or ether.fi Cash safer?
Krak scores higher on our safety check (71/100 against 60/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Krak or ether.fi Cash?
Krak pays 0% to 2% and ether.fi Cash pays 3% to 4%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Krak Card (US): fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Krak Card (US): availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Krak Card (US): cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Krak Card (US): safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. ether.fi Cash Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. ether.fi Cash Card: availability · checked September 25, 2026
  7. ether.fi Cash Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. ether.fi Cash Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026