Coinbase Card vs Avici

Coinbase Card costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Coinbase Card leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $39.60 a year more at $500 a month, $75.60 a year more at $2,000 a month, $147.60 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Coinbase Card is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Avici is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Coinbase Card scores 75/100 (Good) and Avici scores 67/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Avici rates 53/100 against 40/100 for Coinbase Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 49 countries and territories against 1 for Coinbase Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Yearly cost at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month). A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees.

  • Coinbase Card · Crypto rewards≥ -$0
  • Avici · Platinum$75.60

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureCoinbase CardAvici
Countries offeredUnited States only49 countries (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDCUSDC
Top-up or conversion fee0%0%
FX markupNot disclosed1%
ATM feeNo card fee0.65% + $1
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Not disclosed · Physical Not disclosedVirtual $15 · Physical $50
CashbackVariable, not publishedNone
Apple Pay / Google PayNot listedApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score75/100 (better)67/100
Overall rating40/10053/100 (better)
Get the cardGet Coinbase CardGet Avici

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendCoinbase CardAvici
$500≥ -$0
Crypto rewards
$39.60
Platinum
$2,000≥ -$0
Crypto rewards
$75.60
Platinum
$5,000≥ -$0
Crypto rewards
$147.60
Platinum

Yearly cost: conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees minus cashback. A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineCoinbase Card
Crypto rewards
Avici
Platinum
Top-up and conversion fees$0$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markupNot disclosed$48
ATM fees$0$27.60
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
CashbackNot disclosed-$0
Yearly cost-$0$75.60

Fees

Coinbase Card charges 0% to convert or top up and Not disclosed on spending in a foreign currency. Avici charges 0% and 1%.

ATM withdrawals: Coinbase Card no card fee; Avici 0.65% + $1.

A virtual card costs an undisclosed fee with Coinbase Card and $15 with Avici. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and $50. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Coinbase Card cashback: Variable, not published. Avici cashback: None.

Coinbase Card tiers: Crypto rewards: rate not published.

Avici tiers: Platinum: 0%; Signature ($20 a year after year one): 0%.

Coinbase Card: Rewards are paid in a crypto you choose from a rotating list. Coinbase describes the rate as variable and shows it only in the app.

Avici: No card cashback is published. Signature adds Visa Signature benefits (lounge access via Visa Airport Companion, rental car cover, purchase protection, travel insurance) but no free lounge visits yet. New users get a $5 welcome bonus ($8 through a referral). Referrers earn 2% of a friend's card spend for the friend's first 90 days.

Availability and KYC

Coinbase Card is offered in one country, including United States. Available in every US state except Hawaii.

Avici is offered in 49 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand and United Arab Emirates. Avici lists these regions for the card. In the US it is open in 31 states only (AL, AK, AR, CA, CO, CT, FL, HI, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, ME, MA, MI, MN, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NY, NC, OK, PA, SC, TX, UT, VA, WV, WY). The list has "Dominica Republica" and "Dominicana", read here as the Dominican Republic. Residents of Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam are barred, and Avici says unlisted places may also be restricted. The card cannot be used in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine or Venezuela. The card terms page also says "Non-US citizens only", which conflicts with the US state list.

Coinbase Card needs full KYC and Avici needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Coinbase Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Avici does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Coinbase Card does not list Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and Avici works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Avici issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Coinbase Card scores 75/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Pathward, N.A.. 2025-05-15: Overseas support staff bribed by criminals copied customer data for under 1% of monthly transacting users. Coinbase said no passwords, private keys or funds were exposed. The user agreement says customer digital assets are held for customers, are not property of Coinbase and are not subject to claims of Coinbase's creditors.

Avici scores 67/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Issuer Third National (Nimbus LLC dba Third National) is a licensed money transmitter in Puerto Rico, NMLS #2612780, licence TM-0207). The card is issued through Third National. 2026-08-28: An attacker exploited an outdated Rain card-collateral contract and drained about $500,859 from the card balances of 1,685 Avici users (about $1.1 million across several programs). Self-custodial wallets were not affected. Avici and Rain committed to refund every user in full and Rain upgraded the affected deployments. Avici filed an FBI IC3 report. Avici Inc is a Delaware company with a named San Francisco address and published terms, privacy policy and docs, and the app has been on the iOS App Store since 2023 (app id 6465962039). The card holds no user funds in Avici's own accounts, but card balances sit in a Rain contract that was exploited in August 2026. Card spend is settled with Visa roughly weekly by liquidating the spent USDC.

Full reports: Coinbase Card safety check and Avici safety check.

About each card

Coinbase Card is a custodial Visa card from Coinbase. It tops up with USDC.

Avici Card is a self-custody Visa card from Avici Inc. It tops up with USDC.

Which card fits you

Coinbase Card fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Avici fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.

Read more: Coinbase Card fees and details · Avici fees and details

Coinbase Card vs Avici: questions

Which is cheaper, Coinbase Card or Avici?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Coinbase Card leaves $75.60 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Coinbase Card and Avici in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Coinbase Card or Avici safer?
Coinbase Card scores higher on our safety check (75/100 against 67/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Coinbase Card or Avici?
Coinbase Card pays variable, not published and Avici pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Coinbase Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Coinbase Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Coinbase Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Coinbase Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Avici Card: fees · checked September 29, 2026
  6. Avici Card: availability · checked September 29, 2026
  7. Avici Card: cashback · checked September 29, 2026
  8. Avici Card: safety · checked September 29, 2026