Avici vs Wirex

Wirex costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Wirex leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $69.60 a year more at $500 a month, $195.60 a year more at $2,000 a month, $447.60 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Avici is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Wirex is self-custody as well.
  • On our safety check, Avici scores 67/100 (Good) and Wirex scores 85/100 (Strong).
  • Overall, Wirex rates 68/100 against 53/100 for Avici, helped by its reach: it is offered in 73 countries and territories against 49 for Avici.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 9: Australia, United Arab Emirates, Philippines, Thailand, Malaysia, Brazil, Mexico and Argentina and others.

Yearly cost at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month). A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees.

  • Avici · Platinum$75.60
  • Wirex · Base≥ -$120

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureAviciWirex
Countries offered49 countries73 countries (better)
Card networkVisaMastercard
CustodySelf-custodySelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDCUSDC, USDT, EURC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee0%0%
FX markup1%0% (better)
ATM fee0.65% + $1No card fee
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual $15 · Physical $50Virtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
CashbackNone0.5% to 8% (better)
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayNot listed
Safety score67/10085/100 (better)
Overall rating53/10068/100 (better)
Get the cardGet AviciGet Wirex

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendAviciWirex
$500$39.60
Platinum
≥ -$30
Base
$2,000$75.60
Platinum
≥ -$120
Base
$5,000$147.60
Platinum
≥ -$300
Base

Yearly cost: conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees minus cashback. A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineAvici
Platinum
Wirex
Base
Top-up and conversion fees$0$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$48$0
ATM fees$27.60Not disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback-$0-$120
Yearly cost$75.60-$120

Fees

Avici charges 0% to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Wirex charges 0% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Avici 0.65% + $1; Wirex no card fee.

A virtual card costs $15 with Avici and nothing with Wirex. A physical card costs $50 and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Avici cashback: None. Wirex cashback: 0.5% to 8%.

Avici tiers: Platinum: 0%; Signature ($20 a year after year one): 0%.

Wirex tiers: Base: 0.5%; Premium: 1%; Elite: 3%; Private: 5%; Bespoke: 8%.

Avici: No card cashback is published. Signature adds Visa Signature benefits (lounge access via Visa Airport Companion, rental car cover, purchase protection, travel insurance) but no free lounge visits yet. New users get a $5 welcome bonus ($8 through a referral). Referrers earn 2% of a friend's card spend for the friend's first 90 days.

Wirex: Cashback is paid in USD, with no monthly cap and no subscription. Your tier depends on two things together, portfolio value and the share of it held in the $WPAY token. It is recalculated daily, and a downgrade waits 24 hours. Users moved from X-tras plans keep legacy rates (Base 1%, Premium 3%, Elite 8%) for about 3 months.

Availability and KYC

Avici is offered in 49 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand and United Arab Emirates. Avici lists these regions for the card. In the US it is open in 31 states only (AL, AK, AR, CA, CO, CT, FL, HI, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, ME, MA, MI, MN, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NY, NC, OK, PA, SC, TX, UT, VA, WV, WY). The list has "Dominica Republica" and "Dominicana", read here as the Dominican Republic. Residents of Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam are barred, and Avici says unlisted places may also be restricted. The card cannot be used in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine or Venezuela. The card terms page also says "Non-US citizens only", which conflicts with the US state list.

Wirex is offered in 73 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, Australia and Malaysia. In 2026 Wirex moved its consumer app to Wirex One, a self-custodial wallet (keys held through Privy) with fiat accounts and the card as regulated add-ons. The old Wirex app becomes read-only once an account moves over. The card issuer depends on region (see issuer), but fees and rewards are the same everywhere. You can receive crypto without verification; the card needs KYC.

Avici needs full KYC and Wirex needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Avici does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Wirex publishes a daily spending limit of €30,000, a monthly limit of €30,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €750 a day.

Avici works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Wirex does not list either. Avici issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Avici scores 67/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Issuer Third National (Nimbus LLC dba Third National) is a licensed money transmitter in Puerto Rico, NMLS #2612780, licence TM-0207). The card is issued through Third National. 2026-08-28: An attacker exploited an outdated Rain card-collateral contract and drained about $500,859 from the card balances of 1,685 Avici users (about $1.1 million across several programs). Self-custodial wallets were not affected. Avici and Rain committed to refund every user in full and Rain upgraded the affected deployments. Avici filed an FBI IC3 report. Avici Inc is a Delaware company with a named San Francisco address and published terms, privacy policy and docs, and the app has been on the iOS App Store since 2023 (app id 6465962039). The card holds no user funds in Avici's own accounts, but card balances sit in a Rain contract that was exploited in August 2026. Card spend is settled with Visa roughly weekly by liquidating the spent USDC.

Wirex scores 85/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Card spending draws on assets in the user's self-custodial wallet. Fiat IBAN balances are a regulated service run through third-party providers. We found no official enforcement action or hack for 2024 to 2026. The H1 2026 Transparency Report covers financial-crime metrics, not reserves.

Full reports: Avici safety check and Wirex safety check.

About each card

Avici Card is a self-custody Visa card from Avici Inc. It tops up with USDC.

Wirex One Card is a self-custody Mastercard from UAB Wirex (Lithuania), part of the Wirex Group. It tops up with USDC, USDT, EURC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

Avici fits if

  • Its fees and availability match your situation better on the table above.

Wirex fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 8%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Avici fees and details · Wirex fees and details

Avici vs Wirex: questions

Which is cheaper, Avici or Wirex?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Wirex leaves $195.60 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Avici and Wirex in the same country?
Yes, in 9 of the 25 countries we track, including Australia, United Arab Emirates, Philippines, Thailand and Malaysia.
Is Avici or Wirex safer?
Wirex scores higher on our safety check (85/100 against 67/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Avici or Wirex?
Avici pays none and Wirex pays 0.5% to 8%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Avici Card: fees · checked September 29, 2026
  2. Avici Card: availability · checked September 29, 2026
  3. Avici Card: cashback · checked September 29, 2026
  4. Avici Card: safety · checked September 29, 2026
  5. Wirex One Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Wirex One Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Wirex One Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Wirex One Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026