ether.fi Cash vs Avici

ether.fi Cash costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • ether.fi Cash leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $201.60 a year more at $500 a month, $723.60 a year more at $2,000 a month, $687.60 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • ether.fi Cash is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Avici is self-custody as well.
  • On our safety check, ether.fi Cash scores 60/100 (Good) and Avici scores 67/100 (Good).
  • Overall, ether.fi Cash rates 75/100 against 53/100 for Avici, helped by its reach: it is offered in 91 countries and territories against 49 for Avici.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 11: United States, Australia, Singapore, United Arab Emirates, Philippines, Thailand, Malaysia and Brazil and others.

Yearly cost at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month). A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees.

  • ether.fi Cash · Core≥ -$648
  • Avici · Platinum$75.60

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
Featureether.fi CashAvici
Countries offered91 countries (better)49 countries
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodySelf-custodySelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, ETHUSDC
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup1.5%1% (better)
ATM feeNot disclosed0.65% + $1
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual $15 · Physical $50
Cashback3% to 4% (better)None
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score60/10067/100 (better)
Overall rating75/100 (better)53/100
Get the cardGet ether.fi CashGet Avici

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendether.fi CashAvici
$500≥ -$162
Core
$39.60
Platinum
$2,000≥ -$648
Core
$75.60
Platinum
$5,000≥ -$540
Core
$147.60
Platinum

Yearly cost: conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees minus cashback. A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

Lineether.fi Cash
Core
Avici
Platinum
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending feesNot disclosed$0
Foreign exchange markup$72$48
ATM feesNot disclosed$27.60
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback-$720-$0
Yearly cost-$648$75.60

Fees

ether.fi Cash charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1.5% on spending in a foreign currency. Avici charges 0% and 1%.

ATM withdrawals: ether.fi Cash not disclosed; Avici 0.65% + $1.

A virtual card costs nothing with ether.fi Cash and $15 with Avici. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and $50. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

ether.fi Cash cashback: 3% to 4%. Avici cashback: None.

ether.fi Cash tiers: Core: 3% on the first $2,000 a month; Luxe: 3% on the first $10,000 a month; Pinnacle: 3% on the first $50,000 a month; VIP: 4% on the first $50,000 a month.

Avici tiers: Platinum: 0%; Signature ($20 a year after year one): 0%.

ether.fi Cash: Membership levels also add category cashback (10% to 30% on AI, streaming and food, capped monthly), travel discounts and account balance protection against smart contract exploits of $10,000 to $500,000, which is not deposit insurance.

Avici: No card cashback is published. Signature adds Visa Signature benefits (lounge access via Visa Airport Companion, rental car cover, purchase protection, travel insurance) but no free lounge visits yet. New users get a $5 welcome bonus ($8 through a referral). Referrers earn 2% of a friend's card spend for the friend's first 90 days.

Availability and KYC

ether.fi Cash is offered in 91 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia and Mexico. ether.fi lists these jurisdictions. In the US the card is available in 31 states and Washington D.C. only. Belgium and Ireland are eligible, but physical cards are not delivered there. In some countries (including Argentina, Indonesia, Mexico, Nigeria and the Philippines) the first virtual card costs $10.

Avici is offered in 49 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand and United Arab Emirates. Avici lists these regions for the card. In the US it is open in 31 states only (AL, AK, AR, CA, CO, CT, FL, HI, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, ME, MA, MI, MN, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NY, NC, OK, PA, SC, TX, UT, VA, WV, WY). The list has "Dominica Republica" and "Dominicana", read here as the Dominican Republic. Residents of Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam are barred, and Avici says unlisted places may also be restricted. The card cannot be used in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine or Venezuela. The card terms page also says "Non-US citizens only", which conflicts with the US state list.

ether.fi Cash needs full KYC and Avici needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

ether.fi Cash publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $5,000 a day.

Avici does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

ether.fi Cash works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Avici works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Avici issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

ether.fi Cash scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. ether.fi describes Cash as a non-custodial account. The ATM fee on Core is not published as a fixed figure.

Avici scores 67/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Issuer Third National (Nimbus LLC dba Third National) is a licensed money transmitter in Puerto Rico, NMLS #2612780, licence TM-0207). The card is issued through Third National. 2026-08-28: An attacker exploited an outdated Rain card-collateral contract and drained about $500,859 from the card balances of 1,685 Avici users (about $1.1 million across several programs). Self-custodial wallets were not affected. Avici and Rain committed to refund every user in full and Rain upgraded the affected deployments. Avici filed an FBI IC3 report. Avici Inc is a Delaware company with a named San Francisco address and published terms, privacy policy and docs, and the app has been on the iOS App Store since 2023 (app id 6465962039). The card holds no user funds in Avici's own accounts, but card balances sit in a Rain contract that was exploited in August 2026. Card spend is settled with Visa roughly weekly by liquidating the spent USDC.

Full reports: ether.fi Cash safety check and Avici safety check.

About each card

ether.fi Cash Card is a self-custody Visa card from ether.fi. It tops up with USDC and ETH.

Avici Card is a self-custody Visa card from Avici Inc. It tops up with USDC.

Which card fits you

ether.fi Cash fits if

  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 4%).

Avici fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: ether.fi Cash fees and details · Avici fees and details

ether.fi Cash vs Avici: questions

Which is cheaper, ether.fi Cash or Avici?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, ether.fi Cash leaves $723.60 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use ether.fi Cash and Avici in the same country?
Yes, in 11 of the 25 countries we track, including United States, Australia, Singapore, United Arab Emirates and Philippines.
Is ether.fi Cash or Avici safer?
Avici scores higher on our safety check (67/100 against 60/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, ether.fi Cash or Avici?
ether.fi Cash pays 3% to 4% and Avici pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. ether.fi Cash Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. ether.fi Cash Card: availability · checked September 25, 2026
  3. ether.fi Cash Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. ether.fi Cash Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Avici Card: fees · checked September 29, 2026
  6. Avici Card: availability · checked September 29, 2026
  7. Avici Card: cashback · checked September 29, 2026
  8. Avici Card: safety · checked September 29, 2026