Avici vs Nexo

The cheaper card changes with your spending. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • At $500 a month, Nexo comes out $15.60 a year ahead. At $2,000 a month, Avici comes out $20.40 a year ahead. At $5,000 a month, Avici comes out $92.40 a year ahead.
  • Avici is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Nexo is custodial.
  • On our safety check, Avici scores 67/100 (Good) and Nexo scores 63/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Avici rates 53/100 against 48/100 for Nexo, helped by its reach: it is offered in 49 countries and territories against 33 for Nexo.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: Argentina.

Yearly cost at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month). A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees.

  • Avici · Platinum$75.60
  • Nexo · Debit Mode or under $5,000≥ $96

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureAviciNexo
Countries offered49 countries (better)33 countries
Card networkVisaMastercard
CustodySelf-custodyCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDCUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee0%Not disclosed
FX markup1% (better)2%
ATM fee0.65% + $12% + €1.99 after €200 free a month
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual $15 · Physical $50Virtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
CashbackNone0% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score67/100 (better)63/100
Overall rating53/100 (better)48/100
Get the cardGet AviciGet Nexo

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendAviciNexo
$500$39.60
Platinum
≥ $24
Debit Mode or under $5,000
$2,000$75.60
Platinum
≥ $96
Debit Mode or under $5,000
$5,000$147.60
Platinum
≥ $240
Debit Mode or under $5,000

Yearly cost: conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees minus cashback. A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineAvici
Platinum
Nexo
Debit Mode or under $5,000
Top-up and conversion fees$0Not disclosed
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$48$96
ATM fees$27.60$0
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback-$0-$0
Yearly cost$75.60$96

Fees

Avici charges 0% to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Nexo charges Not disclosed and 2%.

ATM withdrawals: Avici 0.65% + $1; Nexo 2% + €1.99 after €200 free a month.

A virtual card costs $15 with Avici and nothing with Nexo. A physical card costs $50 and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Avici cashback: None. Nexo cashback: 0% to 2%.

Avici tiers: Platinum: 0%; Signature ($20 a year after year one): 0%.

Nexo tiers: Debit Mode or under $5,000: 0%; Base: 0.5%, capped at $50 a month; Silver: 0.7%, capped at $100 a month; Gold: 1%, capped at $150 a month; Platinum: 2%, capped at $200 a month.

Avici: No card cashback is published. Signature adds Visa Signature benefits (lounge access via Visa Airport Companion, rental car cover, purchase protection, travel insurance) but no free lounge visits yet. New users get a $5 welcome bonus ($8 through a referral). Referrers earn 2% of a friend's card spend for the friend's first 90 days.

Nexo: Cashback applies only to Credit Mode purchases (spending borrowed against your crypto), never to Debit Mode. You need a portfolio of at least $5,000, and your Loyalty tier is set by the share of NEXO Tokens in your portfolio (Silver 1%, Gold 5%, Platinum 10%). Rates shown are for NEXO Token payouts; choosing BTC pays 0.1% to 0.5%. Monthly reward caps reset on the 1st.

Availability and KYC

Avici is offered in 49 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand and United Arab Emirates. Avici lists these regions for the card. In the US it is open in 31 states only (AL, AK, AR, CA, CO, CT, FL, HI, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, ME, MA, MI, MN, MT, NE, NH, NJ, NY, NC, OK, PA, SC, TX, UT, VA, WV, WY). The list has "Dominica Republica" and "Dominicana", read here as the Dominican Republic. Residents of Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam are barred, and Avici says unlisted places may also be restricted. The card cannot be used in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine or Venezuela. The card terms page also says "Non-US citizens only", which conflicts with the US state list.

Nexo is offered in 33 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom and Argentina. Nexo lists the EEA, Andorra, Monaco, the UK and Argentina "and other selected jurisdictions", so the list is not complete; the app's Check eligibility screen is final. Bulgaria is excluded because Nexo says its services are unavailable there. Personal accounts only. The card can be issued in EUR, GBP or USD. The DiPocket card terms cover EEA and UK residents only; the issuer for Argentina is not published.

Avici needs full KYC and Nexo needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Avici does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Nexo publishes a daily spending limit of €70,000, a monthly limit of €300,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €2,000 a day.

Avici works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Nexo works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Avici and Nexo issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Avici scores 67/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Issuer Third National (Nimbus LLC dba Third National) is a licensed money transmitter in Puerto Rico, NMLS #2612780, licence TM-0207). The card is issued through Third National. 2026-08-28: An attacker exploited an outdated Rain card-collateral contract and drained about $500,859 from the card balances of 1,685 Avici users (about $1.1 million across several programs). Self-custodial wallets were not affected. Avici and Rain committed to refund every user in full and Rain upgraded the affected deployments. Avici filed an FBI IC3 report. Avici Inc is a Delaware company with a named San Francisco address and published terms, privacy policy and docs, and the app has been on the iOS App Store since 2023 (app id 6465962039). The card holds no user funds in Avici's own accounts, but card balances sit in a Rain contract that was exploited in August 2026. Card spend is settled with Visa roughly weekly by liquidating the spent USDC.

Nexo scores 63/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through DiPocket UAB. 2023-01-19: Nexo Capital Inc. agreed to pay a $22.5 million SEC penalty, plus $22.5 million to US state regulators, over its unregistered Earn Interest Product. 2026-01-14: California's DFPI fined Nexo Capital Inc. $500,000 for making loans to California residents without a lender licence and without checking their ability to repay. Card funds are not stored with DiPocket; Nexo settles each card transaction, and the card terms say DiPocket "does not issue electronic money to you". Nexo's real-time reserves attestation (Armanino from 2021, Moore Johannesburg from April 2023) no longer has a live page, and we found no dated reserves report for 2025 or 2026.

Full reports: Avici safety check and Nexo safety check.

About each card

Avici Card is a self-custody Visa card from Avici Inc. It tops up with USDC.

Nexo Card is a custodial Mastercard from Nexo Services Sp. z o.o. (Poland). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

Avici fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Nexo fits if

  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 2%).

Read more: Avici fees and details · Nexo fees and details

Avici vs Nexo: questions

Which is cheaper, Avici or Nexo?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Avici leaves $20.40 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Avici and Nexo in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including Argentina.
Is Avici or Nexo safer?
Avici scores higher on our safety check (67/100 against 63/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Avici or Nexo?
Avici pays none and Nexo pays 0% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Avici Card: fees · checked September 29, 2026
  2. Avici Card: availability · checked September 29, 2026
  3. Avici Card: cashback · checked September 29, 2026
  4. Avici Card: safety · checked September 29, 2026
  5. Nexo Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Nexo Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Nexo Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Nexo Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026