Coinbase Card vs Tria

Coinbase Card costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Coinbase Card leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $43 a year more at $500 a month, $43 a year more at $2,000 a month, $43 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Coinbase Card is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Tria is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Coinbase Card scores 75/100 (Good) and Tria scores 60/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Tria rates 72/100 against 40/100 for Coinbase Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 224 countries and territories against 1 for Coinbase Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Coinbase Card · Crypto rewards≤ $0
  • Tria · Virtual-$43

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureCoinbase CardTria
Countries offeredUnited States only224 countries and territories (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDCUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee0%0%
FX markupNot disclosed0%
ATM feeNo card fee1% + $1
Annual fee (base tier)Free (better)$25
Card issuanceVirtual Not disclosed · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Free
CashbackVariable, not published1.5% to 6%
Apple Pay / Google PayNot listedApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score75/100 (better)60/100
Overall rating40/10072/100 (better)
Get the cardGet Coinbase CardGet Tria

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendCoinbase CardTria
$500≤ $0
Crypto rewards
-$43
Virtual
$2,000≤ $0
Crypto rewards
-$43
Virtual
$5,000≤ $0
Crypto rewards
-$43
Virtual

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineCoinbase Card
Crypto rewards
Tria
Virtual
Top-up and conversion fees$0$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markupNot disclosed$0
ATM fees$0-$36
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0-$25
CashbackNot disclosed+$18
Net per year$0-$43

Fees

Coinbase Card charges 0% to convert or top up and Not disclosed on spending in a foreign currency. Tria charges 0% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Coinbase Card no card fee; Tria 1% + $1.

A virtual card costs an undisclosed fee with Coinbase Card and nothing with Tria. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and nothing.

Cashback and rewards

Coinbase Card cashback: Variable, not published. Tria cashback: 1.5% to 6%.

Coinbase Card tiers: Crypto rewards: rate not published.

Tria tiers: Virtual: 1.5% on the first $100 a month; Signature plastic ($109 a year): 4.5% on the first $1,000 a month; Premium metal ($250 a year): 6% on the first $2,000 a month.

Coinbase Card: Rewards are paid in a crypto you choose from a rotating list. Coinbase describes the rate as variable and shows it only in the app.

Tria: Paid in USDT on Arbitrum in periodic batches, with a waiting period of up to 90 days. Above the monthly spend cap the rate drops to 0.5% on the virtual tier and 1% on plastic and metal, which this model does not capture. An active staking badge adds a boost within the cap. Cash withdrawals, transfers, wallet funding, gambling and vouchers earn nothing. The plastic and metal subscriptions below are the extra cost over the $25 virtual membership ($109 and $250 a year in total). Season 3 rates apply from 1 June 2026.

Availability and KYC

Coinbase Card is offered in one country, including United States. Available in every US state except Hawaii.

Tria is offered in 224 countries and territories and excludes 25.

Coinbase Card needs full KYC and Tria needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Coinbase Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Tria publishes a daily spending limit of $1,000,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.

Coinbase Card does not list Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and Tria works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Tria issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Coinbase Card scores 75/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Pathward, N.A.. 2025-05-15: Overseas support staff bribed by criminals copied customer data for under 1% of monthly transacting users. Coinbase said no passwords, private keys or funds were exposed. The user agreement says customer digital assets are held for customers, are not property of Coinbase and are not subject to claims of Coinbase's creditors.

Tria scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Tria's cards work as collateral-backed credit cards at 0% APR. Spending is secured by crypto in the user's own wallet, and a "Liquidation Event" sells collateral if charges go unpaid for one calendar day or the collateral value falls below the balance. International cards are issued by Nimbus, LLC, a Delaware company whose terms link to a privacy notice on legal.raincards.xyz. US cards are issued by "Third National". In Nigeria the card is marketed by BANEX Microfinance Bank, licensed by the Central Bank of Nigeria. Tria (Threely Dimensions, Inc.) says it "is not a bank, money services business, card issuer". No proof of reserves applies because Tria holds no customer assets. We found no official enforcement actions or incident reports.

Full reports: Coinbase Card safety check and Tria safety check.

About each card

Coinbase Card is a custodial Visa card from Coinbase. It tops up with USDC.

Tria Card (Global) is a self-custody Visa card from Nimbus, LLC (international cards); Third National (US cards). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH.

Which card fits you

Coinbase Card fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Tria fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You live outside the US and the handful of countries it excludes.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 6%).

Read more: Coinbase Card fees and details · Tria fees and details

Coinbase Card vs Tria: questions

Which is cheaper, Coinbase Card or Tria?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Coinbase Card leaves $43 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Coinbase Card and Tria in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Coinbase Card or Tria safer?
Coinbase Card scores higher on our safety check (75/100 against 60/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Coinbase Card or Tria?
Coinbase Card pays variable, not published and Tria pays 1.5% to 6%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Coinbase Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Coinbase Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Coinbase Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Coinbase Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Tria Card (Global): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Tria Card (Global): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Tria Card (Global): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Tria Card (Global): safety · checked September 28, 2026