Yearly cost at three spending levels
| Monthly spend | Nexo | Tria |
|---|---|---|
| $500 | ≤ -$24 Debit Mode or under $5,000 | -$43 Virtual |
| $2,000 | ≤ -$96 Debit Mode or under $5,000 | -$43 Virtual |
| $5,000 | ≤ -$240 Debit Mode or under $5,000 | -$43 Virtual |
Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.
Where the money goes at $2,000 a month
| Line | Nexo Debit Mode or under $5,000 | Tria Virtual |
|---|---|---|
| Top-up and conversion fees | Not disclosed | $0 |
| Spending fees | $0 | $0 |
| Foreign exchange markup | -$96 | $0 |
| ATM fees | $0 | -$36 |
| Annual, monthly and subscription fees | $0 | -$25 |
| Cashback | $0 | +$18 |
| Net per year | -$96 | -$43 |
Fees
Nexo charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 2% on spending in a foreign currency. Tria charges 0% and 0%.
ATM withdrawals: Nexo 2% + €1.99 after €200 free a month; Tria 1% + $1.
A virtual card costs nothing with Nexo and nothing with Tria. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and nothing.
Cashback and rewards
Nexo cashback: 0% to 2%. Tria cashback: 1.5% to 6%.
Nexo tiers: Debit Mode or under $5,000: 0%; Base: 0.5%, capped at $50 a month; Silver: 0.7%, capped at $100 a month; Gold: 1%, capped at $150 a month; Platinum: 2%, capped at $200 a month.
Tria tiers: Virtual: 1.5% on the first $100 a month; Signature plastic ($109 a year): 4.5% on the first $1,000 a month; Premium metal ($250 a year): 6% on the first $2,000 a month.
Nexo: Cashback applies only to Credit Mode purchases (spending borrowed against your crypto), never to Debit Mode. You need a portfolio of at least $5,000, and your Loyalty tier is set by the share of NEXO Tokens in your portfolio (Silver 1%, Gold 5%, Platinum 10%). Rates shown are for NEXO Token payouts; choosing BTC pays 0.1% to 0.5%. Monthly reward caps reset on the 1st.
Tria: Paid in USDT on Arbitrum in periodic batches, with a waiting period of up to 90 days. Above the monthly spend cap the rate drops to 0.5% on the virtual tier and 1% on plastic and metal, which this model does not capture. An active staking badge adds a boost within the cap. Cash withdrawals, transfers, wallet funding, gambling and vouchers earn nothing. The plastic and metal subscriptions below are the extra cost over the $25 virtual membership ($109 and $250 a year in total). Season 3 rates apply from 1 June 2026.
Availability and KYC
Nexo is offered in 33 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom and Argentina. Nexo lists the EEA, Andorra, Monaco, the UK and Argentina "and other selected jurisdictions", so the list is not complete; the app's Check eligibility screen is final. Bulgaria is excluded because Nexo says its services are unavailable there. Personal accounts only. The card can be issued in EUR, GBP or USD. The DiPocket card terms cover EEA and UK residents only; the issuer for Argentina is not published.
Tria is offered in 224 countries and territories and excludes 25.
Nexo needs full KYC and Tria needs full KYC.
The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.
Limits, wallets and card types
Nexo publishes a daily spending limit of €70,000, a monthly limit of €300,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €2,000 a day.
Tria publishes a daily spending limit of $1,000,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.
Nexo works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Tria works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Nexo and Tria issue a virtual card you can use straight away.
Custody and safety
Nexo scores 63/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through DiPocket UAB. 2023-01-19: Nexo Capital Inc. agreed to pay a $22.5 million SEC penalty, plus $22.5 million to US state regulators, over its unregistered Earn Interest Product. 2026-01-14: California's DFPI fined Nexo Capital Inc. $500,000 for making loans to California residents without a lender licence and without checking their ability to repay. Card funds are not stored with DiPocket; Nexo settles each card transaction, and the card terms say DiPocket "does not issue electronic money to you". Nexo's real-time reserves attestation (Armanino from 2021, Moore Johannesburg from April 2023) no longer has a live page, and we found no dated reserves report for 2025 or 2026.
Tria scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Tria's cards work as collateral-backed credit cards at 0% APR. Spending is secured by crypto in the user's own wallet, and a "Liquidation Event" sells collateral if charges go unpaid for one calendar day or the collateral value falls below the balance. International cards are issued by Nimbus, LLC, a Delaware company whose terms link to a privacy notice on legal.raincards.xyz. US cards are issued by "Third National". In Nigeria the card is marketed by BANEX Microfinance Bank, licensed by the Central Bank of Nigeria. Tria (Threely Dimensions, Inc.) says it "is not a bank, money services business, card issuer". No proof of reserves applies because Tria holds no customer assets. We found no official enforcement actions or incident reports.
Full reports: Nexo safety check and Tria safety check.
About each card
Nexo Card is a custodial Mastercard from Nexo Services Sp. z o.o. (Poland). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.
Tria Card (Global) is a self-custody Visa card from Nimbus, LLC (international cards); Third National (US cards). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH.
Which card fits you
Nexo fits if
- You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.
Tria fits if
- You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
- You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
- Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
- You live outside the US and the handful of countries it excludes.
- You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 6%).
Read more: Nexo fees and details · Tria fees and details