Bitpanda vs Tria

Bitpanda costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Bitpanda leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $103 a year more at $500 a month, $283 a year more at $2,000 a month, $643 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Bitpanda is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Tria is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Bitpanda scores 68/100 (Good) and Tria scores 60/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Tria rates 72/100 against 54/100 for Bitpanda, helped by its reach: it is offered in 224 countries and territories against 21 for Bitpanda.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 7: Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Ireland.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Bitpanda · Standard≤ +$240
  • Tria · Virtual-$43

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureBitpandaTria
Countries offered21 countries224 countries and territories (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsEUR, BTC, ETH, USDCUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup0%0%
ATM fee2%1% + $1
Annual fee (base tier)Free (better)$25
Card issuanceVirtual Not disclosed · Physical FreeVirtual Free · Physical Free
Cashback1%1.5% to 6% (better)
Apple Pay / Google PayApple PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score68/100 (better)60/100
Overall rating54/10072/100 (better)
Get the cardGet BitpandaGet Tria

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendBitpandaTria
$500≤ +$60
Standard
-$43
Virtual
$2,000≤ +$240
Standard
-$43
Virtual
$5,000≤ +$600
Standard
-$43
Virtual

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineBitpanda
Standard
Tria
Virtual
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$0$0
ATM feesNot disclosed-$36
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0-$25
Cashback+$240+$18
Net per year+$240-$43

Fees

Bitpanda charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 0% on spending in a foreign currency. Tria charges 0% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Bitpanda 2%; Tria 1% + $1.

A virtual card costs an undisclosed fee with Bitpanda and nothing with Tria. A physical card costs nothing and nothing.

Cashback and rewards

Bitpanda cashback: 1%. Tria cashback: 1.5% to 6%.

Bitpanda tiers: Standard: 1%.

Tria tiers: Virtual: 1.5% on the first $100 a month; Signature plastic ($109 a year): 4.5% on the first $1,000 a month; Premium metal ($250 a year): 6% on the first $2,000 a month.

Bitpanda: Cashback applies only when a crypto asset is the payment asset. Payments from EUR, stablecoins, stocks or metals earn none. ATM withdrawals cost at least €2.

Tria: Paid in USDT on Arbitrum in periodic batches, with a waiting period of up to 90 days. Above the monthly spend cap the rate drops to 0.5% on the virtual tier and 1% on plastic and metal, which this model does not capture. An active staking badge adds a boost within the cap. Cash withdrawals, transfers, wallet funding, gambling and vouchers earn nothing. The plastic and metal subscriptions below are the extra cost over the $25 virtual membership ($109 and $250 a year in total). Season 3 rates apply from 1 June 2026.

Availability and KYC

Bitpanda is offered in 21 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. Bitpanda says you must live in a country in the euro area. Its fee table also lists Swedish, Norwegian and Danish krone versions of the card.

Tria is offered in 224 countries and territories and excludes 25.

Bitpanda needs full KYC and Tria needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Bitpanda publishes ATM withdrawals of up to €500 a day.

Tria publishes a daily spending limit of $1,000,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.

Bitpanda works with Apple Pay, and Tria works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Tria issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Bitpanda scores 68/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. 2026-08-14: Austria's FMA fined Bitpanda GmbH €70,000 for breaches of MiCA white paper and marketing rules. The case did not involve customer funds. Bitpanda's custody policy says client crypto-assets are held as trustee, operationally and legally segregated from Bitpanda's own assets.

Tria scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Tria's cards work as collateral-backed credit cards at 0% APR. Spending is secured by crypto in the user's own wallet, and a "Liquidation Event" sells collateral if charges go unpaid for one calendar day or the collateral value falls below the balance. International cards are issued by Nimbus, LLC, a Delaware company whose terms link to a privacy notice on legal.raincards.xyz. US cards are issued by "Third National". In Nigeria the card is marketed by BANEX Microfinance Bank, licensed by the Central Bank of Nigeria. Tria (Threely Dimensions, Inc.) says it "is not a bank, money services business, card issuer". No proof of reserves applies because Tria holds no customer assets. We found no official enforcement actions or incident reports.

Full reports: Bitpanda safety check and Tria safety check.

About each card

Bitpanda Card is a custodial Visa card from Bitpanda (card issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited). It tops up with EUR, BTC, ETH and USDC and its balance is held in EUR.

Tria Card (Global) is a self-custody Visa card from Nimbus, LLC (international cards); Third National (US cards). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH.

Which card fits you

Bitpanda fits if

  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Tria fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You live outside the US and the handful of countries it excludes.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 6%).

Read more: Bitpanda fees and details · Tria fees and details

Bitpanda vs Tria: questions

Which is cheaper, Bitpanda or Tria?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Bitpanda leaves $283 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Bitpanda and Tria in the same country?
Yes, in 7 of the 25 countries we track, including Germany, France, Spain, Italy and Netherlands.
Is Bitpanda or Tria safer?
Bitpanda scores higher on our safety check (68/100 against 60/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Bitpanda or Tria?
Bitpanda pays 1% and Tria pays 1.5% to 6%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Bitpanda Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Bitpanda Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Bitpanda Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Bitpanda Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Tria Card (Global): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Tria Card (Global): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Tria Card (Global): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Tria Card (Global): safety · checked September 28, 2026