ether.fi Cash vs Tria

ether.fi Cash costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • ether.fi Cash leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $205 a year more at $500 a month, $691 a year more at $2,000 a month, $583 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • ether.fi Cash is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Tria is self-custody as well.
  • On our safety check, ether.fi Cash scores 60/100 (Good) and Tria scores 60/100 (Good).
  • Overall, ether.fi Cash rates 75/100 against 72/100 for Tria.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 21: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Portugal and Ireland and others.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • ether.fi Cash · Core≤ +$648
  • Tria · Virtual-$43

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
Featureether.fi CashTria
Countries offered91 countries224 countries and territories (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodySelf-custodySelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, ETHUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup1.5%0% (better)
ATM feeNot disclosed1% + $1
Annual fee (base tier)Free (better)$25
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Free
Cashback3% to 4% (better)1.5% to 6%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score60/10060/100
Overall rating75/100 (better)72/100
Get the cardGet ether.fi CashGet Tria

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendether.fi CashTria
$500≤ +$162
Core
-$43
Virtual
$2,000≤ +$648
Core
-$43
Virtual
$5,000≤ +$540
Core
-$43
Virtual

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

Lineether.fi Cash
Core
Tria
Virtual
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending feesNot disclosed$0
Foreign exchange markup-$72$0
ATM feesNot disclosed-$36
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0-$25
Cashback+$720+$18
Net per year+$648-$43

Fees

ether.fi Cash charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1.5% on spending in a foreign currency. Tria charges 0% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: ether.fi Cash not disclosed; Tria 1% + $1.

A virtual card costs nothing with ether.fi Cash and nothing with Tria. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and nothing.

Cashback and rewards

ether.fi Cash cashback: 3% to 4%. Tria cashback: 1.5% to 6%.

ether.fi Cash tiers: Core: 3% on the first $2,000 a month; Luxe: 3% on the first $10,000 a month; Pinnacle: 3% on the first $50,000 a month; VIP: 4% on the first $50,000 a month.

Tria tiers: Virtual: 1.5% on the first $100 a month; Signature plastic ($109 a year): 4.5% on the first $1,000 a month; Premium metal ($250 a year): 6% on the first $2,000 a month.

ether.fi Cash: Membership levels also add category cashback (10% to 30% on AI, streaming and food, capped monthly), travel discounts and account balance protection against smart contract exploits of $10,000 to $500,000, which is not deposit insurance.

Tria: Paid in USDT on Arbitrum in periodic batches, with a waiting period of up to 90 days. Above the monthly spend cap the rate drops to 0.5% on the virtual tier and 1% on plastic and metal, which this model does not capture. An active staking badge adds a boost within the cap. Cash withdrawals, transfers, wallet funding, gambling and vouchers earn nothing. The plastic and metal subscriptions below are the extra cost over the $25 virtual membership ($109 and $250 a year in total). Season 3 rates apply from 1 June 2026.

Availability and KYC

ether.fi Cash is offered in 91 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia and Mexico. ether.fi lists these jurisdictions. In the US the card is available in 31 states and Washington D.C. only. Belgium and Ireland are eligible, but physical cards are not delivered there. In some countries (including Argentina, Indonesia, Mexico, Nigeria and the Philippines) the first virtual card costs $10.

Tria is offered in 224 countries and territories and excludes 25.

ether.fi Cash needs full KYC and Tria needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

ether.fi Cash publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $5,000 a day.

Tria publishes a daily spending limit of $1,000,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.

ether.fi Cash works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Tria works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Tria issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

ether.fi Cash scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. ether.fi describes Cash as a non-custodial account. The ATM fee on Core is not published as a fixed figure.

Tria scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Tria's cards work as collateral-backed credit cards at 0% APR. Spending is secured by crypto in the user's own wallet, and a "Liquidation Event" sells collateral if charges go unpaid for one calendar day or the collateral value falls below the balance. International cards are issued by Nimbus, LLC, a Delaware company whose terms link to a privacy notice on legal.raincards.xyz. US cards are issued by "Third National". In Nigeria the card is marketed by BANEX Microfinance Bank, licensed by the Central Bank of Nigeria. Tria (Threely Dimensions, Inc.) says it "is not a bank, money services business, card issuer". No proof of reserves applies because Tria holds no customer assets. We found no official enforcement actions or incident reports.

Full reports: ether.fi Cash safety check and Tria safety check.

About each card

ether.fi Cash Card is a self-custody Visa card from ether.fi. It tops up with USDC and ETH.

Tria Card (Global) is a self-custody Visa card from Nimbus, LLC (international cards); Third National (US cards). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH.

Which card fits you

ether.fi Cash fits if

  • Its fees and availability match your situation better on the table above.

Tria fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You live outside the US and the handful of countries it excludes.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 6%).

Read more: ether.fi Cash fees and details · Tria fees and details

ether.fi Cash vs Tria: questions

Which is cheaper, ether.fi Cash or Tria?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, ether.fi Cash leaves $691 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use ether.fi Cash and Tria in the same country?
Yes, in 21 of the 25 countries we track, including United States, United Kingdom, Germany, France and Spain.
Is ether.fi Cash or Tria safer?
ether.fi Cash scores higher on our safety check (60/100 against 60/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, ether.fi Cash or Tria?
ether.fi Cash pays 3% to 4% and Tria pays 1.5% to 6%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. ether.fi Cash Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. ether.fi Cash Card: availability · checked September 25, 2026
  3. ether.fi Cash Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. ether.fi Cash Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Tria Card (Global): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Tria Card (Global): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Tria Card (Global): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Tria Card (Global): safety · checked September 28, 2026