MetaMask Card vs KOSH

The cheaper card changes with your spending. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • At $500 a month, KOSH comes out $28 a year ahead. At $2,000 a month, MetaMask Card comes out $44 a year ahead. At $5,000 a month, MetaMask Card comes out $188 a year ahead.
  • MetaMask Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. KOSH is custodial.
  • On our safety check, MetaMask Card scores 65/100 (Good) and KOSH scores 44/100 (Fair).
  • Overall, MetaMask Card rates 54/100 against 27/100 for KOSH, helped by its reach: it is offered in 45 countries and territories against an unpublished number for KOSH.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • MetaMask Card · Virtual (free)+$12
  • KOSH · Everyday≤ -$32

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureMetaMask CardKOSH
Countries offered45 countriesList not published
Card networkMastercardVisa
CustodySelf-custodyCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPeUSDC, USDT
Top-up or conversion fee0.5%0% (better)
FX markup1%0.5% (better)
ATM fee2%1% + $1
Annual fee (base tier)Free (better)$8
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical $80
Cashback1% to 3% (better)None
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score65/100 (better)44/100
Overall rating54/100 (better)27/100
Get the cardGet MetaMask CardGet KOSH

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendMetaMask CardKOSH
$500-$42
Virtual (free)
≤ -$14
Everyday
$2,000+$12
Virtual (free)
≤ -$32
Everyday
$5,000+$120
Virtual (free)
≤ -$68
Everyday

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineMetaMask Card
Virtual (free)
KOSH
Everyday
Top-up and conversion fees-$132$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$48-$24
ATM fees-$48Not disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0-$8
Cashback+$240$0
Net per year+$12-$32

Fees

MetaMask Card charges 0.5% to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. KOSH charges 0% and 0.5%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so KOSH's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $5.

ATM withdrawals: MetaMask Card 2%; KOSH 1% + $1.

A virtual card costs nothing with MetaMask Card and nothing with KOSH. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and $80.

Cashback and rewards

MetaMask Card cashback: 1% to 3%. KOSH cashback: None.

MetaMask Card tiers: Virtual (free): 1%; Metal ($199 a year): 3%.

KOSH tiers: Everyday: 0%.

MetaMask Card: Paid in mUSD. The Metal tier also removes the 1% cross-border fee and adds $1,200 a month of free ATM withdrawals, which this model does not reflect.

KOSH: KOSH lists 10% reward points as coming soon. No reward is paid today.

Availability and KYC

MetaMask Card is offered in 45 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands and Portugal. MetaMask lists these countries on its card page. Sign-ups in the US and UK are temporarily closed.

KOSH does not publish a country list. KOSH says it supports onboarding in 90+ countries without publishing the list.

MetaMask Card needs full KYC and KOSH needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

MetaMask Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

KOSH publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.

MetaMask Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and KOSH works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. MetaMask Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

MetaMask Card scores 65/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Funds stay in the user's own MetaMask wallet until each payment. US cards are issued by Cross River Bank, Member FDIC; the issuer for the countries listed here is not named on MetaMask's site.

KOSH scores 44/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. KOSH (Piers Technology Inc.) says it is a financial technology company, not a bank or a money services business, and that some services are provided by licensed partners it does not name. It says stablecoin holdings sit with regulated custodians.

Full reports: MetaMask Card safety check and KOSH safety check.

About each card

MetaMask Card is a self-custody Mastercard from MetaMask (Consensys). It tops up with USDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe and GBPe.

KOSH Card (formerly Copperx) is a custodial Visa card from KOSH (Piers Technology Inc., formerly Copperx). It tops up with USDC and USDT.

Which card fits you

MetaMask Card fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 3%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

KOSH fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.

Read more: MetaMask Card fees and details · KOSH fees and details · MetaMask Card review

MetaMask Card vs KOSH: questions

Which is cheaper, MetaMask Card or KOSH?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, MetaMask Card leaves $44 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use MetaMask Card and KOSH in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. 45 countries for MetaMask Card; country list not published for KOSH.
Is MetaMask Card or KOSH safer?
MetaMask Card scores higher on our safety check (65/100 against 44/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, MetaMask Card or KOSH?
MetaMask Card pays 1% to 3% and KOSH pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. MetaMask Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. MetaMask Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. MetaMask Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. MetaMask Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. KOSH Card (formerly Copperx): fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. KOSH Card (formerly Copperx): availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. KOSH Card (formerly Copperx): cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. KOSH Card (formerly Copperx): safety · checked September 24, 2026