Coinbase Card vs ether.fi Cash

ether.fi Cash costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • ether.fi Cash leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $162 a year more at $500 a month, $648 a year more at $2,000 a month, $540 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Coinbase Card is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. ether.fi Cash is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Coinbase Card scores 75/100 (Good) and ether.fi Cash scores 60/100 (Good).
  • Overall, ether.fi Cash rates 75/100 against 40/100 for Coinbase Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 91 countries and territories against 1 for Coinbase Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Coinbase Card · Crypto rewards≤ $0
  • ether.fi Cash · Core≤ +$648

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureCoinbase Cardether.fi Cash
Countries offeredUnited States only91 countries (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDCUSDC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee0%Not disclosed
FX markupNot disclosed1.5%
ATM feeNo card feeNot disclosed
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Not disclosed · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
CashbackVariable, not published3% to 4%
Apple Pay / Google PayNot listedApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score75/100 (better)60/100
Overall rating40/10075/100 (better)
Get the cardGet Coinbase CardGet ether.fi Cash

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendCoinbase Cardether.fi Cash
$500≤ $0
Crypto rewards
≤ +$162
Core
$2,000≤ $0
Crypto rewards
≤ +$648
Core
$5,000≤ $0
Crypto rewards
≤ +$540
Core

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineCoinbase Card
Crypto rewards
ether.fi Cash
Core
Top-up and conversion fees$0Not disclosed
Spending fees$0Not disclosed
Foreign exchange markupNot disclosed-$72
ATM fees$0Not disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
CashbackNot disclosed+$720
Net per year$0+$648

Fees

Coinbase Card charges 0% to convert or top up and Not disclosed on spending in a foreign currency. ether.fi Cash charges Not disclosed and 1.5%.

ATM withdrawals: Coinbase Card no card fee; ether.fi Cash not disclosed.

A virtual card costs an undisclosed fee with Coinbase Card and nothing with ether.fi Cash. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Coinbase Card cashback: Variable, not published. ether.fi Cash cashback: 3% to 4%.

Coinbase Card tiers: Crypto rewards: rate not published.

ether.fi Cash tiers: Core: 3% on the first $2,000 a month; Luxe: 3% on the first $10,000 a month; Pinnacle: 3% on the first $50,000 a month; VIP: 4% on the first $50,000 a month.

Coinbase Card: Rewards are paid in a crypto you choose from a rotating list. Coinbase describes the rate as variable and shows it only in the app.

ether.fi Cash: Membership levels also add category cashback (10% to 30% on AI, streaming and food, capped monthly), travel discounts and account balance protection against smart contract exploits of $10,000 to $500,000, which is not deposit insurance.

Availability and KYC

Coinbase Card is offered in one country, including United States. Available in every US state except Hawaii.

ether.fi Cash is offered in 91 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia and Mexico. ether.fi lists these jurisdictions. In the US the card is available in 31 states and Washington D.C. only. Belgium and Ireland are eligible, but physical cards are not delivered there. In some countries (including Argentina, Indonesia, Mexico, Nigeria and the Philippines) the first virtual card costs $10.

Coinbase Card needs full KYC and ether.fi Cash needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Coinbase Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

ether.fi Cash publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $5,000 a day.

Coinbase Card does not list Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and ether.fi Cash works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Neither card issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Coinbase Card scores 75/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Pathward, N.A.. 2025-05-15: Overseas support staff bribed by criminals copied customer data for under 1% of monthly transacting users. Coinbase said no passwords, private keys or funds were exposed. The user agreement says customer digital assets are held for customers, are not property of Coinbase and are not subject to claims of Coinbase's creditors.

ether.fi Cash scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. ether.fi describes Cash as a non-custodial account. The ATM fee on Core is not published as a fixed figure.

Full reports: Coinbase Card safety check and ether.fi Cash safety check.

About each card

Coinbase Card is a custodial Visa card from Coinbase. It tops up with USDC.

ether.fi Cash Card is a self-custody Visa card from ether.fi. It tops up with USDC and ETH.

Which card fits you

Coinbase Card fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

ether.fi Cash fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 4%).

Read more: Coinbase Card fees and details · ether.fi Cash fees and details

Coinbase Card vs ether.fi Cash: questions

Which is cheaper, Coinbase Card or ether.fi Cash?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, ether.fi Cash leaves $648 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Coinbase Card and ether.fi Cash in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Coinbase Card or ether.fi Cash safer?
Coinbase Card scores higher on our safety check (75/100 against 60/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Coinbase Card or ether.fi Cash?
Coinbase Card pays variable, not published and ether.fi Cash pays 3% to 4%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Coinbase Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Coinbase Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Coinbase Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Coinbase Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. ether.fi Cash Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. ether.fi Cash Card: availability · checked September 25, 2026
  7. ether.fi Cash Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. ether.fi Cash Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026