Coinbase Card vs CL Card

Coinbase Card costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Coinbase Card leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $142.15 a year more at $500 a month, $322.15 a year more at $2,000 a month, $682.15 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Coinbase Card is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. CL Card is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Coinbase Card scores 75/100 (Good) and CL Card scores 64/100 (Good).
  • Overall, CL Card rates 43/100 against 40/100 for Coinbase Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 37 countries and territories against 1 for Coinbase Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 1: United States.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Coinbase Card · Crypto rewards≤ $0
  • CL Card · Standard-$322.15

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureCoinbase CardCL Card
Countries offeredUnited States only37 countries (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDCBTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP, SOL
Top-up or conversion fee0% (better)2%
FX markupNot disclosed0%
ATM feeNo card fee€2.50
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Not disclosed · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
CashbackVariable, not published1% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayNot listedApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score75/100 (better)64/100
Overall rating40/10043/100 (better)
Get the cardGet Coinbase CardGet CL Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendCoinbase CardCL Card
$500≤ $0
Crypto rewards
-$142.15
Standard
$2,000≤ $0
Crypto rewards
-$322.15
Standard
$5,000≤ $0
Crypto rewards
-$682.15
Standard

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineCoinbase Card
Crypto rewards
CL Card
Standard
Top-up and conversion fees$0-$528
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markupNot disclosed$0
ATM fees$0-$34.15
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
CashbackNot disclosed+$240
Net per year$0-$322.15

Fees

Coinbase Card charges 0% to convert or top up and Not disclosed on spending in a foreign currency. CL Card charges 2% and 0%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Coinbase Card's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $20.

ATM withdrawals: Coinbase Card no card fee; CL Card €2.50.

A virtual card costs an undisclosed fee with Coinbase Card and nothing with CL Card. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Coinbase Card cashback: Variable, not published. CL Card cashback: 1% to 2%.

Coinbase Card tiers: Crypto rewards: rate not published.

CL Card tiers: Standard: 1%; BXX rewards: 2%.

Coinbase Card: Rewards are paid in a crypto you choose from a rotating list. Coinbase describes the rate as variable and shows it only in the app.

CL Card: Ledger's page says "1% cashback in BTC, USDC, or USDT" (BTC or USDC in the US, BTC or USDT elsewhere), claimed from the Loyalty program page. CL's own FAQ also offers 2% if you take the reward in Baanx's BXX token. Spending funded by the Cryptodraft credit line earns nothing. No spend or reward cap is published.

Availability and KYC

Coinbase Card is offered in one country, including United States. Available in every US state except Hawaii.

CL Card is offered in 37 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and Canada. Ledger says "The CL Card is currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil." This file uses the EU fee schedule. You do not need a Ledger device to get the card.

Coinbase Card needs full KYC and CL Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Coinbase Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

CL Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Coinbase Card does not list Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and CL Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. CL Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Coinbase Card scores 75/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Pathward, N.A.. 2025-05-15: Overseas support staff bribed by criminals copied customer data for under 1% of monthly transacting users. Coinbase said no passwords, private keys or funds were exposed. The user agreement says customer digital assets are held for customers, are not property of Coinbase and are not subject to claims of Coinbase's creditors.

CL Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through UAB Monavate. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Only money loaded to the card as e-money is safeguarded under e-money rules. Crypto deposited to the CL platform becomes Baanx's property, and Baanx's terms warn that "in the event that any of Us becomes insolvent ... You may not be able to have the full value of Your deposits restored". Baanx describes its crypto services as "not regulated financial services". We could not find a published proof-of-reserves report. We found no official enforcement actions against the card providers. Ledger's own past security incidents are not listed, because Ledger does not provide or hold funds for the card.

Full reports: Coinbase Card safety check and CL Card safety check.

About each card

Coinbase Card is a custodial Visa card from Coinbase. It tops up with USDC.

Ledger CL Card (Europe) is a custodial Visa card from Baanx (CL Card), card account by UAB Monavate. It tops up with BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP and SOL and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

Coinbase Card fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

CL Card fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 2%).

Read more: Coinbase Card fees and details · CL Card fees and details

Coinbase Card vs CL Card: questions

Which is cheaper, Coinbase Card or CL Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Coinbase Card leaves $322.15 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Coinbase Card and CL Card in the same country?
Yes, in 1 of the 25 countries we track, including United States.
Is Coinbase Card or CL Card safer?
Coinbase Card scores higher on our safety check (75/100 against 64/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Coinbase Card or CL Card?
Coinbase Card pays variable, not published and CL Card pays 1% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Coinbase Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Coinbase Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Coinbase Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Coinbase Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Ledger CL Card (Europe): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Ledger CL Card (Europe): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Ledger CL Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Ledger CL Card (Europe): safety · checked September 28, 2026