Coinbase Card vs Crypto.com Card

Coinbase Card costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Coinbase Card leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $24 a year more at $500 a month, $96 a year more at $2,000 a month, $240 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Coinbase Card is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Crypto.com Card is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Coinbase Card scores 75/100 (Good) and Crypto.com Card scores 59/100 (Fair).
  • Overall, Crypto.com Card rates 56/100 against 43/100 for Coinbase Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 30 countries and territories against 1 for Coinbase Card.
  • The two cards do not share any of the 25 countries we track, so most readers can only get one of them.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Coinbase Card · Crypto rewards≤ $0
  • Crypto.com Card · Basic (Midnight)≤ -$96

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureCoinbase CardCrypto.com Card
Countries offeredUnited States only30 countries (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDCUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee0%Not disclosed
FX markupNot disclosed2%
ATM feeNo card fee2% after €200 free a month
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Not disclosed · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical €4.99
CashbackVariable, not publishedNone
Apple Pay / Google PayNot listedApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score75/100 (better)59/100
Overall rating43/10056/100 (better)
Get the cardGet Coinbase CardGet Crypto.com Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendCoinbase CardCrypto.com Card
$500≤ $0
Crypto rewards
≤ -$24
Basic (Midnight)
$2,000≤ $0
Crypto rewards
≤ -$96
Basic (Midnight)
$5,000≤ $0
Crypto rewards
≤ -$240
Basic (Midnight)

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineCoinbase Card
Crypto rewards
Crypto.com Card
Basic (Midnight)
Top-up and conversion fees$0Not disclosed
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markupNot disclosed-$96
ATM fees$0$0
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
CashbackNot disclosed$0
Net per year$0-$96

Fees

Coinbase Card charges 0% to convert or top up and Not disclosed on spending in a foreign currency. Crypto.com Card charges Not disclosed and 2%.

ATM withdrawals: Coinbase Card no card fee; Crypto.com Card 2% after €200 free a month.

A virtual card costs an undisclosed fee with Coinbase Card and nothing with Crypto.com Card. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and €4.99. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Coinbase Card cashback: Variable, not published. Crypto.com Card cashback: None.

Coinbase Card tiers: Crypto rewards: rate not published.

Crypto.com Card tiers: Basic (Midnight): 0%.

Coinbase Card: Rewards are paid in a crypto you choose from a rotating list. Coinbase describes the rate as variable and shows it only in the app.

Availability and KYC

Coinbase Card is offered in one country, including United States. Available in every US state except Hawaii.

Crypto.com Card is offered in 30 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. This entry covers the card for users with a residential address in Europe (EEA). Crypto.com publishes separate fee schedules for the US, UK, Australia, Singapore, Brazil and GCC markets.

Coinbase Card needs full KYC and Crypto.com Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Coinbase Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Crypto.com Card publishes a daily spending limit of €25,000, a monthly limit of €25,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €2,000 a day.

Coinbase Card does not list Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and Crypto.com Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Crypto.com Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Coinbase Card scores 75/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Pathward, N.A.. 2025-05-15: Overseas support staff bribed by criminals copied customer data for under 1% of monthly transacting users. Coinbase said no passwords, private keys or funds were exposed. The user agreement says customer digital assets are held for customers, are not property of Coinbase and are not subject to claims of Coinbase's creditors.

Crypto.com Card scores 59/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (MiCA crypto-asset service provider authorisation, Malta Financial Services Authority). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. The e-money institution that issues the European card is not named on Crypto.com's public fee pages.

Full reports: Coinbase Card safety check and Crypto.com Card safety check.

About each card

Coinbase Card is a custodial Visa card from Coinbase. It tops up with USDC.

Crypto.com Visa Card (Europe) is a custodial Visa card from Crypto.com (Foris DAX MT Limited in the EU). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR. Card rewards on the Plus, Pro and Private Level Up plans are advertised as up to 4.5%, but Crypto.com does not publish the rate for each plan in Europe, so only the Basic plan is modelled.

Which card fits you

Coinbase Card fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Crypto.com Card fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.

Read more: Coinbase Card fees and details · Crypto.com Card review

Coinbase Card vs Crypto.com Card: questions

Which is cheaper, Coinbase Card or Crypto.com Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Coinbase Card leaves $96 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Coinbase Card and Crypto.com Card in the same country?
Not in any of the 25 countries we track.
Is Coinbase Card or Crypto.com Card safer?
Coinbase Card scores higher on our safety check (75/100 against 59/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Coinbase Card or Crypto.com Card?
Coinbase Card pays variable, not published and Crypto.com Card pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Coinbase Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Coinbase Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Coinbase Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Coinbase Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Crypto.com Visa Card (Europe): fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. Crypto.com Visa Card (Europe): availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. Crypto.com Visa Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. Crypto.com Visa Card (Europe): safety · checked September 24, 2026