MetaMask Card vs Coinbase Card

The cheaper card changes with your spending. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • At $500 a month, Coinbase Card comes out $42 a year ahead. At $2,000 a month, MetaMask Card comes out $12 a year ahead. At $5,000 a month, MetaMask Card comes out $120 a year ahead.
  • MetaMask Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Coinbase Card is custodial.
  • On our safety check, MetaMask Card scores 65/100 (Good) and Coinbase Card scores 75/100 (Good).
  • Overall, MetaMask Card rates 64/100 against 43/100 for Coinbase Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 45 countries and territories against 1 for Coinbase Card.
  • The two cards do not share any of the 25 countries we track, so most readers can only get one of them.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • MetaMask Card · Virtual (free)+$12
  • Coinbase Card · Crypto rewards≤ $0

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureMetaMask CardCoinbase Card
Countries offered45 countries (better)United States only
Card networkMastercardVisa
CustodySelf-custodyCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPeUSDC
Top-up or conversion fee0.5%0% (better)
FX markup1%Not disclosed
ATM fee2%No card fee
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Not disclosed · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1% to 3%Variable, not published
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayNot listed
Safety score65/10075/100 (better)
Overall rating64/100 (better)43/100
Get the cardGet MetaMask CardGet Coinbase Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendMetaMask CardCoinbase Card
$500-$42
Virtual (free)
≤ $0
Crypto rewards
$2,000+$12
Virtual (free)
≤ $0
Crypto rewards
$5,000+$120
Virtual (free)
≤ $0
Crypto rewards

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineMetaMask Card
Virtual (free)
Coinbase Card
Crypto rewards
Top-up and conversion fees-$132$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$48Not disclosed
ATM fees-$48$0
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$240Not disclosed
Net per year+$12$0

Fees

MetaMask Card charges 0.5% to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Coinbase Card charges 0% and Not disclosed.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Coinbase Card's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $5.

ATM withdrawals: MetaMask Card 2%; Coinbase Card no card fee.

A virtual card costs nothing with MetaMask Card and an undisclosed fee with Coinbase Card. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

MetaMask Card cashback: 1% to 3%. Coinbase Card cashback: Variable, not published.

MetaMask Card tiers: Virtual (free): 1%; Metal ($199 a year): 3%.

Coinbase Card tiers: Crypto rewards: rate not published.

MetaMask Card: Paid in mUSD. The Metal tier also removes the 1% cross-border fee and adds $1,200 a month of free ATM withdrawals, which this model does not reflect.

Coinbase Card: Rewards are paid in a crypto you choose from a rotating list. Coinbase describes the rate as variable and shows it only in the app.

Availability and KYC

MetaMask Card is offered in 45 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands and Portugal. MetaMask lists these countries on its card page. Sign-ups in the US and UK are temporarily closed.

Coinbase Card is offered in one country, including United States. Available in every US state except Hawaii.

MetaMask Card needs full KYC and Coinbase Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

MetaMask Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

Coinbase Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

MetaMask Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Coinbase Card does not list either. MetaMask Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

MetaMask Card scores 65/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Funds stay in the user's own MetaMask wallet until each payment. US cards are issued by Cross River Bank, Member FDIC; the issuer for the countries listed here is not named on MetaMask's site.

Coinbase Card scores 75/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Pathward, N.A.. 2025-05-15: Overseas support staff bribed by criminals copied customer data for under 1% of monthly transacting users. Coinbase said no passwords, private keys or funds were exposed. The user agreement says customer digital assets are held for customers, are not property of Coinbase and are not subject to claims of Coinbase's creditors.

Full reports: MetaMask Card safety check and Coinbase Card safety check.

About each card

MetaMask Card is a self-custody Mastercard from MetaMask (Consensys). It tops up with USDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe and GBPe.

Coinbase Card is a custodial Visa card from Coinbase. It tops up with USDC.

Which card fits you

MetaMask Card fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 3%).

Coinbase Card fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: MetaMask Card review · Coinbase Card fees and details

MetaMask Card vs Coinbase Card: questions

Which is cheaper, MetaMask Card or Coinbase Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, MetaMask Card leaves $12 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use MetaMask Card and Coinbase Card in the same country?
Not in any of the 25 countries we track.
Is MetaMask Card or Coinbase Card safer?
Coinbase Card scores higher on our safety check (75/100 against 65/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, MetaMask Card or Coinbase Card?
MetaMask Card pays 1% to 3% and Coinbase Card pays variable, not published. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. MetaMask Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. MetaMask Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. MetaMask Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. MetaMask Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Coinbase Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. Coinbase Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. Coinbase Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. Coinbase Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026