KAST vs Coinbase Card

The cheaper card changes with your spending. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • At $500 a month, Coinbase Card comes out $15 a year ahead. At $2,000 a month, KAST comes out $192 a year ahead. At $5,000 a month, KAST comes out $66 a year ahead.
  • KAST is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Coinbase Card is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, KAST scores 44/100 (Fair) and Coinbase Card scores 75/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Coinbase Card rates 43/100 against 33/100 for KAST, helped by its reach: it is offered in 1 countries and territories against an unpublished number for KAST.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • KAST · Standard+$192
  • Coinbase Card · Crypto rewards≤ $0

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureKASTCoinbase Card
Countries offeredList not publishedUnited States only
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDT, USDCUSDC
Top-up or conversion fee0%0%
FX markup1.75%Not disclosed
ATM fee2% + $3No card fee
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical $40Virtual Not disclosed · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1.5% to 3%Variable, not published
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayNot listed
Safety score44/10075/100 (better)
Overall rating33/10043/100 (better)
Get the cardGet KASTGet Coinbase Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendKASTCoinbase Card
$500-$15
Standard
≤ $0
Crypto rewards
$2,000+$192
Standard
≤ $0
Crypto rewards
$5,000+$66
Standard
≤ $0
Crypto rewards

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineKAST
Standard
Coinbase Card
Crypto rewards
Top-up and conversion fees$0$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$84.00Not disclosed
ATM fees-$84$0
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$360Not disclosed
Net per year+$192$0

Fees

KAST charges 0% to convert or top up and 1.75% on spending in a foreign currency. Coinbase Card charges 0% and Not disclosed.

ATM withdrawals: KAST 2% + $3; Coinbase Card no card fee.

A virtual card costs nothing with KAST and an undisclosed fee with Coinbase Card. A physical card costs $40 and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

KAST cashback: 1.5% to 3%. Coinbase Card cashback: Variable, not published.

KAST tiers: Standard: 1.5% on the first $2,000 a month; Premium ($1,000 a year): 2% on the first $10,000 a month; Private ($10,000 a year): 3% on the first $40,000 a month.

Coinbase Card tiers: Crypto rewards: rate not published.

KAST: Premium and Private also earn KAST Points (1% and 2%), which this model does not value.

Coinbase Card: Rewards are paid in a crypto you choose from a rotating list. Coinbase describes the rate as variable and shows it only in the app.

Availability and KYC

KAST does not publish a country list. KAST shows supported countries only in the app during sign-up.

Coinbase Card is offered in one country, including United States. Available in every US state except Hawaii.

KAST needs full KYC and Coinbase Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

KAST publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.

Coinbase Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

KAST works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Coinbase Card does not list either. KAST issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

KAST scores 44/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. KAST's terms say accounts, cards and custody are provided by licensed partners and the card is issued "by the Issuer under license from Visa", without naming the issuer.

Coinbase Card scores 75/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Pathward, N.A.. 2025-05-15: Overseas support staff bribed by criminals copied customer data for under 1% of monthly transacting users. Coinbase said no passwords, private keys or funds were exposed. The user agreement says customer digital assets are held for customers, are not property of Coinbase and are not subject to claims of Coinbase's creditors.

Full reports: KAST safety check and Coinbase Card safety check.

About each card

KAST Card is a custodial Visa card from KAST. It tops up with USDT and USDC.

Coinbase Card is a custodial Visa card from Coinbase. It tops up with USDC.

Which card fits you

KAST fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 3%).

Coinbase Card fits if

  • You live in United States, the only market it serves.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: KAST fees and details · Coinbase Card fees and details

KAST vs Coinbase Card: questions

Which is cheaper, KAST or Coinbase Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, KAST leaves $192 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use KAST and Coinbase Card in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. Country list not published for KAST; united states only for Coinbase Card.
Is KAST or Coinbase Card safer?
Coinbase Card scores higher on our safety check (75/100 against 44/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, KAST or Coinbase Card?
KAST pays 1.5% to 3% and Coinbase Card pays variable, not published. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. KAST Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. KAST Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. KAST Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. KAST Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Coinbase Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. Coinbase Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. Coinbase Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. Coinbase Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026