KAST vs Nexo

KAST costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • KAST leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $9 a year more at $500 a month, $288 a year more at $2,000 a month, $306 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • KAST is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Nexo is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, KAST scores 44/100 (Fair) and Nexo scores 63/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Nexo rates 48/100 against 33/100 for KAST, helped by its reach: it is offered in 33 countries and territories against an unpublished number for KAST.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • KAST · Standard+$192
  • Nexo · Debit Mode or under $5,000≤ -$96

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureKASTNexo
Countries offeredList not published33 countries
Card networkVisaMastercard
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDT, USDCUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee0%Not disclosed
FX markup1.75% (better)2%
ATM fee2% + $32% + €1.99 after €200 free a month
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical $40Virtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1.5% to 3% (better)0% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score44/10063/100 (better)
Overall rating33/10048/100 (better)
Get the cardGet KASTGet Nexo

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendKASTNexo
$500-$15
Standard
≤ -$24
Debit Mode or under $5,000
$2,000+$192
Standard
≤ -$96
Debit Mode or under $5,000
$5,000+$66
Standard
≤ -$240
Debit Mode or under $5,000

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineKAST
Standard
Nexo
Debit Mode or under $5,000
Top-up and conversion fees$0Not disclosed
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$84.00-$96
ATM fees-$84$0
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$360$0
Net per year+$192-$96

Fees

KAST charges 0% to convert or top up and 1.75% on spending in a foreign currency. Nexo charges Not disclosed and 2%.

ATM withdrawals: KAST 2% + $3; Nexo 2% + €1.99 after €200 free a month.

A virtual card costs nothing with KAST and nothing with Nexo. A physical card costs $40 and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

KAST cashback: 1.5% to 3%. Nexo cashback: 0% to 2%.

KAST tiers: Standard: 1.5% on the first $2,000 a month; Premium ($1,000 a year): 2% on the first $10,000 a month; Private ($10,000 a year): 3% on the first $40,000 a month.

Nexo tiers: Debit Mode or under $5,000: 0%; Base: 0.5%, capped at $50 a month; Silver: 0.7%, capped at $100 a month; Gold: 1%, capped at $150 a month; Platinum: 2%, capped at $200 a month.

KAST: Premium and Private also earn KAST Points (1% and 2%), which this model does not value.

Nexo: Cashback applies only to Credit Mode purchases (spending borrowed against your crypto), never to Debit Mode. You need a portfolio of at least $5,000, and your Loyalty tier is set by the share of NEXO Tokens in your portfolio (Silver 1%, Gold 5%, Platinum 10%). Rates shown are for NEXO Token payouts; choosing BTC pays 0.1% to 0.5%. Monthly reward caps reset on the 1st.

Availability and KYC

KAST does not publish a country list. KAST shows supported countries only in the app during sign-up.

Nexo is offered in 33 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom and Argentina. Nexo lists the EEA, Andorra, Monaco, the UK and Argentina "and other selected jurisdictions", so the list is not complete; the app's Check eligibility screen is final. Bulgaria is excluded because Nexo says its services are unavailable there. Personal accounts only. The card can be issued in EUR, GBP or USD. The DiPocket card terms cover EEA and UK residents only; the issuer for Argentina is not published.

KAST needs full KYC and Nexo needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

KAST publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.

Nexo publishes a daily spending limit of €70,000, a monthly limit of €300,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €2,000 a day.

KAST works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Nexo works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. KAST and Nexo issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

KAST scores 44/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. KAST's terms say accounts, cards and custody are provided by licensed partners and the card is issued "by the Issuer under license from Visa", without naming the issuer.

Nexo scores 63/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through DiPocket UAB. 2023-01-19: Nexo Capital Inc. agreed to pay a $22.5 million SEC penalty, plus $22.5 million to US state regulators, over its unregistered Earn Interest Product. 2026-01-14: California's DFPI fined Nexo Capital Inc. $500,000 for making loans to California residents without a lender licence and without checking their ability to repay. Card funds are not stored with DiPocket; Nexo settles each card transaction, and the card terms say DiPocket "does not issue electronic money to you". Nexo's real-time reserves attestation (Armanino from 2021, Moore Johannesburg from April 2023) no longer has a live page, and we found no dated reserves report for 2025 or 2026.

Full reports: KAST safety check and Nexo safety check.

About each card

KAST Card is a custodial Visa card from KAST. It tops up with USDT and USDC.

Nexo Card is a custodial Mastercard from Nexo Services Sp. z o.o. (Poland). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

KAST fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 3%).

Nexo fits if

  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: KAST fees and details · Nexo fees and details

KAST vs Nexo: questions

Which is cheaper, KAST or Nexo?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, KAST leaves $288 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use KAST and Nexo in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. Country list not published for KAST; 33 countries for Nexo.
Is KAST or Nexo safer?
Nexo scores higher on our safety check (63/100 against 44/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, KAST or Nexo?
KAST pays 1.5% to 3% and Nexo pays 0% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. KAST Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. KAST Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. KAST Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. KAST Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Nexo Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Nexo Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Nexo Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Nexo Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026