MetaMask Card vs Nexo

The cheaper card changes with your spending. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • At $500 a month, Nexo comes out $18 a year ahead. At $2,000 a month, MetaMask Card comes out $108 a year ahead. At $5,000 a month, MetaMask Card comes out $360 a year ahead.
  • MetaMask Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Nexo is custodial.
  • On our safety check, MetaMask Card scores 65/100 (Good) and Nexo scores 63/100 (Good).
  • Overall, MetaMask Card rates 54/100 against 48/100 for Nexo, helped by its reach: it is offered in 45 countries and territories against 33 for Nexo.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 8: Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Ireland and Argentina.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • MetaMask Card · Virtual (free)+$12
  • Nexo · Debit Mode or under $5,000≤ -$96

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureMetaMask CardNexo
Countries offered45 countries (better)33 countries
Card networkMastercardMastercard
CustodySelf-custodyCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPeUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee0.5%Not disclosed
FX markup1% (better)2%
ATM fee2%2% + €1.99 after €200 free a month
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1% to 3% (better)0% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score65/100 (better)63/100
Overall rating54/100 (better)48/100
Get the cardGet MetaMask CardGet Nexo

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendMetaMask CardNexo
$500-$42
Virtual (free)
≤ -$24
Debit Mode or under $5,000
$2,000+$12
Virtual (free)
≤ -$96
Debit Mode or under $5,000
$5,000+$120
Virtual (free)
≤ -$240
Debit Mode or under $5,000

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineMetaMask Card
Virtual (free)
Nexo
Debit Mode or under $5,000
Top-up and conversion fees-$132Not disclosed
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$48-$96
ATM fees-$48$0
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$240$0
Net per year+$12-$96

Fees

MetaMask Card charges 0.5% to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Nexo charges Not disclosed and 2%.

ATM withdrawals: MetaMask Card 2%; Nexo 2% + €1.99 after €200 free a month.

A virtual card costs nothing with MetaMask Card and nothing with Nexo. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

MetaMask Card cashback: 1% to 3%. Nexo cashback: 0% to 2%.

MetaMask Card tiers: Virtual (free): 1%; Metal ($199 a year): 3%.

Nexo tiers: Debit Mode or under $5,000: 0%; Base: 0.5%, capped at $50 a month; Silver: 0.7%, capped at $100 a month; Gold: 1%, capped at $150 a month; Platinum: 2%, capped at $200 a month.

MetaMask Card: Paid in mUSD. The Metal tier pays 3% on the first $10,000 spent each year and 1% after that, removes the 1% cross-border fee and adds $1,200 a month of free ATM withdrawals. Metal card orders have been paused since 2 June 2026.

Nexo: Cashback applies only to Credit Mode purchases (spending borrowed against your crypto), never to Debit Mode. You need a portfolio of at least $5,000, and your Loyalty tier is set by the share of NEXO Tokens in your portfolio (Silver 1%, Gold 5%, Platinum 10%). Rates shown are for NEXO Token payouts; choosing BTC pays 0.1% to 0.5%. Monthly reward caps reset on the 1st.

Availability and KYC

MetaMask Card is offered in 45 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands and Portugal. MetaMask lists these countries on its card page. Sign-ups in the US and UK are temporarily closed.

Nexo is offered in 33 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom and Argentina. Nexo lists the EEA, Andorra, Monaco, the UK and Argentina "and other selected jurisdictions", so the list is not complete; the app's Check eligibility screen is final. Bulgaria is excluded because Nexo says its services are unavailable there. Personal accounts only. The card can be issued in EUR, GBP or USD. The DiPocket card terms cover EEA and UK residents only; the issuer for Argentina is not published.

MetaMask Card needs full KYC and Nexo needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

MetaMask Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

Nexo publishes a daily spending limit of €70,000, a monthly limit of €300,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €2,000 a day.

MetaMask Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Nexo works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. MetaMask Card and Nexo issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

MetaMask Card scores 65/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Funds stay in the user's own MetaMask wallet until each payment. US cards are issued by Cross River Bank, Member FDIC; the issuer for the countries listed here is not named on MetaMask's site.

Nexo scores 63/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through DiPocket UAB. 2023-01-19: Nexo Capital Inc. agreed to pay a $22.5 million SEC penalty, plus $22.5 million to US state regulators, over its unregistered Earn Interest Product. 2026-01-14: California's DFPI fined Nexo Capital Inc. $500,000 for making loans to California residents without a lender licence and without checking their ability to repay. Card funds are not stored with DiPocket; Nexo settles each card transaction, and the card terms say DiPocket "does not issue electronic money to you". Nexo's real-time reserves attestation (Armanino from 2021, Moore Johannesburg from April 2023) no longer has a live page, and we found no dated reserves report for 2025 or 2026.

Full reports: MetaMask Card safety check and Nexo safety check.

About each card

MetaMask Card is a self-custody Mastercard from MetaMask (Consensys). It tops up with USDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe and GBPe.

Nexo Card is a custodial Mastercard from Nexo Services Sp. z o.o. (Poland). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

MetaMask Card fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 3%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Nexo fits if

  • Its fees and availability match your situation better on the table above.

Read more: MetaMask Card fees and details · Nexo fees and details · MetaMask Card review

MetaMask Card vs Nexo: questions

Which is cheaper, MetaMask Card or Nexo?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, MetaMask Card leaves $108 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use MetaMask Card and Nexo in the same country?
Yes, in 8 of the 25 countries we track, including Germany, France, Spain, Italy and Netherlands.
Is MetaMask Card or Nexo safer?
MetaMask Card scores higher on our safety check (65/100 against 63/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, MetaMask Card or Nexo?
MetaMask Card pays 1% to 3% and Nexo pays 0% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. MetaMask Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. MetaMask Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. MetaMask Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. MetaMask Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Nexo Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Nexo Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Nexo Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Nexo Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026