MetaMask Card vs Plutus

The cheaper card changes with your spending. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • At $500 a month, Plutus comes out $18.98 a year ahead. At $2,000 a month, MetaMask Card comes out $125.02 a year ahead. At $5,000 a month, MetaMask Card comes out $413.02 a year ahead.
  • MetaMask Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Plutus is custodial.
  • On our safety check, MetaMask Card scores 65/100 (Good) and Plutus scores 44/100 (Fair).
  • Overall, MetaMask Card rates 54/100 against 25/100 for Plutus, helped by its reach: it is offered in 45 countries and territories against an unpublished number for Plutus.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • MetaMask Card · Virtual (free)+$12
  • Plutus · Starter (€6.99 a month)≤ -$113.02

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureMetaMask CardPlutus
Countries offered45 countriesList not published
Card networkMastercardVisa
CustodySelf-custodyCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPeEUR, GBP
Top-up or conversion fee0.5%0% (better)
FX markup1% (better)2.5%
ATM fee2%2.5%
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical €9.99
Cashback1% to 3%3% (better)
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayNot listed
Safety score65/100 (better)44/100
Overall rating54/100 (better)25/100
Get the cardGet MetaMask CardGet Plutus

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendMetaMask CardPlutus
$500-$42
Virtual (free)
≤ -$23.02
Starter (€6.99 a month)
$2,000+$12
Virtual (free)
≤ -$113.02
Starter (€6.99 a month)
$5,000+$120
Virtual (free)
≤ -$293.02
Starter (€6.99 a month)

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineMetaMask Card
Virtual (free)
Plutus
Starter (€6.99 a month)
Top-up and conversion fees-$132$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$48-$120
ATM fees-$48Not disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0-$95.60
Cashback+$240+$102.58
Net per year+$12-$113.02

Fees

MetaMask Card charges 0.5% to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Plutus charges 0% and 2.5%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Plutus's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $5.

ATM withdrawals: MetaMask Card 2%; Plutus 2.5%.

A virtual card costs nothing with MetaMask Card and nothing with Plutus. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and €9.99. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

MetaMask Card cashback: 1% to 3%. Plutus cashback: 3%.

MetaMask Card tiers: Virtual (free): 1%; Metal ($199 a year): 3%.

Plutus tiers: Starter (€6.99 a month): 3% on the first €250 a month; Everyday (€9.99 a month): 3% on the first €500 a month; Premium (€19.99 a month): 3% on the first €1,000 a month.

MetaMask Card: Paid in mUSD. The Metal tier also removes the 1% cross-border fee and adds $1,200 a month of free ATM withdrawals, which this model does not reflect.

Plutus: Rewards are paid in PLU. Holding more PLU raises the rate from 3% up to 9% and unlocks perks. Plan prices include a promotional discount shown on Plutus's plans page; the fees shown are the same in GBP.

Availability and KYC

MetaMask Card is offered in 45 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands and Portugal. MetaMask lists these countries on its card page. Sign-ups in the US and UK are temporarily closed.

Plutus does not publish a country list. Plutus offers EUR and GBP cards and does not publish a country list on its fees page.

MetaMask Card needs full KYC and Plutus needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

MetaMask Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

Plutus publishes a daily spending limit of €500,000 and a monthly limit of €1,000,000.

MetaMask Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Plutus does not list either. MetaMask Card and Plutus issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

MetaMask Card scores 65/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Funds stay in the user's own MetaMask wallet until each payment. US cards are issued by Cross River Bank, Member FDIC; the issuer for the countries listed here is not named on MetaMask's site.

Plutus scores 44/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Plutus refers to a banking partner for its card but does not name the issuer on its fees and plans pages.

Full reports: MetaMask Card safety check and Plutus safety check.

About each card

MetaMask Card is a self-custody Mastercard from MetaMask (Consensys). It tops up with USDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe and GBPe.

Plutus Card is a custodial Visa card from Plutus (Block Code Ltd, UK; Block Code LT UAB, Lithuania). It tops up with EUR and GBP and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

MetaMask Card fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Plutus fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.

Read more: MetaMask Card fees and details · Plutus fees and details · MetaMask Card review

MetaMask Card vs Plutus: questions

Which is cheaper, MetaMask Card or Plutus?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, MetaMask Card leaves $125.02 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use MetaMask Card and Plutus in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. 45 countries for MetaMask Card; country list not published for Plutus.
Is MetaMask Card or Plutus safer?
MetaMask Card scores higher on our safety check (65/100 against 44/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, MetaMask Card or Plutus?
MetaMask Card pays 1% to 3% and Plutus pays 3%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. MetaMask Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. MetaMask Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. MetaMask Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. MetaMask Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Plutus Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. Plutus Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. Plutus Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. Plutus Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026