MetaMask Card vs Bitpanda

Bitpanda costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Bitpanda leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $102 a year more at $500 a month, $228 a year more at $2,000 a month, $480 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • MetaMask Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Bitpanda is custodial.
  • On our safety check, MetaMask Card scores 65/100 (Good) and Bitpanda scores 68/100 (Good).
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 7: Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Ireland.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • MetaMask Card · Virtual (free)+$12
  • Bitpanda · Standard≤ +$240

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureMetaMask CardBitpanda
Countries offered45 countries (better)21 countries
Card networkMastercardVisa
CustodySelf-custodyCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPeEUR, BTC, ETH, USDC
Top-up or conversion fee0.5%Not disclosed
FX markup1%0% (better)
ATM fee2%2%
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Not disclosed · Physical Free
Cashback1% to 3%1%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay
Safety score65/10068/100 (better)
Overall rating54/10054/100
Get the cardGet MetaMask CardGet Bitpanda

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendMetaMask CardBitpanda
$500-$42
Virtual (free)
≤ +$60
Standard
$2,000+$12
Virtual (free)
≤ +$240
Standard
$5,000+$120
Virtual (free)
≤ +$600
Standard

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineMetaMask Card
Virtual (free)
Bitpanda
Standard
Top-up and conversion fees-$132Not disclosed
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$48$0
ATM fees-$48Not disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$240+$240
Net per year+$12+$240

Fees

MetaMask Card charges 0.5% to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Bitpanda charges Not disclosed and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: MetaMask Card 2%; Bitpanda 2%.

A virtual card costs nothing with MetaMask Card and an undisclosed fee with Bitpanda. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and nothing. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

MetaMask Card cashback: 1% to 3%. Bitpanda cashback: 1%.

MetaMask Card tiers: Virtual (free): 1%; Metal ($199 a year): 3%.

Bitpanda tiers: Standard: 1%.

MetaMask Card: Paid in mUSD. The Metal tier also removes the 1% cross-border fee and adds $1,200 a month of free ATM withdrawals, which this model does not reflect.

Bitpanda: Cashback applies only when a crypto asset is the payment asset. Payments from EUR, stablecoins, stocks or metals earn none. ATM withdrawals cost at least €2.

Availability and KYC

MetaMask Card is offered in 45 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands and Portugal. MetaMask lists these countries on its card page. Sign-ups in the US and UK are temporarily closed.

Bitpanda is offered in 21 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. Bitpanda says you must live in a country in the euro area. Its fee table also lists Swedish, Norwegian and Danish krone versions of the card.

MetaMask Card needs full KYC and Bitpanda needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

MetaMask Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

Bitpanda publishes ATM withdrawals of up to €500 a day.

MetaMask Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Bitpanda works with Apple Pay. MetaMask Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

MetaMask Card scores 65/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Funds stay in the user's own MetaMask wallet until each payment. US cards are issued by Cross River Bank, Member FDIC; the issuer for the countries listed here is not named on MetaMask's site.

Bitpanda scores 68/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. 2026-08-14: Austria's FMA fined Bitpanda GmbH €70,000 for breaches of MiCA white paper and marketing rules. The case did not involve customer funds. Bitpanda's custody policy says client crypto-assets are held as trustee, operationally and legally segregated from Bitpanda's own assets.

Full reports: MetaMask Card safety check and Bitpanda safety check.

About each card

MetaMask Card is a self-custody Mastercard from MetaMask (Consensys). It tops up with USDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe and GBPe.

Bitpanda Card is a custodial Visa card from Bitpanda (card issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited). It tops up with EUR, BTC, ETH and USDC and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

MetaMask Card fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 3%).

Bitpanda fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: MetaMask Card fees and details · Bitpanda fees and details · MetaMask Card review

MetaMask Card vs Bitpanda: questions

Which is cheaper, MetaMask Card or Bitpanda?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Bitpanda leaves $228 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use MetaMask Card and Bitpanda in the same country?
Yes, in 7 of the 25 countries we track, including Germany, France, Spain, Italy and Netherlands.
Is MetaMask Card or Bitpanda safer?
Bitpanda scores higher on our safety check (68/100 against 65/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, MetaMask Card or Bitpanda?
MetaMask Card pays 1% to 3% and Bitpanda pays 1%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. MetaMask Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. MetaMask Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. MetaMask Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. MetaMask Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Bitpanda Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. Bitpanda Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. Bitpanda Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. Bitpanda Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026