MetaMask Card vs Tangem Pay

The cheaper card changes with your spending. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • At $500 a month, MetaMask Card comes out $12 a year ahead. At $2,000 a month, Tangem Pay comes out $60 a year ahead. At $5,000 a month, Tangem Pay comes out $204 a year ahead.
  • MetaMask Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Tangem Pay is self-custody as well.
  • On our safety check, MetaMask Card scores 65/100 (Good) and Tangem Pay scores 80/100 (Strong).
  • Overall, MetaMask Card rates 54/100 against 41/100 for Tangem Pay, helped by its reach: it is offered in 45 countries and territories against an unpublished number for Tangem Pay.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • MetaMask Card · Virtual (free)+$12
  • Tangem Pay · Basic (free)+$72
Crypto card comparison
FeatureMetaMask CardTangem Pay
Countries offered45 countriesList not published
Card networkMastercardVisa
CustodySelf-custodySelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPeUSDC, USDT
Top-up or conversion fee0.5%0% (better)
FX markup1% (better)1.5%
ATM fee2%4%
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1% to 3%1% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score65/10080/100 (better)
Overall rating54/100 (better)41/100
Get the cardGet MetaMask CardGet Tangem Pay

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendMetaMask CardTangem Pay
$500-$42
Virtual (free)
-$54
Basic (free)
$2,000+$12
Virtual (free)
+$72
Basic (free)
$5,000+$120
Virtual (free)
+$324
Basic (free)

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineMetaMask Card
Virtual (free)
Tangem Pay
Basic (free)
Top-up and conversion fees-$132$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$48-$72
ATM fees-$48-$96
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$240+$240
Net per year+$12+$72

Fees

MetaMask Card charges 0.5% to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Tangem Pay charges 0% and 1.5%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Tangem Pay's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $5.

ATM withdrawals: MetaMask Card 2%; Tangem Pay 4%.

A virtual card costs nothing with MetaMask Card and nothing with Tangem Pay. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

MetaMask Card cashback: 1% to 3%. Tangem Pay cashback: 1% to 2%.

MetaMask Card tiers: Virtual (free): 1%; Metal ($199 a year): 3%.

Tangem Pay tiers: Basic (free): 1% on the first $10,000 a month, capped at $100 a month; Plus ($29.99 a month): 2% on the first $15,000 a month, capped at $300 a month.

MetaMask Card: Paid in mUSD. The Metal tier pays 3% on the first $10,000 spent each year and 1% after that, removes the 1% cross-border fee and adds $1,200 a month of free ATM withdrawals. Metal card orders have been paused since 2 June 2026.

Tangem Pay: Paid in USDC at the end of each billing cycle. Only purchases of $30 or more earn cashback, and in-store purchases at EU and UK merchants are excluded. The Plus plan fee is waived with $4,500 of monthly spending. A $999-a-year Prestige plan with 4% cashback is listed as coming soon.

Availability and KYC

MetaMask Card is offered in 45 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands and Portugal. MetaMask lists these countries on its card page. Sign-ups in the US and UK are temporarily closed.

Tangem Pay does not publish a country list. Tangem says the card is available in the US (not every state) and in select countries across Latin America, Asia-Pacific, the Middle East and Africa. It does not publish a country list; eligibility is checked in the app during onboarding.

MetaMask Card needs full KYC and Tangem Pay needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

MetaMask Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

Tangem Pay publishes a daily spending limit of $10,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.

MetaMask Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Tangem Pay works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. MetaMask Card and Tangem Pay issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

MetaMask Card scores 65/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Funds stay in the user's own MetaMask wallet until each payment. US cards are issued by Cross River Bank, Member FDIC; the issuer for the countries listed here is not named on MetaMask's site.

Tangem Pay scores 80/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Card issued by Nimbus LLC dba Third National, licensed as a Money Transmitter by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions of Puerto Rico (licence TM-0207, NMLS 2612780). Tangem's own pages name Rain, a Visa Principal Member, as the issuer; Third National's site runs on Rain's legal pages.). The card is issued through Nimbus LLC dba Third National. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Tangem Pay is run by Paera LLC, not Tangem AG. The card is legally a collateralised charge card. Your USDC or USDT sits in a smart contract you control, but Paera can liquidate it if a balance goes unpaid. The terms list a late fee of up to $40 and a liquidation penalty of up to $35. They also ask for 3 business days' notice before you withdraw collateral, while the app FAQ says you can withdraw at any time. The account is tied to a single Tangem Wallet, and losing that wallet means losing access to the card balance.

Full reports: MetaMask Card safety check and Tangem Pay safety check.

About each card

MetaMask Card is a self-custody Mastercard from MetaMask (Consensys). It tops up with USDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe and GBPe.

Tangem Pay is a self-custody Visa card from Paera LLC (Tangem Pay program). It tops up with USDC and USDT.

Which card fits you

MetaMask Card fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 3%).

Tangem Pay fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: MetaMask Card fees and details · Tangem Pay fees and details · MetaMask Card review

MetaMask Card vs Tangem Pay: questions

Which is cheaper, MetaMask Card or Tangem Pay?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Tangem Pay leaves $60 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use MetaMask Card and Tangem Pay in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. 45 countries for MetaMask Card; country list not published for Tangem Pay.
Is MetaMask Card or Tangem Pay safer?
Tangem Pay scores higher on our safety check (80/100 against 65/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, MetaMask Card or Tangem Pay?
MetaMask Card pays 1% to 3% and Tangem Pay pays 1% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. MetaMask Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. MetaMask Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. MetaMask Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. MetaMask Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Tangem Pay: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Tangem Pay: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Tangem Pay: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Tangem Pay: safety · checked September 28, 2026