MetaMask Card vs CL Card

MetaMask Card costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • MetaMask Card leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $100.15 a year more at $500 a month, $334.15 a year more at $2,000 a month, $802.15 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • MetaMask Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. CL Card is custodial.
  • On our safety check, MetaMask Card scores 65/100 (Good) and CL Card scores 64/100 (Good).
  • Overall, MetaMask Card rates 54/100 against 43/100 for CL Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 45 countries and territories against 37 for CL Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 10: Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Ireland and Canada and others.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • MetaMask Card · Virtual (free)+$12
  • CL Card · Standard-$322.15
Crypto card comparison
FeatureMetaMask CardCL Card
Countries offered45 countries (better)37 countries
Card networkMastercardVisa
CustodySelf-custodyCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPeBTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP, SOL
Top-up or conversion fee0.5% (better)2%
FX markup1%0% (better)
ATM fee2%€2.50
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1% to 3%1% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score65/100 (better)64/100
Overall rating54/100 (better)43/100
Get the cardGet MetaMask CardGet CL Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendMetaMask CardCL Card
$500-$42
Virtual (free)
-$142.15
Standard
$2,000+$12
Virtual (free)
-$322.15
Standard
$5,000+$120
Virtual (free)
-$682.15
Standard

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineMetaMask Card
Virtual (free)
CL Card
Standard
Top-up and conversion fees-$132-$528
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$48$0
ATM fees-$48-$34.15
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$240+$240
Net per year+$12-$322.15

Fees

MetaMask Card charges 0.5% to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. CL Card charges 2% and 0%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so MetaMask Card's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $15.

ATM withdrawals: MetaMask Card 2%; CL Card €2.50.

A virtual card costs nothing with MetaMask Card and nothing with CL Card. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

MetaMask Card cashback: 1% to 3%. CL Card cashback: 1% to 2%.

MetaMask Card tiers: Virtual (free): 1%; Metal ($199 a year): 3%.

CL Card tiers: Standard: 1%; BXX rewards: 2%.

MetaMask Card: Paid in mUSD. The Metal tier pays 3% on the first $10,000 spent each year and 1% after that, removes the 1% cross-border fee and adds $1,200 a month of free ATM withdrawals. Metal card orders have been paused since 2 June 2026.

CL Card: Ledger's page says "1% cashback in BTC, USDC, or USDT" (BTC or USDC in the US, BTC or USDT elsewhere), claimed from the Loyalty program page. CL's own FAQ also offers 2% if you take the reward in Baanx's BXX token. Spending funded by the Cryptodraft credit line earns nothing. No spend or reward cap is published.

Availability and KYC

MetaMask Card is offered in 45 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands and Portugal. MetaMask lists these countries on its card page. Sign-ups in the US and UK are temporarily closed.

CL Card is offered in 37 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and Canada. Ledger says "The CL Card is currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil." This file uses the EU fee schedule. You do not need a Ledger device to get the card.

MetaMask Card needs full KYC and CL Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

MetaMask Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

CL Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

MetaMask Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and CL Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. MetaMask Card and CL Card issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

MetaMask Card scores 65/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Funds stay in the user's own MetaMask wallet until each payment. US cards are issued by Cross River Bank, Member FDIC; the issuer for the countries listed here is not named on MetaMask's site.

CL Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through UAB Monavate. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Only money loaded to the card as e-money is safeguarded under e-money rules. Crypto deposited to the CL platform becomes Baanx's property, and Baanx's terms warn that "in the event that any of Us becomes insolvent ... You may not be able to have the full value of Your deposits restored". Baanx describes its crypto services as "not regulated financial services". We could not find a published proof-of-reserves report. We found no official enforcement actions against the card providers. Ledger's own past security incidents are not listed, because Ledger does not provide or hold funds for the card.

Full reports: MetaMask Card safety check and CL Card safety check.

About each card

MetaMask Card is a self-custody Mastercard from MetaMask (Consensys). It tops up with USDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe and GBPe.

Ledger CL Card (Europe) is a custodial Visa card from Baanx (CL Card), card account by UAB Monavate. It tops up with BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP and SOL and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

MetaMask Card fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 3%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

CL Card fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.

Read more: MetaMask Card fees and details · CL Card fees and details · MetaMask Card review

MetaMask Card vs CL Card: questions

Which is cheaper, MetaMask Card or CL Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, MetaMask Card leaves $334.15 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use MetaMask Card and CL Card in the same country?
Yes, in 10 of the 25 countries we track, including Germany, France, Spain, Italy and Netherlands.
Is MetaMask Card or CL Card safer?
MetaMask Card scores higher on our safety check (65/100 against 64/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, MetaMask Card or CL Card?
MetaMask Card pays 1% to 3% and CL Card pays 1% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. MetaMask Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. MetaMask Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. MetaMask Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. MetaMask Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Ledger CL Card (Europe): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Ledger CL Card (Europe): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Ledger CL Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Ledger CL Card (Europe): safety · checked September 28, 2026