MetaMask Card vs Wirex

Wirex costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Wirex leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $72 a year more at $500 a month, $108 a year more at $2,000 a month, $180 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • MetaMask Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Wirex is self-custody as well.
  • On our safety check, MetaMask Card scores 65/100 (Good) and Wirex scores 85/100 (Strong).
  • Overall, Wirex rates 68/100 against 54/100 for MetaMask Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 73 countries and territories against 45 for MetaMask Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 10: Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Ireland and Brazil and others.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • MetaMask Card · Virtual (free)+$12
  • Wirex · Base≤ +$120

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureMetaMask CardWirex
Countries offered45 countries73 countries (better)
Card networkMastercardMastercard
CustodySelf-custodySelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPeUSDC, USDT, EURC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee0.5%0% (better)
FX markup1%0% (better)
ATM fee2%No card fee
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1% to 3% (better)0.5% to 8%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayNot listed
Safety score65/10085/100 (better)
Overall rating54/10068/100 (better)
Get the cardGet MetaMask CardGet Wirex

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendMetaMask CardWirex
$500-$42
Virtual (free)
≤ +$30
Base
$2,000+$12
Virtual (free)
≤ +$120
Base
$5,000+$120
Virtual (free)
≤ +$300
Base

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineMetaMask Card
Virtual (free)
Wirex
Base
Top-up and conversion fees-$132$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$48$0
ATM fees-$48Not disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$240+$120
Net per year+$12+$120

Fees

MetaMask Card charges 0.5% to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. Wirex charges 0% and 0%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Wirex's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $5.

ATM withdrawals: MetaMask Card 2%; Wirex no card fee.

A virtual card costs nothing with MetaMask Card and nothing with Wirex. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

MetaMask Card cashback: 1% to 3%. Wirex cashback: 0.5% to 8%.

MetaMask Card tiers: Virtual (free): 1%; Metal ($199 a year): 3%.

Wirex tiers: Base: 0.5%; Premium: 1%; Elite: 3%; Private: 5%; Bespoke: 8%.

MetaMask Card: Paid in mUSD. The Metal tier pays 3% on the first $10,000 spent each year and 1% after that, removes the 1% cross-border fee and adds $1,200 a month of free ATM withdrawals. Metal card orders have been paused since 2 June 2026.

Wirex: Cashback is paid in USD, with no monthly cap and no subscription. Your tier depends on two things together, portfolio value and the share of it held in the $WPAY token. It is recalculated daily, and a downgrade waits 24 hours. Users moved from X-tras plans keep legacy rates (Base 1%, Premium 3%, Elite 8%) for about 3 months.

Availability and KYC

MetaMask Card is offered in 45 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands and Portugal. MetaMask lists these countries on its card page. Sign-ups in the US and UK are temporarily closed.

Wirex is offered in 73 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, Australia and Malaysia. In 2026 Wirex moved its consumer app to Wirex One, a self-custodial wallet (keys held through Privy) with fiat accounts and the card as regulated add-ons. The old Wirex app becomes read-only once an account moves over. The card issuer depends on region (see issuer), but fees and rewards are the same everywhere. You can receive crypto without verification; the card needs KYC.

MetaMask Card needs full KYC and Wirex needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

MetaMask Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

Wirex publishes a daily spending limit of €30,000, a monthly limit of €30,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €750 a day.

MetaMask Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Wirex does not list either. MetaMask Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

MetaMask Card scores 65/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Funds stay in the user's own MetaMask wallet until each payment. US cards are issued by Cross River Bank, Member FDIC; the issuer for the countries listed here is not named on MetaMask's site.

Wirex scores 85/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Card spending draws on assets in the user's self-custodial wallet. Fiat IBAN balances are a regulated service run through third-party providers. We found no official enforcement action or hack for 2024 to 2026. The H1 2026 Transparency Report covers financial-crime metrics, not reserves.

Full reports: MetaMask Card safety check and Wirex safety check.

About each card

MetaMask Card is a self-custody Mastercard from MetaMask (Consensys). It tops up with USDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe and GBPe.

Wirex One Card is a self-custody Mastercard from UAB Wirex (Lithuania), part of the Wirex Group. It tops up with USDC, USDT, EURC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

MetaMask Card fits if

  • Its fees and availability match your situation better on the table above.

Wirex fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 8%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: MetaMask Card fees and details · Wirex fees and details · MetaMask Card review

MetaMask Card vs Wirex: questions

Which is cheaper, MetaMask Card or Wirex?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Wirex leaves $108 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use MetaMask Card and Wirex in the same country?
Yes, in 10 of the 25 countries we track, including Germany, France, Spain, Italy and Netherlands.
Is MetaMask Card or Wirex safer?
Wirex scores higher on our safety check (85/100 against 65/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, MetaMask Card or Wirex?
MetaMask Card pays 1% to 3% and Wirex pays 0.5% to 8%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. MetaMask Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. MetaMask Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. MetaMask Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. MetaMask Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Wirex One Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Wirex One Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Wirex One Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Wirex One Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026