MetaMask Card vs ether.fi Cash

ether.fi Cash costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • ether.fi Cash leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $204 a year more at $500 a month, $636 a year more at $2,000 a month, $420 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • MetaMask Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. ether.fi Cash is self-custody as well.
  • On our safety check, MetaMask Card scores 65/100 (Good) and ether.fi Cash scores 60/100 (Good).
  • Overall, ether.fi Cash rates 75/100 against 54/100 for MetaMask Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 91 countries and territories against 45 for MetaMask Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 10: Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Portugal, Ireland, Canada and Brazil and others.

Yearly cost at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month). A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees.

  • MetaMask Card · Virtual (free)-$12
  • ether.fi Cash · Core≥ -$648

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureMetaMask Cardether.fi Cash
Countries offered45 countries91 countries (better)
Card networkMastercardVisa
CustodySelf-custodySelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPeUSDC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee0.5%Not disclosed
FX markup1% (better)1.5%
ATM fee2%Not disclosed
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1% to 3%3% to 4% (better)
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score65/100 (better)60/100
Overall rating54/10075/100 (better)
Get the cardGet MetaMask CardGet ether.fi Cash

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendMetaMask Cardether.fi Cash
$500$42
Virtual (free)
≥ -$162
Core
$2,000-$12
Virtual (free)
≥ -$648
Core
$5,000-$120
Virtual (free)
≥ -$540
Core

Yearly cost: conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees minus cashback. A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineMetaMask Card
Virtual (free)
ether.fi Cash
Core
Top-up and conversion fees$132Not disclosed
Spending fees$0Not disclosed
Foreign exchange markup$48$72
ATM fees$48Not disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback-$240-$720
Yearly cost-$12-$648

Fees

MetaMask Card charges 0.5% to convert or top up and 1% on spending in a foreign currency. ether.fi Cash charges Not disclosed and 1.5%.

ATM withdrawals: MetaMask Card 2%; ether.fi Cash not disclosed.

A virtual card costs nothing with MetaMask Card and nothing with ether.fi Cash. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

MetaMask Card cashback: 1% to 3%. ether.fi Cash cashback: 3% to 4%.

MetaMask Card tiers: Virtual (free): 1%; Metal ($199 a year): 3%.

ether.fi Cash tiers: Core: 3% on the first $2,000 a month; Luxe: 3% on the first $10,000 a month; Pinnacle: 3% on the first $50,000 a month; VIP: 4% on the first $50,000 a month.

MetaMask Card: Paid in mUSD. The Metal tier pays 3% on the first $10,000 spent each year and 1% after that, removes the 1% cross-border fee and adds $1,200 a month of free ATM withdrawals. Metal card orders have been paused since 2 June 2026.

ether.fi Cash: Membership levels also add category cashback (10% to 30% on AI, streaming and food, capped monthly), travel discounts and account balance protection against smart contract exploits of $10,000 to $500,000, which is not deposit insurance.

Availability and KYC

MetaMask Card is offered in 45 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands and Portugal. MetaMask lists these countries on its card page. Sign-ups in the US and UK are temporarily closed.

ether.fi Cash is offered in 91 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia and Mexico. ether.fi lists these jurisdictions. In the US the card is available in 31 states and Washington D.C. only. Belgium and Ireland are eligible, but physical cards are not delivered there. In some countries (including Argentina, Indonesia, Mexico, Nigeria and the Philippines) the first virtual card costs $10.

MetaMask Card needs full KYC and ether.fi Cash needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

MetaMask Card publishes a daily spending limit of $15,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $1,000 a day.

ether.fi Cash publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $5,000 a day.

MetaMask Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and ether.fi Cash works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. MetaMask Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

MetaMask Card scores 65/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Funds stay in the user's own MetaMask wallet until each payment. US cards are issued by Cross River Bank, Member FDIC; the issuer for the countries listed here is not named on MetaMask's site.

ether.fi Cash scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. ether.fi describes Cash as a non-custodial account. The ATM fee on Core is not published as a fixed figure.

Full reports: MetaMask Card safety check and ether.fi Cash safety check.

About each card

MetaMask Card is a self-custody Mastercard from MetaMask (Consensys). It tops up with USDC, USDT, mUSD, wETH, EURe and GBPe.

ether.fi Cash Card is a self-custody Visa card from ether.fi. It tops up with USDC and ETH.

Which card fits you

MetaMask Card fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

ether.fi Cash fits if

  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 4%).

Read more: MetaMask Card fees and details · ether.fi Cash fees and details · MetaMask Card review

MetaMask Card vs ether.fi Cash: questions

Which is cheaper, MetaMask Card or ether.fi Cash?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, ether.fi Cash leaves $636 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use MetaMask Card and ether.fi Cash in the same country?
Yes, in 10 of the 25 countries we track, including Germany, France, Spain, Italy and Portugal.
Is MetaMask Card or ether.fi Cash safer?
MetaMask Card scores higher on our safety check (65/100 against 60/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, MetaMask Card or ether.fi Cash?
MetaMask Card pays 1% to 3% and ether.fi Cash pays 3% to 4%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. MetaMask Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. MetaMask Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. MetaMask Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. MetaMask Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. ether.fi Cash Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. ether.fi Cash Card: availability · checked September 25, 2026
  7. ether.fi Cash Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. ether.fi Cash Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026