Plutus vs Tangem Pay

The cheaper card changes with your spending. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • At $500 a month, Plutus comes out $30.97 a year ahead. At $2,000 a month, Tangem Pay comes out $185.03 a year ahead. At $5,000 a month, Tangem Pay comes out $617.03 a year ahead.
  • Plutus is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Tangem Pay is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Plutus scores 44/100 (Fair) and Tangem Pay scores 80/100 (Strong).
  • Overall, Tangem Pay rates 41/100 against 25/100 for Plutus.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Plutus · Starter (€6.99 a month)≤ -$113.03
  • Tangem Pay · Basic (free)+$72

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeaturePlutusTangem Pay
Countries offeredList not publishedList not published
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsEUR, GBPUSDC, USDT
Top-up or conversion fee0%0%
FX markup2.5%1.5% (better)
ATM fee2.5%4%
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical €9.99Virtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback3% (better)1% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayNot listedApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score44/10080/100 (better)
Overall rating25/10041/100 (better)
Get the cardGet PlutusGet Tangem Pay

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendPlutusTangem Pay
$500≤ -$23.03
Starter (€6.99 a month)
-$54
Basic (free)
$2,000≤ -$113.03
Starter (€6.99 a month)
+$72
Basic (free)
$5,000≤ -$293.03
Starter (€6.99 a month)
+$324
Basic (free)

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LinePlutus
Starter (€6.99 a month)
Tangem Pay
Basic (free)
Top-up and conversion fees$0$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$120-$72
ATM feesNot disclosed-$96
Annual, monthly and subscription fees-$95.50$0
Cashback+$102.46+$240
Net per year-$113.03+$72

Fees

Plutus charges 0% to convert or top up and 2.5% on spending in a foreign currency. Tangem Pay charges 0% and 1.5%.

ATM withdrawals: Plutus 2.5%; Tangem Pay 4%.

A virtual card costs nothing with Plutus and nothing with Tangem Pay. A physical card costs €9.99 and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Plutus cashback: 3%. Tangem Pay cashback: 1% to 2%.

Plutus tiers: Starter (€6.99 a month): 3% on the first €250 a month; Everyday (€9.99 a month): 3% on the first €500 a month; Premium (€19.99 a month): 3% on the first €1,000 a month.

Tangem Pay tiers: Basic (free): 1% on the first $10,000 a month, capped at $100 a month; Plus ($29.99 a month): 2% on the first $15,000 a month, capped at $300 a month.

Plutus: Rewards are paid in PLU. Holding more PLU raises the rate from 3% up to 9% and unlocks perks. Plan prices include a promotional discount shown on Plutus's plans page; the fees shown are the same in GBP.

Tangem Pay: Paid in USDC at the end of each billing cycle. Only purchases of $30 or more earn cashback, and in-store purchases at EU and UK merchants are excluded. The Plus plan fee is waived with $4,500 of monthly spending. A $999-a-year Prestige plan with 4% cashback is listed as coming soon.

Availability and KYC

Plutus does not publish a country list. Plutus offers EUR and GBP cards and does not publish a country list on its fees page.

Tangem Pay does not publish a country list. Tangem says the card is available in the US (not every state) and in select countries across Latin America, Asia-Pacific, the Middle East and Africa. It does not publish a country list; eligibility is checked in the app during onboarding.

Plutus needs full KYC and Tangem Pay needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Plutus publishes a daily spending limit of €500,000 and a monthly limit of €1,000,000.

Tangem Pay publishes a daily spending limit of $10,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.

Plutus does not list Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and Tangem Pay works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Plutus and Tangem Pay issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Plutus scores 44/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Plutus refers to a banking partner for its card but does not name the issuer on its fees and plans pages.

Tangem Pay scores 80/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Card issued by Nimbus LLC dba Third National, licensed as a Money Transmitter by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions of Puerto Rico (licence TM-0207, NMLS 2612780). Tangem's own pages name Rain, a Visa Principal Member, as the issuer; Third National's site runs on Rain's legal pages.). The card is issued through Nimbus LLC dba Third National. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Tangem Pay is run by Paera LLC, not Tangem AG. The card is legally a collateralised charge card. Your USDC or USDT sits in a smart contract you control, but Paera can liquidate it if a balance goes unpaid. The terms list a late fee of up to $40 and a liquidation penalty of up to $35. They also ask for 3 business days' notice before you withdraw collateral, while the app FAQ says you can withdraw at any time. The account is tied to a single Tangem Wallet, and losing that wallet means losing access to the card balance.

Full reports: Plutus safety check and Tangem Pay safety check.

About each card

Plutus Card is a custodial Visa card from Plutus (Block Code Ltd, UK; Block Code LT UAB, Lithuania). It tops up with EUR and GBP and its balance is held in EUR.

Tangem Pay is a self-custody Visa card from Paera LLC (Tangem Pay program). It tops up with USDC and USDT.

Which card fits you

Plutus fits if

  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 3%).

Tangem Pay fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Plutus fees and details · Tangem Pay fees and details

Plutus vs Tangem Pay: questions

Which is cheaper, Plutus or Tangem Pay?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Tangem Pay leaves $185.03 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Plutus and Tangem Pay in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. Country list not published for Plutus; country list not published for Tangem Pay.
Is Plutus or Tangem Pay safer?
Tangem Pay scores higher on our safety check (80/100 against 44/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Plutus or Tangem Pay?
Plutus pays 3% and Tangem Pay pays 1% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Plutus Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Plutus Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Plutus Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Plutus Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Tangem Pay: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Tangem Pay: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Tangem Pay: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Tangem Pay: safety · checked September 28, 2026